chessbase india logo

Mitrabha Guha dominates AICF National Senior Online Open 2021

by Shahid Ahmed - 07/08/2021

IM Mitrabha Guha of West Bengal scored an unbeaten 10.0/11, to win his third National title and first Senior championship. He drew with GM Vaibhav Suri in the final round to become AICF National Senior Online 2021 champion. He won ₹50000 cash prize. Vaibhav Suri of Delhi 9.0/11 secured second position. He earned ₹40000. Six players finished at 8.5/11. According to the Playoffs, GM Abhijeet Gupta was placed third, and he got ₹35000. Total prize fund for the event was ₹250000 for the top 10 places. Check out an annotated game by the champion Mitrabha himself and also his interview. Photo: Shahid Ahmed

West Bengal claims three in top ten

Mitrabha 10.0/11 finished a full point ahead of the competition. GM Vaibhav Suri of Delhi scored an unbeaten 9.0/11 to secure the second position. Six players finished at 8.5/11. GM Abhijeet Gupta was placed third according to the Playoffs. The remaining fourth to eighth are - IM Harikrishnan A Ra of Tamil Nadu, IM Sayantan Das of RSPB, IM Sidhant Mohapatra of Odisha, IM Rathanvel V S of Tamil Nadu and GM M S Thejkumar of RSPB. West Bengal secured three out of top ten places.

Champion IM Mitrabha Guha 10.0/11 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Mitrabha completely dominated the field

2nd GM Vaibhav Suri 9.0/11 | Photo: Amruta Mokal

3rd GM Abhijeet Gupta 8.5/11 | Photo: IA Gopakumar Sudhakaran

"Thanks very much for your wishes. I love playing online chess, whether it is Rapid or Blitz games. So this tournament was to my liking. In the future, I would love to play online Rapid or Blitz games with at least two cameras (one front and the other side) so that the game is played in true spirits." - Mitrabha's thoughts on winning the tournament. He shared a game with his annotations:

The boy who beat Magnus Carlsen, is now the National Champion of India - Mitrabha Guha | Video: ChessBase India

4th IM Harikrishnan A Ra 8.5/11 | Photo: Niklesh Jain

5th IM Sayantan Das 8.5/11 | Photo: IA Gopakumar Sudhakaran

6th IM Sidharth Mohapatra 8.5/11

7th IM Rathanvel V S 8.5/11

8th GM Thejkumar M S 8.5/11

9th IM Aronyak Ghosh 8.0/11 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

10th Suyog Wagh 8.0/11

Final Standings

Rk.SNoNameFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
114IMMitrabha GuhaIND2467West Bengal10,0175,079,069,50,0
22GMVaibhav SuriIND2600Delhi9,0276,581,565,30,0
31GMGupta AbhijeetIND2612Petroleum Sports Promotion Board8,5373,078,057,50,0
425IMA Ra HarikrishnanIND2429Tamil Nadu8,5475,079,553,80,0
524IMDas SayantanIND2431Railway Sports Promotion Board8,5570,075,556,00,0
635IMSidhant MohapatraIND2367Odisha8,5675,580,559,80,0
718IMRathanvel V SIND2445Tamil Nadu8,5768,573,553,50,0
823GMThejkumar M. S.IND2433Railway Sports Promotion Board8,5863,568,049,50,0
919IMAronyak GhoshIND2440West Bengal8,0078,583,556,50,0
1049FMWagh SuyogIND2246Maharashtra8,0073,579,055,50,0
1121IMBharath Subramaniyam HIND2437Tamil Nadu8,0073,579,053,50,0
1215IMRahul Srivatshav PIND2463Telangana8,0071,577,055,50,0
1351Soham KamotraIND2229Jammu And Kashmir8,0071,075,051,30,0
146GMIniyan PIND2506Tamil Nadu8,0070,575,553,30,0
155GMHarsha BharathakotiIND2509Telangana8,0067,072,551,80,0
1628GMLaxman R.R.IND2411Railway Sports Promotion Board8,0066,070,545,50,0
1713IMRavi Teja S.IND2469Railway Sports Promotion Board8,0065,070,051,00,0
187GMSwapnil S. DhopadeIND2495Railway Sports Promotion Board8,0064,069,050,50,0
1917IMShyaamnikhil PIND2453Railway Sports Promotion Board8,0063,567,547,80,0
2046FMAaryan VarshneyIND2277Delhi7,5070,575,047,50,0




Download final standings

Related news:
Mitrabha Guha wins 1st JK's ECA One Day Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 04/09/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mitrabha Guha wins Olympiad Torch Run Open Rapid Chess Tournament 2022

@ 22/06/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mitrabha Guha clinches 1st Talent Chess Academy All India Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 17/05/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Breaking News: Mitrabha Guha becomes India's 72nd Grandmaster

@ 09/11/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vantika Agrawal wins AICF National Senior Women Online 2021

@ 08/08/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Savitha Shri wins AICF National Junior Girls Online 2021

@ 01/08/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Raahul V S clinches AICF National Junior Open Online 2021

@ 30/07/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
CCT Indian Qualifier Pre QF: Mitrabha stuns Sasikiran

@ 08/05/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
IM Mitrabha Guha beats Magnus Carlsen twice within an hour

@ 05/04/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Bangladesh Premier League R1: Mitrabha stuns Abhimanyu

@ 20/03/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vidit Chess Tour Pre QF: Aronyak and Mitrabha cause big upsets

@ 05/03/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mitrabha Guha dominates 16th Maheshwaranand Saraswati Memorial Online Blitz Open

@ 29/11/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mitrabha Guha wins Samay Raina IMvitational

@ 15/10/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mitrabha Guha wins Buddhibal Kreeda Trust Fischer Random Online Blitz Open

@ 28/05/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mitrabha and Akshaya are sole leaders at National Junior 2019

@ 06/11/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mitrabha takes sole lead at 49th National Junior 2019

@ 04/11/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Lakecity GM R06+07: Deepan, Mitrabha, and Sayantan in joint lead

@ 18/09/2019 by Satanick Mukhuty (en)
Mitrabha Guha wins 27th The Telegraph Schools' Chess 2018

@ 20/12/2018 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
27th Telegraph Chess 2018: Mitrabha takes sole lead heading into the final round

@ 19/12/2018 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
27th The Telegraph 2018 round 6: Rajdeep, Mitrabha, Koustav and Sanket are in the lead

@ 17/12/2018 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sant Marti Open 2018: Mitrabha Guha earns his maiden GM norm!

@ 31/08/2018 by Niklesh Jain (en)
Mitrabha wins 2nd Queen's Gambit Rapid 2018

@ 25/02/2018 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mitrabha Guha wins Badal Bhattacharjee Memorial

@ 25/08/2017 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mitrabha Guha and Harshita Guddanti are National Sub-Junior 2016 champions!

@ 21/03/2017 by Sagar Shah (en)
Mitrabha Guha wins All Bengal One-Day Rapid

@ 07/12/2016 by Priyadarshan Banjan (en)

Contact Us