chessbase india logo

Mitrabha Guha clinches 1st Talent Chess Academy All India Rapid Rating Open 2022

by Shahid Ahmed - 17/05/2022

After finishing second at KL University Rapid Rating Open with an unbeaten 7.5/9, Mitrabha once again remained undefeated at Talent Chess Academy Rapid Rating Open. Only this time he improved his score 7.5/8 and finished a half point ahead of the field to win the tournament. Four players scored 7.0/8 - GM Karthik Venkataraman, FM J Ramakrishna, IM Raahul V S and IM Ravi Teja S. They were placed second to fifth according to the tie-breaks. IM C R G Krishna scored an unbeaten 7.5/8 to win the Blitz Rating Open. He also finished a half point ahead of the field. Five players scored 7.0/7 - GM Karthik, IM Viani Antonio Dcunha, GM Mitrabha, IM Dhulipalla Bala Chandra Prasad and Kunal M. They secured second to sixth place according to tie-breaks. Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

C R G Krishna wins the Blitz Rating Open

The total prize fund of the tournament was ₹250000, ₹150000 for Rapid and ₹100000 for Blitz. Top three prizes in the Rapid Rating were ₹25000, ₹15000 and ₹10000 along with a trophy each. Top three prizes in the Blitz Rating were ₹21000, ₹15000 and ₹10000 each respectively. 14-year-old Mahendra Teja Mekala was the youngest finisher in the top 15 in Rapid. He scored an impressive hat-trick over IM N Krishna Teja, IM C R G Krishna and IM Ravi Teja S. Reigning National Junior Girls 2022 champion, WGM Priyanka Nutakki was the highest finisher among women. She scored 6.0/8 to finish 15th in the Rapid.

Champion - GM Mitrabha Guha 7.5/8 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

GM Mitrabha Guha scored an unbeaten 7.5/8 and finished a half point ahead of the field

Runner-up - GM Karthik Venkataraman 7.0/8 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Top 3 (L to R): FM J Ramakrishna, GM Mitrabha Guha and GM Karthik Venkataraman

Champion in Blitz Rating Open - IM C R G Krishna 7.5/8 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

IM C R G Krishna scored an identical 7.5/8 and drew with GM Mitrabha Guha in the final round to win the tournament

Runner-up - GM Karthik Venkataraman 7.0/8 | Photo: Niklesh Jain

Second Runner-up - IM Viani Antonio D'cunha 7.0/8 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

A total of 277 in the Rapid and 256 players in the Blitz including 4 GMs, 10 IMs and a WIM took part in this two-day tournament on 7th and 8th May held at Chirala Engineering College, Chirala, Andhra Pradesh. The time control for the Rapid Rating was 20 minutes + 5 seconds increment and 3 minutes + 2 seconds increment for the Blitz Rating.

Final Standings in Rapid Rating

Rk.SNoNameTypsexFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
19GMMitrabha GuhaIND2233WB7,539,541,038,000,07
210GMKarthik VenkataramanIND2192AP7,040,544,538,000,06
316FMRamakrishna J.IND2113UBI7,039,043,037,500,06
412IMRaahul V SIND2177TN7,039,043,037,000,07
58IMRavi Teja S.IND2247AP7,039,042,536,500,07
64IMViani Antonio DcunhaIND2313KA6,541,044,034,250,05
711IMSidhant MohapatraIND2183OR6,540,043,032,750,06
86Kunal M.IND2279TN6,540,042,532,250,06
91IMKrishna C R GIND2378RSPB6,540,042,032,000,06
1017Kaustuv KunduIND2102WB6,539,043,033,750,05
115GMKarthikeyan P.IND2295TN6,539,040,531,500,05
122GMLaxman R.R.IND2354ICF6,044,048,535,250,05
1333Mahendra Teja MekalaU15IND1702AP6,043,046,031,500,06
1415AIMKrishna D.IND2114TG6,040,543,530,500,06
1523WIMPriyanka NutakkiF18wIND1922AP6,040,043,029,000,06


Final Standings in Blitz Rating

Rk.SNoNameFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
19IMKrishna C R GIND2332AP - RSPB7,539,542,541,00
27GMKarthik VenkataramanIND2362AP7,043,546,539,75
36IMViani Antonio DcunhaIND2366KA7,042,047,040,00
42GMMitrabha GuhaIND2468WB7,042,045,538,25
58IMDhulipalla Bala Chandra PrasadIND2336AP7,042,045,038,50
611Kunal M.IND2288TN7,039,542,538,00
73IMRavi Teja S.IND2411AP6,542,045,532,75
85GMKarthikeyan P.IND2366TN6,541,544,034,25
919IMSrihari L RIND2121TN6,540,544,535,00
1012IMKrishna Teja NIND2278AP6,539,043,033,00
1124Harisurya Bharadwaj GundepudiIND2019AP6,537,041,033,25
1225Arpan DasIND2013WB6,535,537,528,00
1339Niranjan MocharlaIND1663AICF RENEWAL6,040,543,029,00
1427Sri Sai Baswanth PIND1975AP6,039,042,028,00
1536WFMPotluri SupreethaIND1738AP6,038,041,024,50


Related news:
Md. Imran dominates 1st Spark Chess Academy Rating Open 2024

@ 16/05/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mummana Venkata Ruthvik wins 2nd Sri Chess Academy Rating Open 2024

@ 07/02/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mitrabha Guha wins 1st JK's ECA One Day Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 04/09/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kushagra Mohan wins Masthanaiah Chess World Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 18/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vignesh N R clinches 34th All India Railway Chess Championship 2022

@ 16/11/2022 by R Anantharam (en)
Southern Railway dominates 34th All India Railway Team Championship after 16 years

@ 10/11/2022 by R Anantharam (en)
Dhulipalla Bala Chandra Prasad wins Leelavathi Memorial 1st Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 10/11/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kaustuv Kundu and Ravi Teja win Vizag Rapid and Blitz Rating Open 2022

@ 12/10/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mitrabha Guha wins Olympiad Torch Run Open Rapid Chess Tournament 2022

@ 22/06/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Play at KL University Rapid Rating Open and watch games live on 70 mm Silver Screen

@ 01/05/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Krishna Teja clinches Masthanaiah All India Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 23/03/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Breaking News: Mitrabha Guha becomes India's 72nd Grandmaster

@ 09/11/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mitrabha Guha dominates AICF National Senior Online Open 2021

@ 07/08/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
CCT Indian Qualifier Pre QF: Mitrabha stuns Sasikiran

@ 08/05/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
B Giribabu wins Nellore District Senior Championship 2021

@ 29/04/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
IM Mitrabha Guha beats Magnus Carlsen twice within an hour

@ 05/04/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Bangladesh Premier League R1: Mitrabha stuns Abhimanyu

@ 20/03/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vidit Chess Tour Pre QF: Aronyak and Mitrabha cause big upsets

@ 05/03/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mitrabha Guha dominates 16th Maheshwaranand Saraswati Memorial Online Blitz Open

@ 29/11/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mitrabha Guha wins Samay Raina IMvitational

@ 15/10/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mitrabha Guha wins Buddhibal Kreeda Trust Fischer Random Online Blitz Open

@ 28/05/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mitrabha and Akshaya are sole leaders at National Junior 2019

@ 06/11/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mitrabha takes sole lead at 49th National Junior 2019

@ 04/11/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Lakecity GM R06+07: Deepan, Mitrabha, and Sayantan in joint lead

@ 18/09/2019 by Satanick Mukhuty (en)
Mitrabha Guha wins 27th The Telegraph Schools' Chess 2018

@ 20/12/2018 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
27th Telegraph Chess 2018: Mitrabha takes sole lead heading into the final round

@ 19/12/2018 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
27th The Telegraph 2018 round 6: Rajdeep, Mitrabha, Koustav and Sanket are in the lead

@ 17/12/2018 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sant Marti Open 2018: Mitrabha Guha earns his maiden GM norm!

@ 31/08/2018 by Niklesh Jain (en)
Mitrabha wins 2nd Queen's Gambit Rapid 2018

@ 25/02/2018 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mitrabha Guha wins Badal Bhattacharjee Memorial

@ 25/08/2017 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mitrabha Guha and Harshita Guddanti are National Sub-Junior 2016 champions!

@ 21/03/2017 by Sagar Shah (en)
Mitrabha Guha wins All Bengal One-Day Rapid

@ 07/12/2016 by Priyadarshan Banjan (en)

Contact Us