chessbase india logo

MPL 48th National Women R4: Sakshi and Aashna are the coleaders

by Shahid Ahmed - 30/12/2022

Maharashtra's WIMs Sakshi Chitlange and Aashna Makhija won their respective games to maintain their perfect score 4/4. Vrushali was unable to find a proper defense in the endgame against Sakshi. Aashna got a better position out of the opening against Bristy and it was just a matter of time for her to score a full point. Sakshi and Aashna, the coleaders will inevitably face each other in the fifth round. WIM Aakanksha Hagawane could not get out of the gate against WFM Vishwa Shah. Vishwa along with the WGMs Vantika Agrawal, Divya Deshmukh and Mary Ann Gomes are in a four-way pursuit at 3.5/4 each. Round 5 starts today at 10:30 a.m. Photo: CFSL

Black wins among the leaders

Both players playing with the black pieces emerged victorious among the top two boards. The top two seeds, WGM Vantika Agrawal (DEL) and WGM Divya Deshmukh (MAH) got back to winning ways as they defeated Rutuja Bakshi (MAH) and Nimmy A G (KER).

WGM-elect WIM Sakshi Chitlange (MAH) is one of the two leaders 4/4 | Photo: CFSL

Official logo of MPL 48th National Women Chess Championship 2022 | Photo: Chess Association Kolhapur

Vrushali - Sakshi: 0-1

WFM Vrushali Umesh Deodhar (MAH, 2108) got herself in a difficult endgame where she was already pawn down and slightly worse against WGM-elect WIM Sakshi Chitlange (2213).

Position after 38...Bxa3

It is quite difficult to find out that 39.g4! is the only way to save the position from spiraling out of control. White went for simplification 39.Bxc3 Rxc3 40.Rb1 g6 41.Rxb7 Black is quite happy to give away the passed pawn as she can take advantage of Black's back rank weakness. 41...Rc2 42.g4 now it's too little too late Bc5 and it's over.

Bristy - Aashna: 0-1

WCM Bristy Mukherjee (WB, 1817) made a fundamental mistake of locking the position in such a way where she has zero practical breakthroughs and her opponent, WIM Aashna Makhija (MAH, 2123) has plenty.

Position after 16.g5

It would not be an understatement to say White is postionally lost after 16.g5 as she would not be allowed to get a4 nor h5 breaks which is what happened in the game. Black comfortably marched her pawns down the board and won the game.

Vishwa - Aakanksha

Position after 11.Bc4+

WIM Aakanksha Hagawane (MAH, 2202) got a worse position out of the Scotch Game opening against WFM Vishwa Shah (MAH, 2128). She was unable to recover for the rest of the game. 11.Bc4+ Kh8 12.Rhe1 Qf5 13.h3 fxe4 14.Nxe4 h6 15.g4 Qg6 16.Bxe7 Qxe7 17.Nxd6 cxd6 18.Rxe7 Black's position fell apart in a hurry.

A total of 102 players including 3 IMs, 7 WGMs and 12 WIMs are taking part in this tournament organized by Chess Association Kolhapur. The event is taking place at Sanjay Ghodawat University, Kolhapur, Maharasahtra from 26th December 2022 to 5th January 2023. The 11-round Swiss league tournament has a time control of 90 minutes for 40 moves followed by 30 minutes with an increment of 30 seconds from move no.1

Replay Round 4 games

Round 4 results

122WFMDeodhar Vrushali Umesh2108Maharashtra30 - 13WIMChitlange Sakshi2213Maharashtra8PGN
241WCMBristy Mukherjee1817West Bengal30 - 13WIMMakhija Aashna2123Maharashtra20PGN
31WGMVantika Agrawal2352Delhi1 - 0Bakshi Rutuja2127Maharashtra18PGN
421WFMNimmy A.G.2110Kerala0 - 1WGMDivya Deshmukh2347Maharashtra2PGN
53IMSoumya Swaminathan2322PSPB½ - ½WIMBommini Mounika Akshaya2135Andhra Pradesh16PGN
627WIMTejaswini Sagar2060Gujarat0 - 1WGMGomes Mary Ann2320PSPB4PGN
75IMKulkarni Bhakti2319Goa½ - ½WGMKiran Manisha Mohanty2096LIC24PGN
817WFMShah Vishwa2128Maharashtra1 - 0WIMAakanksha Hagawane2202Maharashtra12PGN
913WIMPandey Srishti2198Maharashtra½ - ½Sunyuktha C M N1820Tamil Nadu40PGN
1015WGMVarshini V2141Tamil Nadu½ - ½Dakshita Kumawat1656Rajasthan55PGN


Round 5 pairings

18WIMChitlange Sakshi2213Maharashtra44WIMMakhija Aashna2123Maharashtra20
22WGMDivya Deshmukh2347MaharashtraWGMVantika Agrawal2352Delhi1
34WGMGomes Mary Ann2320PSPBWFMShah Vishwa2128Maharashtra17
424WGMKiran Manisha Mohanty2096LIC33IMSoumya Swaminathan2322PSPB3
529Potluri Saye Srreezza2024Telangana33IMKulkarni Bhakti2319Goa5
610WIMArpita Mukherjee2211West Bengal33WFMPotluri Supreetha1823Andhra Pradesh39
730WFMLakshmi C1974Tamil Nadu33WGMSrija Seshadri2204Tamil Nadu11
855Dakshita Kumawat1656Rajasthan33WIMPandey Srishti2198Maharashtra13
941WCMBristy Mukherjee1817West Bengal33WGMVarshini V2141Tamil Nadu15
1016WIMBommini Mounika Akshaya2135Andhra Pradesh33Rindhiya V1793Tamil Nadu43



Tournament Regulations

Chess Association Kolhapur: Official site, and facebook

Contact Us