chessbase india logo

MPL 48th National Women R1: Dakshita defies Soumya

by Shahid Ahmed - 27/12/2022

14-year-old Dakshita Kumawat (RAJ) held the former National Women's champion, IM Soumya Swaminathan (PSPB) to a draw. The teenager played solid out of the Trompowsky opening and did not make any significant mistake throughout the game. The Asian U-12 double Gold medalist, Saparya Ghosh (WB) got herself a good opportunity to split the point with WGM Srija Seshadri (TN) in the final moments of the rook endgame. Unfortunately, she was unable to seize her opportunity. 13-year-old Jagadale Ishwari held her statemate from Maharashtra, WIM Mrudul Dehankar to a draw. Round 2 starts today at 10:30 a.m. Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

No easy start for the top seeds

The days of first round means a warm-up game for the seeded players are long gone. The lower rated players pack quite a punch. If you become too relaxed, they will seize their opportunity to upstage their stronger opponents.

Dakshita Kumawat made a solid start | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Official logo of MPL 48th National Women Chess Championship 2022 | Photo: Chess Association Kolhapur

Dakshita - Soumya: 0.5-0.5

The reigning Rajasthan State Under-15, Under-19 Girls and Women's champion, 14-year-old Dakshita Kumawat (1656) opted for the Trompowsky opening against the former National Women's champion, IM Soumya Swaminathan (2322). The teenager played confidently and ensured that she never loosen the grip of the position.

Saparya - Srija

Position after 48...f3

Despite WGM Srija Seshadri (TN, 2204) having the upper hand in the endgame, her opponent, double Gold winner at the Asian Youth U-12 Girls, Saparya Ghosh (1563) continued her fight and almost managed to draw the game. The f3-pawn seems to run away to the promotion square. The only way for White to save the game was 49.Rb7+ Kd6 50.Rb6+ Kd5 51.Rb1 and prevent the pawn promotion.

WGM Srija Seshadri had to work a lot to earn her first point | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Kolhapur's very own WGM-elect WIM Rucha Pujari | Photo: Rucha's fb

A total of 102 players including 3 IMs, 7 WGMs and 12 WIMs are taking part in this tournament organized by Chess Association Kolhapur. The event is taking place at Sanjay Ghodawat University, Kolhapur, Maharasahtra from 26th December 2022 to 5th January 2023. The 11-round Swiss league tournament has a time control of 90 minutes for 40 moves followed by 30 minutes with an increment of 30 seconds from move no.1

Replay Round 1 games

Round 1 results

153WCMKheerthi Ganta1675Telangana00 - 10WGMVantika Agrawal2352Delhi1PGN
22WGMDivya Deshmukh2347Maharashtra01 - 00Aditi Yogesh Kayal1667Maharashtra54PGN
355Dakshita Kumawat1656Rajasthan0½ - ½0IMSoumya Swaminathan2322PSPB3PGN
44WGMGomes Mary Ann2320PSPB01 - 00Marium Fatima1646Bihar56PGN
557Swara Lakshmi S Nair1632Karnataka00 - 10IMKulkarni Bhakti2319Goa5PGN
66WIMMahalakshmi M2257RSPB01 - 00Rajanya Datta1627West Bengal58PGN
759Sagar Siya1611Gujarat00 - 10WIMPujari Rucha2229Maharashtra7PGN
88WIMChitlange Sakshi2213Maharashtra01 - 00Cera Dagariya1586Madhya Pradesh60PGN
961Kalyani Sirin1578Kerala00 - 10WIMSharma Isha2212Karnataka9PGN
1010WIMArpita Mukherjee2211West Bengal01 - 00Saniya Rafique Tadavi1569Maharashtra62PGN


Round 2 pairings

11WGMVantika Agrawal2352Delhi11WFMLakshmi C1974Tamil Nadu30
233WFMBhagyashree Patil1920Maharashtra11WGMDivya Deshmukh2347Maharashtra2
335WFMPatil Mitali1877Maharashtra11WGMGomes Mary Ann2320PSPB4
45IMKulkarni Bhakti2319Goa11Mrittika Mallick1867West Bengal36
537Velpula Sarayu1847Telangana11WIMMahalakshmi M2257RSPB6
67WIMPujari Rucha2229Maharashtra11Femil Chelladurai1824Tamil Nadu38
739WFMPotluri Supreetha1823Andhra Pradesh11WIMChitlange Sakshi2213Maharashtra8
89WIMSharma Isha2212Karnataka11Sunyuktha C M N1820Tamil Nadu40
941WCMBristy Mukherjee1817West Bengal11WIMArpita Mukherjee2211West Bengal10
1011WGMSrija Seshadri2204Tamil Nadu11Anjali R. Sagar1804Gujarat42



Tournament Regulations

Chess Association Kolhapur: Official site, and facebook

Contact Us