chessbase india logo

Mayank Chakraborty clinches Gold at Tata Steel Asian Junior Open Rapid 2023, Silver for Jyothsna and Mrudul Bronze among Girls

by Shahid Ahmed - 09/09/2023

CM Mayank Chakraborty scored 7/9 to clinch Gold at Tata Steel Asian Junior Open Rapid 2023. Despite losing his seventh round game against IM Srihari L R, he immediately bounced back by winning against IM Avinash Ramesh. In the final round, he was up against the sole leader Srihari L 6.5/8. Mayank was in a must-win situation if he wanted to win the Gold. That is exactly what he did by winning the final round game on demand to win the Gold medal. Srihari L secured Silver 6.5/9 and IM S Rohith Krishna Bronze 6.5/9. In the Girls section, WIM Nazerke Nurgali (KAZ) scored 7.5/9 to win the Gold. WIM Mrudul Dehankar defeated WFM Jyothsna L to win the Bronze 7/9, Jyothsna secured Silver 7/9. Jyothsna is also the only player to beat the eventual Gold medal winner, Nazerke. Classical Round 1 in Open and Girls section starts today from 9 a.m. IST. Photos: Himank Ghosh

Vivaan Vishal Shah stuns Aleksey Grebnev

Commonwealth Under-10 Open 2022 Gold medalist, 10-year-old Vivaan Vishal Shah scored a huge upset in the first round, IM Aleksey Grebnev.

Tata Steel Asian Junior 2023 Open Rapid Gold medal winner - CM Mayank Chakraborty 7/9
CM Mayank Chakraborty clinches Gold at Tata Steel Asian Junior 2023 Open Rapid | Video: ChessBase India

Mayank - Srihari L, Round 9

Position after 27.b5

Black is not forced to take on b5. 27...cxb5 allowed 28.Nd5 Qg5 29.Nxe7 now White could have delayed the capture of the rook by improving his position first 29.f4 Qh6 30.Qb2+ Kg8 31.cxb5 due to Nf6+ being there if White wants to gain an exchange.

CM Mayank Chakraborty vs Srihari L, Round 9 | Video: ChessBase India

CM Mayank Chakraborty defeated the sole leader Srihari L in the final round to clinch the Gold 7.5/9

CM Mayank Chakraborty scored 7/9 and gained 106.8 Elo rating points

Silver in Open - Srihari L 6.5/9

Bronze in Open - IM S Rohith Krishna 6.5/9

10-year-old CM Vivaan Vishal Shah (1838) stunned the top seed IM Aleksey Grebnev (2480) in the first round

Gold in Girls - WIM Nazerke Nurgali (KAZ) 7.5/9

WIM Nazerke Nurgali (KAZ) defeated V Rindhiya in the final round to clinch the Gold

Silver - WFM Jyothsna L 7/9

Bronze - WIM Mrudul Dehankar 7/9

WIM Mrudul Dehankar defeated WFM Jyothsna L to secure the Bronze, Jyothsna earned Silver

How many titled players can you spot among the parents and accompanying persons?

For more photos from the Rapid Round 1-4 and 5-9, please click at the respective links.

Replay all Open games

Replay all Girls games


Rapid - Open and Girls from 9 a.m. IST on 8th September.

Classical - Open and Girls from 9 a.m. IST from 9th to 15th September. There are double rounds on 10th and 12th September.

Blitz - Open and Girls on 15th September 2023

Time Control

Rapid: 10 minutes + 5 seconds increment

Classical: 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment

Blitz: 3 minutes + 2 seconds increment

Final standings in Open

Rk.SNo NameTypsexFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
CMMayank, ChakrabortyIND2115India746,550,5020906
Srihari, LIND2173India6,550,554021555
IMRohith, Krishna SIND2270India6,548,552020606
IMSrihari, L RIND2329India6,54852020395
IMHarshavardhan, G BIND2336India6,546,550020575
FMAbdilkhair, AbilmansurU20KAZ2188Kazakhstan6,54548,5020675
IMGrebnev, AlekseyU18FID2480FIDE6,54347019936
FMLiyanage, Ranindu DilshanU20SRI2210Sri Lanka6,542,545,5020215
FMKrishnan, RitvikIND2051India645,549020455
FMAswath, SIND2259India64347019906


Final standings in Girls

Rk.SNo NameTypsexFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
WIMNurgali, NazerkeU20wKAZ21107,543,546,5017347
WFMJyothsna, LU20wIND180774851018006
WIMMrudul, DehankarU20wIND2052742,546,5017607
Divyabharathi, MasanamU20wIND1621741,544,5016366
Mrittika, MallickU16wIND17946,54952,5017616
Rindhiya, VU20wIND186064547,5017146
Sachi, JainU14wIND1481644,547017435
WIMSultanbek, ZeinepU20wKAZ2038642,545,5015575
Kaldarova, AyaulymU16wKAZ1872640,543,5015145
WFMBhagyashree, PatilU18wIND185863941,5015525



Tournament Regulations