chessbase india logo

Savitribai Phule Pune University is the West Zone University Champion

by Shahid Ahmed - 18/11/2019

Top seed of the tournament Savitribai Phule Pune University scored 13.0/14, remained undefeated to win AIU Inter University West Zone Men's Tournament 2019. They finished a full point ahead of the runner-up Gujarat University who finished at 12.0/14. Deviahilya University, Indore edged ahead of University of Mumbai due to a better tie-break score and finished at the third position and the latter was placed fourth. Both teams finished at 11.0/14 each. All top four teams have advanced to the All India Inter University championship. Total 52 teams from five different states comprising of 287 players participated in this tournament from 10th to 12th November 2019 at Poornima University, Jaipur. Photo: Vidhi Jagirdar

Top seed SPPU becomes unbeaten champion

Starting out as the top seed, Savitribai Phule Pune University scored an unbeaten 13.0/14 to win the tournament. They only drew their last round match against University of Mumbai. Gujarat University scored 12.0/14 to secure the runner-up position. Both Deviahilya University, Indore and University of Mumbai finished at 11.0/14 each. However, due to a better a tie-break score, the university from Indore secured third position and University of Mumbai had to settle for fourth position. All four teams qualified to the All India Inter University championship.

Champion - Savitribai Phule Pune University 13.0/14 | Photo: Vidhi Jagirdar

SPPU comprised of Shreyas Dhase (1672), Sameer Inamdar (1727), Ranveer Mohite (2281), Sourav Sahoo (1918), Kevin D Souza (1475) and Yashwant Telang (1525). Ranveer was the highest scorer of the team 6.5/7

Individual performance of the winning team SPPU

Inaugural moves are being made | Photo: Vidhi Jagirdar

The opening ceremony was held on 10th of November in presence of Cheif Guest Dr. Sureshchandra Padhy (President Poornima University), Special Guest Mr. Ashwini Lata (Dean of Poornima group hostels), Mr. Ashok Poonia (Organising secretary AIU West zone ), Mr. Simranjeet Singh (Chief Proctor Poornima university), IA Rajendra Teli (Chief Arbiter), FA Neelesh Kumawat (Dep. Chief Arbiter), FA Vikram Singh & FA Qmar Abbas.

The tournament hall | Photo: Vidhi Jagirdar

The tournament witnessed the total participation of 52 teams, 99 FIDE rated players along with 188 unrated players which took the tally of players to 287. Players from five different states took part in this tournament.

Horizontal view of the tournament hall | Photo: Vidhi Jagirdar

It is a matter of honor and privilege to represent your university | Photo: Vidhi Jagirdar

Guests at the Prize Distribution Ceremony | Photo: Vidhi Jagirdar

The prizes were distributed by Chief Guest Mr. M K M Shah (Director Admin & Finance), Special Guest Mr. Ar. Rahul Singhi (Director Poornima group), Mr. R.K. Sharma (Observer), Mr. Ashok Poonia (Organising Secretary AIU West zone ), Mr. Simranjeet Singh (Chief Proctor Poornima university), IA Rajendra Teli (Chief Arbiter), FA Neelesh Kumawat (Dep. Chief Arbiter), FA Vikram Singh & FA Qmar Abbas.

Individual Board Prize winners

Board no.NameRatingTeam
1Harsh Yogesh Sharma1574Gujarat University
2Sameer Inamdar1727SPPU, Pune
3Rutvik Solanki1606Parul University, Vadodara
4Piyush Narsikar1488SRTMU, Nanded
5Naman Porwal1569MLSU, Udaipur
6Omprasad Rathod1251SRTMU, Nanded

Final Standings

Rk.SNoTeamGames  +   =   -  TB1  TB2  TB3 
11S.P.P.U , Pune76101323,0357,3
23Gujarat University76011222,5393,8
37Deviahilya Univ. , Indore75111122,0305,3
42Univ. of Mumbai75111118,5319,3
55K.B.C. Univ. , Jalgaon75021021,0310,8
69M.I.T World Peace Univ. , Pune75021017,0241,5
74Shivaji Univ. Kolhapur75021015,5257,8
811S.G.B. Amravati Univ.75021015,5246,5
913Parul Univ. , Vadodara7412919,0246,5
1014S.R.T.M.U Nanded7412918,5247,8

Complete standings

Contact Us