chessbase india logo

Adamas University wins East Zone Inter University Men and Women Championships 2021 on debut

by Shahid Ahmed - 03/01/2022

Adamas University won both Men and Women section of East Zone Inter University championships on their debut. In the Men's section, four teams - Adamas, University of Calcutta, L N Mithila University, Darbhanga and Jadavpur University, finished with the same score 10.0/12. They were placed first to fourth on tie-breaks. All four teams advanced to the Nationals. The Women's section was dominated by Adamas scoring 100%, 12.0/12, followed by University of Calcutta 10.0/12, Shahid Nand Kumar Patel University 8.0/12 and Manipur University 7.0/12. They secured second to fourth place respectively and qualified for the National University championships which will take place once the remaining Zonal Inter-University championships conclude. Photo: Adamas University

Top seed Adamas University finishes at the top

Jadavpur University has won the maximum number of East Zone University championship in the Men's section, a total of five times from 2012 to 2019. The Women's section were won by KIIT University (2018) and University of Calcutta (2019). Adamas ended the JU and CU duopoly by winning both Men and Women sections convincingly.

Winners - Adamas University Men and Women's team with the manager, Subrata Das, football coach of the university | Photo: Adamas University

Adamas University Men's team (L to R) - Saurabh Anand, IM Neelash Saha, Soumyajit Das, Sonkalan Bharati and Subhayan Kundu | Photo: Adamas University

The top two boards of the Men's team - IM Neelash Saha and Subhayan Kundu anchored the team with an unbeaten 5.5/6 each, followed by Saurabh Anand who scored a valuable 5.0/6.

Adamas University Men's team performance

Adamas University Women's team (L to R) - Ashmita Das, WIM Arpita Mukherjee, Bidisha Roy and Samriddhaa Ghosh | Photo: Adamas University

The Women's team had three players - WIM Arpita Mukherjee, Samriddhaa Ghosh and Asmita Das score 100%, 6.0/6 each. Bidisha Roy also scored an important 5.5/6.

All four women of Adamas University team delivered a stellar performance

Captains of Men's and Women's team - IM Neelash Saha and WIM Arpita Mukherjee

The top performers of Board no.2 - Subhayan Kundu and Samriddhaa Ghosh

University of Calcutta secured second place in both Men and Women's section | Photo: Subhabrata Roy

3rd in Men - L N Mithila University | Photo: Himanshu Kumar Anand

The tournament was organized by OP Jindal University, Raigarh, Chattisgarh from 20th to 23rd December 2021 at the same place. A total of 24 teams in Men and 18 in Women took part in the six-round Swiss league tournament which had a time control of 60 minutes + 30 seconds increment.

Final standings Men

Rk.SNoTeamGames  +   =   -  TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4 
11Adamas University64201019,5088,0
23University of Calcutta64201019,0085,0
35L.N. Mithila University, Darbhanga65011019,0071,5
42Jadavpur University Kolkata64201017,5096,0


Final standing Women

Rk.SNoTeamGames  +   =   -  TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4 
11Adamas University66001223,5068,5
22University of Calcutta65011019,5085,0
315Shahid Nand kumar patel University6321812,0078,0
411Manipur University6312714,0072,5


Contact Us