chessbase india logo

Samriddhaa Ghosh wins 44th West Bengal State Women Chess Championship 2018

by Shahid Ahmed - 02/05/2018

Samriddhaa Ghosh won 44th West Bengal State Women FIDE Rated Chess Championship 2018 by scoring 5.5/6. This tournament has been won by WFM Arpita Mukherjee from 2014-2017, however this year she was unable to defend her title as she was on national duty at Asian Youth 2018. The tournament was so close that there were five players at 4.5 points heading into sixth and final round. Samriddhaa was the top seed of the tournament and she remained undefeated. and the only draw was against the eventual runner-up of the tournament, Pallabi Roy who also scored 5.5/6. Mehendi Sil who gave a strong competition to the champion of the tournament, scored 5.0/6 and finished at third position. In this report, we bring you photos, videos and annotated game by the champion along with an interview of her.

Samriddhaa Ghosh scored 5.5/6, receives her maiden State Women's champion's trophy and certificate

For the first time in West Bengal, State Women's Chess Championship became a FIDE Rated tournament. Here is an annotated game by the champion herself against Mohana Sengupta from the final round of the tournament:

Samriddhaa speaks about how she continued practicing chess even during her board exams

Pallabi Roy also scored 5.5/6 and luck was not on her side as Pallabi's TB1 and TB2 score was same as Samriddhaa but her TB3 score was 1.0 point less than the champion.. She had to be content with 2nd position

Mehendi Sil, who gave the toughest competition to the champ scored 5.0/6 and secured 3rd position

Ananya Bothra also scored 5.0/6, but due to a lesser tie-break score, she finished at 4th position

Mohana Sengupta scored 4.5/6 and secured 5th position

Diya Chowdhury scored 4.5/6 and finished at 6th place

Reigning West Bengal State Sub-Junior Champion Sudipa Haldar did not have a good tournament. She scored 4.5/6 and finished at 7th position

Asmita Das was placed 8th

Aditi Saha secured 9th position

After winning West Bengal State Under 11 few days ago, Sinthia Sarkar finished at 10th position

In a parallel State Under 7 Championship, Aaron Bhuimali scored 7.0/7 and became Champion in open category

Arhashirsha Biswas also finished with 100% score 6.0/6 and became State Under 7 Champion in the Girls' category

Photos and Video Gallery:

Minister-in-charge of Women & Child Welfare Dept. Govt. of West Bengal, Dr. Shashi Panja, M.L.A. inaugurates

Top seed Samriddhaa Ghosh in action in Round 1

Second seed of the tournament, Pallabi Roy ponders over her plan against Early London System

Tournament Gate at the main road

Special Guest of the Prize Distribution Ceremony was none other than the voice of most elite level tournaments, GM Evgenij Miroshnichenko
First round starting moments of 44th West Bengal State Women's Chess Championship 2018

This year the number of participants was 85 which is the highest among State Women in the recent history.

Final Ranking in 44th State Women after 6 Rounds

Rk.SNoNameFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
11Ghosh SamriddhaaIND20225,50,525,023,0
22Roy PallabiIND18635,50,525,022,0
37Mehendi SilIND15785,00,024,521,5
411Ananya BothraIND14425,00,023,020,0
53Mohana SenguptaIND18424,50,025,522,0
68Diya ChowdhuryIND15154,50,023,520,5
75Sudipa HaldarIND16294,50,022,520,5
86Asmita DasIND16134,50,021,518,5
919Aditi SahaIND11974,50,021,020,5
1012Sinthia SarkarIND13494,50,020,519,5

Complete standings

Final Ranking in 30th State Under 7 Open category after 7 Rounds

Rk.SNoNameFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
12Aaron BhuimaliIND07,00,034,530,5
222Debaditya RoyIND06,00,032,529,5
336Rajdeep PramanikIND06,00,031,528,0
44Aayushman JhaIND05,50,031,528,5
57Aditya KayetIND05,00,032,029,5
656Sujoy MandalIND05,00,032,029,0
79Advaita DasIND05,00,030,028,0
820Chandrachoor SarkarIND05,00,029,028,0
935Protyay BhowmickIND05,00,029,026,5
1052Sourasis SahaIND05,00,028,525,5
1159Tridipta BhattacharyyaIND05,00,028,026,0
126Adhrit ChatterjeeIND05,00,026,024,0

Complete standings

Final Ranking in 30th State Under 7 Girls category after 6 Rounds

Rk.SNoNameFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
15Arhashirsha BiswasIND06,00,023,521,5
217Priyanjali SahaIND05,00,022,520,5
313Ishani ChattopadhyayIND05,00,020,518,5
49Daksh RudraIND04,50,019,017,5
54Anindita BhowmickIND04,00,023,020,5
614Kashvi ChitlangiaIND04,00,019,517,5

Complete standings

Contact Us