chessbase india logo

Mitrabha Guha dominates 1st Bangalore GM Blitz Open 2024, Sethuraman second and Stany third

by Shahid Ahmed - 27/01/2024

GM Mitrabha Guha scored an unbeaten 8.5/9 to win 1st Bangalore GM Blitz Rating Open 2024. Mitrabha finished a half point ahead of the competition. Four players - GM Sethuraman S P, GM Stany G A, IM Arash Tahbaz (IRI) and GM Diptayan Ghosh scored 8/9 each. They were placed second to fifth respectively according to tie-breaks. Mitrabha defeated the eventual runner-up Sethuraman and drew against the second runner-up Stany. The total prize fund of the tournament was ₹400000. The top three prizes were ₹50000, ₹40000 and ₹30000 along with a trophy each respectively. This was Mitrabha's second tournament of the year. Three days later, he won the Classical GM tournament. Photos: Aditya Sur Roy

Mitrabha wins his second consecutive tournament in 2024

GM Mitrabha Guha was the sole leader 8/8 heading into the final round. GM Stany G A was the only pursuer at 8/9. Mitrabha needed a draw against Stany to become a clear champion, that's exactly what he did. GM Sethuraman S P defeated IM Nitin S to secure second place. This was the second consecutive over-the-board tournament Mitrabha won after winning East Zone Inter University team event for Adamas University earlier this month. Three days later, he went on to win the 1st Bangalore GM 2024. It will be mentioned in detail in a separate report.

Champion - GM Mitrabha Guha 8.5/9
Interview with GM Mitrabha after winning both 1st Bangalore GM and Blitz Open 2024 | Video: ChessBase India

Runner-up - GM Sethuraman S P 8/9

Second Runner-up - GM Stany G A 8/9

Top three (L to R): 2nd GM Sethuraman S P 8/9, 1st GM Mitrabha Guha 8.5/9 and 3rd GM Stany G A 8/9

GM Mitrabha Guha scored an unbeaten 8.5/9, won eight games in-a-row and gained 16 Elo rating points

Photo Gallery

IA Gopakumar M S was seen as a player in this event instead of an arbiter in a rare occurence

The present and future GMs, four of them finished in Blitz top ten and five in GM top ten

Players in action

Everyone loves to see the finish of a Blitz game

For more photos, please click here.

Video Gallery

Rook vs Rook and Bishop - Lakshmanan Natesan vs Vihaan Dumir, Round 1 | Video: ChessBase India
Final moments: Hitha Mohan vs Avika Panwar, Round 2 | Video: ChessBase India
The faces of 1st Bangalore GM Blitz Open 2024 | Video: ChessBase India
GM Mitrabha Guha vs IM Sambit Panda, Round 4 | Video: ChessBase India
FM Goutham Krishna H vs GM Adham Fawzy (EGY), Round 4 | Video: ChessBase India
GM Mitrabha Guha vs GM Laxman R R | Video: ChessBase India
Final moments: GM Vishnu Prasanna V vs Dhyey Agarwal, Round 6 | Video: ChessBase India
Final moments: CM Kaivalya Sandip Nagare vs IM Rathanvel V S, Round 6 | Video: ChessBase India
Final moments: Afreed T Khan vs IM Sambit Panda, Round 6 | Video: ChessBase India
Final moments: GM Laxman R R vs FM Arhan Chethan Anand, Round 7 | Video: ChessBase India
Final moments: Nelamangala Harsha Guhan vs Sathish Chandra G, Round 7 | Video: ChessBase India
Final moments: Mathew Samuel vs Shobhit B Tayal, Round 7 | Video: ChessBase India
Final moments: GM Adham Fawzy (EGY) vs FM Kashish Manoj Jain, Round 7 | Video: ChessBase India

More game videos will be published soon, stay tuned.


A total of 462 players including 17 GMs, 28 IMs, a WGM and 4 WIMs took part from 15 countries across the world in the Blitz Rating Open. The one-day nine round Rating tournament was organized by Bengaluru Urban District Chess Association at Sri Kanteerava Indoor Stadium in Bengaluru, Karnataka on 22nd January 2024. The time control of the event was 3 minutes + 2 seconds increment per move.

Final standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexGrFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
13GMMitrabha Guha,IND2517Wb8,552,555,551,50
24GMSethuraman, S.P.IND2486Tn855,560,552,00
35GMStany, G.A.IND2478Ka854,559,552,00
415IMTahbaz, ArashIRI2373Iri851,556,548,50
51GMGhosh, DiptayanIND2545Wb851,55649,25
634GMRoy Chowdhury, SaptarshiIND22897,5525644,50
72GMFawzy Adham,EGY2540Egy7,550,555,545,25
824IMRatnakaran, K.IND2335Kl7,549,55342,00
97GMSankalp Gupta,IND2464Mh753,55841,50
1013GMDas Sayantan,IND2388Wb75155,541,50
119IMAronyak Ghosh,IND2421Wb750,55541,25
1235Aakash Sharadchandra, DalviIND2287Mh750,554,540,00
1341FMGoutham, Krishna HIND2234KL7505440,50
1414GMLaxman, R.R.IND2381Tn7505338,00
1540IMSharan, Rao10519KSCA2023IND2236Ka7495339,00
1623IMSrihari, L RIND2338TN748,553,541,50
1728GMDeepan, Chakkravarthy J.IND2306Tn747,55237,50
1852GMNguyen, Duc HoaVIE2195747,55136,75
1938FMJain Kashish Manoj,IND2254747,55135,50
2010IMRathanvel, V SIND2417Tn7475138,50
2126GMThejkumar, M. S.IND2312Ka746,55038,00
2239IMTologon Tegin, SemeteiKGZ2243746,55036,00
2319IMNitish Belurkar,IND2354Ga7465036,50
2422IMDe Silva, L M S TSRI2340SRI74649,537,50
2517IMNitin, S.IND2359Tn74649,536,50
27IMManish, Anto Cristiano FIND2310Tn74649,536,50
2729IMRitviz, ParabIND2306745,55038,00
286GMVishnu, Prasanna. VIND2468Tn745,55036,50
2920IMIlamparthi A R,IND2348Tn74548,536,00
3066CMVaibhav Jayant Raut,IND2096Mh7454833,00
3130GMTeterev, VitalyBLR229974447,536,25
3232FMAradhya Garg,IND2296743,54532,75
3337GMKarthikeyan, P.IND22547434634,50
34175Pranay, AkulaIND1493Tg740,542,529,50
3543FMArhan Chethan Anand,BLU160044IND2225Ka6,55357,538,25
3659IMAswath, SIND2138Tn6,5515536,75
3712IMViani Antonio Dcunha,IND2391Ka6,550,555,538,75
3847FMMd, ImranIND2217AP6,550,55233,75
3916IMKushagra, MohanIND2360TG6,549,554,537,25
4064Dhyey, AgarwalIND2115Gj6,5495335,25



Official site

Tournament Details

Technical Regulations

Contact Us