chessbase india logo

Bhoopnath wins 13th KIIT International Chess Festival 2022 Category 'B' Below 1900

by Shahid Ahmed - 26/05/2022

Both Bhoopnath and newly crowned National Amateur Under-1700 Open champion, Kushal O scored an unbeaten 8.5/10. They faced each other in the final round and the game was drawn. Bhoopnath clinched the first place at 13th KIIT International Chess Festival Category B (Below 1900) due to better tie-breaks, Kushal had to settle for second place. Krishna Karthik N was adjuged third out of four players who finished with a score of 8/10. Total prize fund for Category B was ₹600000. Top three prizes were ₹60000, ₹45000 and ₹35000 along with a trophy each. Category C (Below 1600) starts today. Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

11-year-old Vinayak Singh Yadav impresses

Four players scored 8/10. 11-year-old, Vinayak Singh Yadav (1238) was placed fouth according to tie-breaks. He scored an impressive 8/10 and gained a mammoth 218.8 Elo rating points.

Champion - Bhoopnath 8.5/10 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy
I prepared by avoiding chess engines - Bhoopnath | Video: ChessBase India

Bhoopnath scored an unbeaten 8.5/10, drew with the eventual runner-up Kushal O in the final round

Runner-up - Kushal O 8.5/10 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy
I watched a bunch of movies before tournaments - Kushal O | Video: ChessBase India

Second Runner-up - Krishna Karthik N 8/10 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy
I want to see where Chess takes me - Krishna Karthik N | Video: ChessBase India

4th Vinayak Singh Yadav 8/10 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

The tournament hall | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

For more photos, please click here.


A total of 327 players participated from all over the country and Kenya in this four-day tournament. The tournament was organized by All Odisha Chess Association and KIIT University from 22nd to 25th May at KIIT University, Bhubaneswar, Karnataka. The time control for the event was 60 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Final Standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
219Kushal OIND16868,557,062,052,00
326Krishna Karthik NIND16468,059,565,051,50
4155Vinayak Singh YadavIND12388,055,058,044,00
53Hitesh S. JariyaIND18198,054,558,547,75
611Karjee ManindraIND17558,051,556,045,25
7101Lakshmi Charan Naidu GIND13537,562,567,048,50
866Gokulakrishna SIND14657,562,567,047,25
931Mrityunjay KumarIND16177,559,063,044,25
1064ACMAatreya SahaIND14677,558,562,545,25
112Sahu Rajendra KumarIND18317,557,061,544,50
1227Mughaho AwomiIND16467,556,561,544,75
1317Kishore Kumar JaganathanIND17057,556,561,043,75
1441Balaji PIND15457,555,060,044,50
158Kishan KumarIND17757,555,059,542,50
1646Rituraj TamuliPHIND15327,552,055,540,75
1781Vandan Alankar SawaiIND14287,062,065,542,00
18134Ayush DasIND12897,061,564,041,00
1928AIMSubhabrata RoyIND16367,058,064,044,00
207Nayak SanjeebanIND17797,057,562,042,00
2163Madhvendra Pratap SharmaIND14687,057,060,538,50
2243Arkya ChatterjeeIND15357,056,061,040,25
2330Anubhab GuptaIND16197,054,559,038,75
2480Anshuman GangulyIND14297,054,058,539,50
25117Danvanth RIND13197,054,056,538,50
2625Rabindra Kumar OjhaIND16477,053,558,040,00
2753Khillo PurnaIND15087,053,557,038,75
2891Rachishnu DattaIND13987,052,056,035,00
29150Sahoo StitaprangyaIND12497,050,554,535,50
30109Sritama SenwIND13257,050,553,034,75


Contact Us