chessbase india logo

MPL 47th National Women R3-4: Priyanka Nutakki halts Vaishali's momentum

by Shahid Ahmed - 27/02/2022

WIM Priyanka Nutakki (AP) held the top seed IM Vaishali R (TN) to a draw in Round 4 of MPL 47th National Women Chess Championship 2022. Vaishali and Priyanka are joined by six more women in the lead 3.5/4. They are - WGM Mary Ann Gomes (PSPB), IM Soumya Swaminathan (PSPB), WGM Divya Deshmukh (MAH), WIM Arpita Mukherjee (WB), WGM Srija Seshadri (TN) and WIM Sakshi Chitlange (MAH). Soumya had a great escape against state mate WFM Srishti Pandey in the third round. Sakshi had a great day as she defeated WGM Nandhidhaa P V and drew with Soumya in Round 3 and 4 respectively. Round 5 starts at 10:00 a.m. IST today. Photo: IA Suresh Chandra Sahoo

Eight women share the lead

The competition in the MPL 47th National Women Chess Championship is very close. There is yet to be a clear leader. Eight women sharing the lead at 3.5/4 has allowed the top seed IM Bhakti Kulkarni to reduce the gap 3.0/4.

WIM Priyanka Nutakki stopped IM Vaishali's winning streak | Photo: IA Suresh Chandra Sahoo

Round 3: Sakshi - Nandhidhaa: 0-1

WIM Sakshi Chitlange (MAH) played precisely in the endgame to earn a full point against WGM Nandhidhaa P V (TN).

Position after 52...a4

52...a4 was the final mistake which allowed Black to win the game. Find out how.

WIM Sakshi Chitlange beat WGM Nandhidhaa to join the lead 3.0/3 | Photo: IA Suresh Chandra Sahoo

Srishti - Soumya: 0-1

WFM Srishti Pandey (MAH) was completely winning against IM Soumya Swaminathan (PSPB).

Position after 24...Rxe5

One of the first opportunities White had in the game was when 24...Rxe5 was played. While the text 25.Nxc5 is also winning for White, 25.Rxf7 would have been more emphatic. White got a couple of more opportunities which she was unable to seize.

Soumya had all the luck on her side against Srishti | Photo: IA Suresh Chandra Sahoo

WIM Mounika Akshaya (AP) - WGM Pratyusha Bodda (AP): 0.5-0.5 | Photo: IA Suresh Chandra Sahoo

Swati - Priyanka Nutakki: 0-1

WIM Priyanka Nutakki (AP) persevered a difficult position against WGM Swati Ghate (LIC). She waited for her opportunity and struck when she gained the upper hand.

Position after 21.c4

The pin on the d-file neutralizes the well-placed knight at d5. It is time for Black to take advantage of the position. Find out how.

Priyanka Nutakki did not miss her chance | Photo: IA Suresh Chandra Sahoo

Bala Kannamma (TN) - WIM Arpita Mukherjee (WB): 0.5-0.5 | Photo: IA Suresh Chandra Sahoo

WFM Sai Nirupama Kotepalli (TN) - WIM Isha Sharma (KAR): 0.5-0.5 | Photo: IA Suresh Chandra Sahoo

Sarayu Velpula (TEL) - WIM Parnali Dharia (MAH): 1-0 | Photo: IA Suresh Chandra Sahoo

WGM Srija Seshadri (TN) - WCM Bristy Mukherjee (WB): 0.5-0.5 | Photo: IA Suresh Chandra Sahoo

WGM Kiran Manisha Mohanty (LIC) - Smaraki Mohanty (ODI): 0-1 | Photo: IA Suresh Chandra Sahoo

Round 4: Priyanka Nutakki - Vaishali: 0.5-0.5

WIM Priyanka Nutakki (AP) drew with IM Vaishali R (TN) comfortably.

IM Soumya Swaminathan (PSPB) - WIM Sakshi Chitlange (MAH): 0.5-0.5 | Photo: IA Suresh Chandra Sahoo

WGM Mary Ann Gomes (PSPB) scored a clinical victory over Sarayu Velpula (TEL) | Photo: IA Suresh Chandra Sahoo

Michelle - Padmini: 0.5-0.5

After missing out on her chances, IM Padmini Rout's (PSPB) refusal of a threefold repetition almost cost her game against WIM Michelle Catherina (TN).

Position after 57...Kf5

57...Kg7 would have led to a repetition. 57...Kf5 created an opportunity for White. 58.Qg5+ Ke4 and now 59.gxf3+ first before 60.Qxg6+ would have been winning for White. However, Michelle opted for 60.Qxg6+ and the window of opportunity closed for her.

Padmini's king expedition almost cost her the game | Photo: IA Suresh Chandra Sahoo

WGM Pratyusha Bodda (AP) - Bala Kannamma (TN): 0.5-0.5 | Photo: IA Suresh Chandra Sahoo

WGM Divya Deshmukh (MAH) won a prolonged rook and opposite color bishop endgame against IM Nisha Mohota (PSPB) | Photo: IA Suresh Chandra Sahoo

WIM Arpita Mukherjee (WB) beat Sai Nirupama Kotepalli (TN) to be one of the leaders 3.5/4 | Photo: IA Suresh Chandra Sahoo

WIM Rakshitta Ravi (TN) lost to WFM Lakshmi C (TN) | Photo: IA Suresh Chandra Sahoo

For more Round 3 and Round 4 photos, click here.


A total of 102 players including 5 IMs, 8 WGMs and 10 WIMs are taking part in this tournament organized by All Odisha Chess Association. The event is taking place at KIIT at Bhubaneswar, Odisha from 25th February to 2nd March 2022. The nine-round Swiss league tournament has a time control of 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1

National Championship Contest

Your task is to guess the winner in both Open and Women's section correctly. Three winners will be chosen and given some exciting ChessBase India goodies!

National Championship 2022 contest | Video: ChessBase India

1st Prize - Chess Course by FA FT Praful Zaveri (7 books) worth ₹4999

2nd Prize - ChessBase India Premium Chess Set worth ₹1999

3rd Prize - ChessBase India Round Neck T-Shirt worth ₹599.55

Replay Round 3-4 games

Round 4 results

19WIMPriyanka Nutakki2301AP3½ - ½3IMVaishali R2403TN1
25IMSoumya Swaminathan2360PSPB3½ - ½3WIMChitlange Sakshi2205MAH19
34WGMGomes Mary Ann2361PSPB1 - 03Velpula Sarayu1875TEL39
421WIMMichelle Catherina P2176TN½ - ½IMPadmini Rout2350PSPB6
57WGMPratyusha Bodda2328AP½ - ½Bala Kannamma P2120TN27
623IMMohota Nisha2147PSPB0 - 1WGMDivya Deshmukh2301MAH8
711WIMArpita Mukherjee2260WB1 - 0WFMKotepalli Sai Nirupama1914AP37
813WIMSharma Isha2253KAR½ - ½WFMBommini Mounika Akshaya2145AP24
947Smaraki Mohanty1725ORI0 - 1WGMSrija Seshadri2219TN16
1041WCMBristy Mukherjee1856WB½ - ½WFMSalonika Saina2206ORI18
112IMKulkarni Bhakti2388GOA21 - 02WIMChandreyee Hajra2001WB32
123WGMNandhidhaa P V2380TN21 - 02Ghosh Samriddhaa1910WB38
1335WFMLakshmi C1968TN21 - 02WIMRakshitta Ravi2278TN10
1443Singh Neha1833BIH20 - 12WIMSavitha Shri B2257TN12
1544Abhirami Madabushi1777TEL20 - 12WIMPriyanka K2227TN14
1615WIMParnali S Dharia2224MAH21 - 02Anupam M Sreekumar1724KER48
1717WGMVarshini V2206TN21 - 02Meenatchi Rajam V1692TN50
1853Shaati Majumder1636TEL20 - 12WFMPandey Srishti2177MAH20
1949Keerti Shree Reddy1721TN20 - 12WGMSwati Ghate2136LIC25
2054Sai Mahati A1608TEL20 - 12Nimmy A.G.2110KER28


Round 5 pairings

11IMVaishali R2403TNWIMArpita Mukherjee2260WB11
219WIMChitlange Sakshi2205MAHWGMGomes Mary Ann2361PSPB4
316WGMSrija Seshadri2219TNIMSoumya Swaminathan2360PSPB5
48WGMDivya Deshmukh2301MAHWIMPriyanka Nutakki2301AP9
520WFMPandey Srishti2177MAH33IMKulkarni Bhakti2388GOA2
624WFMBommini Mounika Akshaya2145AP33WGMNandhidhaa P V2380TN3
76IMPadmini Rout2350PSPB33WGMSwati Ghate2136LIC25
828Nimmy A.G.2110KER33WGMPratyusha Bodda2328AP7
912WIMSavitha Shri B2257TN33WCMBristy Mukherjee1856WB41
1027Bala Kannamma P2120TN33WIMSharma Isha2253KAR13
1114WIMPriyanka K2227TN33WIMMichelle Catherina P2176TN21
1230WFMJyothsna L2052TN33WIMParnali S Dharia2224MAH15
1339Velpula Sarayu1875TEL33WGMVarshini V2206TN17
1418WFMSalonika Saina2206ORI33WFMLakshmi C1968TN35
1522WGMKiran Manisha Mohanty2168LICTejaswini G1742TN45
1640Jayashree P.K.1864TNIMMohota Nisha2147PSPB23
1742Ishvi Aggarwal1833HARWFMHarshini A2131TN26
1834Deodhar Vrushali Umesh1974MAHSmaraki Mohanty1725ORI47
1937WFMKotepalli Sai Nirupama1914APSachi Jain1401DEL66
2046Sheena E.1730KER2Supriya Maji2093WB29


Contact Us