chessbase india logo

MPL 34th National U-14 R3-4: Sannidhi Bhat scores two big wins

by Shahid Ahmed - 11/05/2022

24th seeded newly crowned Maharashtra State Under-14 Girls champion, Sannidhi Ramakrishna Bhat (1373) undoubtedly had a fantastic day in MPL 34th National Under-14 Girls Chess Championship 2022. The 12-year-old girl outplayed fourth seeded Anupam Sreekumar (KER, 1673). Then she defeated second seeded Sachi Jain (DEL, 1768) in the following round. She is now in the lead with the reigning National Under-14 Girls champion, Shubhi Gupta (UP, 1613). Top seed CM Om Manish Kadam (MAH, 2144), CM Daakshin Arun (TN, 2016), Koustuv Dash (ODI, 1910) and John Veny Akkarakaran (KER, 1855) are the four leaders at 4.0/4 in the Open section. Round 5 starts today at 9:30 a.m. IST. Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

John Veny Akkarakaran beats second seed Md. Imran

West Bengal State Under-14 Open champion, Snehil Raj Singh (1545) defeated CM Mayank Chakraborty (ASM, 2015) in the third round. In the fourth round, John Veny Akkarakaran (KER, 1855) won against the second seed of the Open section, Md. Imran (AP, 2122). Third seeded Ilamparthi A R (TN, 2121) was held to a draw by Shankhodip De (WB, 1810). In an all-West Bengal encounter, Sneha Halder (1557) drew with the top seed Mrittika Mallick (1982).

Sannidhi Ramakrishna Bhat (MAH) gained the shared lead 4.0/4 in a fantastic fashion | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Open Round 3: Mayank - Snehil: 0-1

Reigning West Bengal State Under-14 Open champion Snehil Raj Singh (WB, 1545) made the most out of his opportunity against CM Mayank Chakraborty (ASM, 2015)

Position after 28.Rxa6

28.Rd5 Qe1+ 29.Ka2 Qxe4 30.Rxh4 Rxf4 would have kept things balanced. 28.Rxa6 cost White the knight without enough compensation 28...Qe1+ 29.Ka2 Rxf4 30.Qxa4 Kf8. Despite black king being relatively more exposed than white's, there are not sufficient pieces to exploit it.

Snehil Raj Singh (WB) scored a big win over Mayank Chakraborty (ASM) | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Round 4: Imran - John: 0-1

Things started falling apart quickly for the current Andhra Pradesh State Under-16 and Rapid champion, Md. Imran (2122) when he made an incorrect exchange. Thus, allowing his opponent John Veny Akkarakaran (KER, 1855) to invade through the second rank.

Position after 27...Rd7

28.Rd1 prevents Ra2/Rd2 threats. 28.Nxe6 enables them both. 28...Nxe6 now 29.Re2 is not even good due to the fall of the b3-pawn Qxb3. White succumbed to Black's attacks in another seven moves.

John Veny Akkarakaran on defeating the second seed Md. Imran | Video: ChessBase India

Imran misjudged John's plans | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Ilamparthi A R (TN, 2121) managed to salvage a draw from a difficult position against Shankhodip De (WB, 1810) | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Girls Round 3: Sannidhi - Anupam: 1-0

The newly crowned Maharashtra State Under-14 Girls champion Sannidhi Ramakrishna Bhat (1373) got a completely winning position within 15 moves against the reigning Kerala State Under-14 Girls champion, Anupam M Sreekumar (1673).

Position after 14.Ng5

White got a dream position after 14.Ng5. There is not much left for Black to do here. Sannidhi converted her advantage into a win comfortably.

Sannidhi Ramakrishna Bhat (MAH) outplayed Anupam M Sreekumar (KER) | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Round 4: Sachi - Sannidhi: 0-1

Sachi Jain's (DEL, 1768) all out attack on the kingside did not work out against Sannidhi Ramakrishna Bhat (MAH, 1373).

Position after 32.Qe3

Black could have taken on e5 right away 32...Nxe5 as 33.Qxe5 runs into Bd6. However, she did it in another five moves. White's overstretched pawns became a target over time and Sannidhi had no trouble seizing her advantage.

Sacrificing a queen to promote another | Sachi Jain vs Sannidhi Ramakrishna Bhat, Round 4 | Video: ChessBase India

Sannidhi Ramachandra Bhat (MAH) en route her victory against Sachi Jain (DEL) | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Top seed among the Girls, Mrittika Mallick (WB) drew with Sneha Halder (WB) despite being down by two pawns at one point | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

The tournament hall | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

For more Round 3 and Round 4 photos, please click at the respective links.

When you blunder and so does your opponent | Falak Joni Naik vs Charvi Patidar, Round 3| Video: ChessBase India
Is attack the only defense? | Tejasvee Naresh Singh vs Sneha Halder, Round 3 | Video: ChessBase India

A total of 214 players in the Open and 107 players in the Girls tournament are taking part. It is organized by Gujarat State Chess Association. Both tournaments are taking place at Rajpath Club, Ahmedabad, Gujarat from 9th to 14th May 2022. The eleven-round Swiss league tournament has a time control of 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Replay Open Round 3-4 games

Replay Girls Round 3-4 games

Open Round 4 results

112Adireddy Arjun1898Telangana30 - 13CMKadam Om Manish2144Maharashtra1
22AIMMd Imran2122Andhra Pradesh30 - 13John Veny Akkarakaran1855Kerala13
317Shankhodip De1810West Bengal3½ - ½3Ilamparthi A R2121Tamil Nadu3
44CMDaakshin Arun2016Tamil Nadu31 - 03Navya Goyal1483Madhya Pradesh55
56Shaik Sumer Arsh1999Telangana3½ - ½3Anubhav Rawat1329Delhi96
622Bagwe Gaurang1789Maharashtra3½ - ½3AGMSahib Singh1991Delhi7
742Snehil Raj Singh1545West Bengal30 - 13Koustuv Dash1910Odisha11
88Ankit Ray1932West Bengal½ - ½Samyak Dharewa1586West Bengal36
952Yuwan Das1493Assam0 - 1Bharadia Yash1924Rajasthan9
1014Apoorv Kamble1846Karnataka0 - 1Jaidambareesh N R1521Tamil Nadu46


Round 5 pairings

11CMKadam Om Manish2144Maharashtra44Koustuv Dash1910Odisha11
213John Veny Akkarakaran1855Kerala44CMDaakshin Arun2016Tamil Nadu4
33Ilamparthi A R2121Tamil NaduBagwe Gaurang1789Maharashtra22
424Dhruva Thota1743TelanganaShaik Sumer Arsh1999Telangana6
57AGMSahib Singh1991DelhiArpith S Bijoy1713Kerala26
69Bharadia Yash1924RajasthanAakash G1665Tamil Nadu30
746Jaidambareesh N R1521Tamil NaduShankhodip De1810West Bengal17
896Anubhav Rawat1329DelhiAbhash Roimya Saikia1794Assam20
921AIMVaz Ethan1792GoaDaaevik Wadhawan1603Delhi34
1045Rohith S1523Tamil Nadu33AIMMd Imran2122Andhra Pradesh2


Girls Round 4 results

110Sneha Halder1557West Bengal3½ - ½3Mrittika Mallick1982West Bengal1
22Sachi Jain1768Delhi30 - 13Bhat Sannidhi Ramakrishna1373Maharashtra24
318Aswinika Mani R1408Tamil Nadu30 - 13AFMShubhi Gupta1613Uttar Pradesh5
46Pragnya H G1605Tamil Nadu1 - 03Falak Joni Naik1349Gujarat28
58Dakshita Kumawat1575Rajasthan1 - 0Debapriya Manna1384West Bengal22
638Arushi Srichandan1292Odisha0 - 1Roy Aanya1560Maharashtra9
740Anagha K G R1288Karnataka0 - 1Shreya G Hipparagi1548Maharashtra11
846Elakshi Srivastava1256Rajasthan½ - ½Arshiya Das1456Tripura13
914Chaarvi Choudhury1456Assam1 - 0Disha U A1098Karnataka76
1036Siyona Judith C1300Tamil Nadu20 - 12Rout Yashita1718Odisha3


Round 5 pairings

15AFMShubhi Gupta1613Uttar Pradesh44Bhat Sannidhi Ramakrishna1373Maharashtra24
21Mrittika Mallick1982West BengalChaarvi Choudhury1456Assam14
39Roy Aanya1560MaharashtraPragnya H G1605Tamil Nadu6
411Shreya G Hipparagi1548MaharashtraDakshita Kumawat1575Rajasthan8
53Rout Yashita1718Odisha3Sneha Halder1557West Bengal10
621Sherali Pattnaik1398Uttarakhand33Sachi Jain1768Delhi2
77Rajanya Datta1589West Bengal33Aditi Raj1261Jharkhand44
825Yashvi Jain1362Telangana33Charvi Patidar1501Rajasthan12
913Arshiya Das1456Tripura33WCMShriyana S Mallya1353Karnataka26
1027Tejasvee Naresh Singh1351Rajasthan33Jeevika S1433Puducherry16


Contact Us