chessbase india logo

Seven players in the lead with 5.0/5 at Shaastra Rapid Rating 2020

by Shahid Ahmed - 22/02/2020

Seven players are in the lead with 5.0/5 at the halfway mark of 4th Shaastra Rapid Rating 2020. They are GM Vishnu Prasanna, GM Priyadharshan Kannappan, IM D K Sharma, IM Ravi Teja S, GM Laxman R R, IM P D S Girinath and FM Rohith Krishna S. This is the biggest and strongest edition in this tournament's nascent history. Total 439 players comprising of 7 GMs, 11 IMs, a WGM and 2 WIMs are taking part in this two-day event at IIT Madras, co-sponsored by Akshayakalpa and nurtr. Total Prize fund ₹300000 is up for grabs with the first prize being ₹45000. The tournament concludes on 23rd February 2020. Photo: Shahid Ahmed

4th Shaastra Rapid Rating witnesses 439 players

GM Vishnu Prasanna, GM Priyadharshan Kanappan, IM D K Sharma, IM Ravi Teja S, GM Laxman R R, IM P D S Girinath and FM Rohith Krishna are in the lead with 5.0/5 at the conclusion of Round 5 of 4th Shaastra Rapid Rating.

The leaders - Vishnu, Kannappan, D K Sharma, Ravi Teja, Laxman and Girinath | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

The tournament was inaugurated by award-winning coach GM Ramesh RB and Chief Arbiter IA R Anantharam.

Ramesh delivers the inaugural speech | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Ramesh makes the inaugural move 1.e4 on top seed GM Srinath Narayanan's board | Photo: Shahid Ahmed
Award-winning coach GM Ramesh RB talks about budding talents, upcoming candidates and much more | Video: Shahid Ahmed

GM vs CEO in Round 2

Top seeds as expected made a smooth sailing in Round 1. In Round 2, board no.2 witnessed an interesting pairing between GM Vishnu Prasanna and CEO of Akshayakalpa, Shashi Kumar. Akshayakalpa is also the co-sponsor of the tournament.

GM Vishnu Prasanna faces CEO of Akshayakalpa, Shashi Kumar | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Vishnu won the game obviously but his 1301 rated opponent played the opening correctly.

11-year old Vijay Adithya Muthu S (1265) held IM P Konguvel (2216) to a draw | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Jayachandra held Shyam Sundar to a draw in Round 3

Round 3 witnessed two major upsets, Jayachandra Srinivas Vellanki (1518) held GM Shyam Sundar M (2504) to a draw. Tayalan Manikandan (1428) shocked IM P Saravana Krishnan (2310).

GM Shyam Sundar was held to a draw by Jayachandra Srinivas Vellanki | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Tayalan Manikandan defeated IM P Saravana Krishnan | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

All participants were given a metallic bottle by Akshayakalpa as seen in the above photo.

Srihari held Srinath to a draw, Nikhil beat Deepan in Round 4

On the top board, FM Srihari L R held top seed of the tournament GM Srinath Narayanan to a draw in what seemed like Srihari missed a win. Of course it was not easy to spot as he was down to few seconds on the clock.

Srihari - Srinath, Round 4

Find out the winning continuation for white after 36...Rf4

Srihari continued with 37.Rd2 and after a couple of mistakes, the game liquidated into a drawn Rook-knight vs. Rook endgame where Srinath was reluctant to take a draw as he wanted to fight till the end. After making two draw offer rejections, Srinath finally accepted draw as the obvious outcome of the game.

Srihari would be unhappy to miss the fantastic opportunity | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

CM Nikhil Magizhnan (1893) showed nerves of steel to beat GM Deepan Chakravarthy (2470) | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Among other upsets, FM Rohith Krishna S (1883) beat GM Sundararajan Kidambi (2418), Vinay R Jumani (1548) beat GM Shyam Sundar M (2504) and Rohit S (1587) held WGM Nandhidhaa P V (2151) to a draw in Round 4.

Nikhil continues his momentum in Round 5

Vishnu, Priyadharshan, D K Sharma, Ravi Teja, Laxman, Rohith Krishna S and Girinath scored a win each respectively to be among the seven leaders at the conclusion of day 1. IM Siddharth Ravichandran (2370) was held to a draw by CM Nikhil Magizhnan (1893), WIM Michelle Catherina P (2039) drew with IM Dhulipalla Bala Chandra Prasad (2287) and WFM Savith Shri B (1681) held IM Praveen Kumar C (2223) to a draw.

How to win a closed BB vs BN endgame by GM Priyadharshan Kannappan | Video: Shahid Ahmed
How to win Rook and Opposite Color Bishop endgame by IM Ravi Teja S | Video: Shahid Ahmed

For more photos, click here.


The two-day Rapid Rating Open observes the total participation of 439 players comprising of 7 GMs, 11 IMs, a WGM, 2 WIMs, 3 FMs and a WFM. It is the strongest edition in this tournament's nascent history and perhaps one of the strongest rapid rating tournament in the country of this year. The tournament is organized by Shaastra IIT Madras at IIT Madras on 22nd and 23rd February, co-sponsored by Akshayakalpa and nurtr.

Round 5 results

120IMRavi Thandalam Shanmugam219340 - 14GMVishnu Prasanna. V25122
221Raahul V S217240 - 14GMKannappan Priyadharshan24824
322Karthik Rajaa216740 - 14IMSharma Dinesh K.24226
48IMRavi Teja S.237741 - 04Pranav V206324
59IMRavichandran Siddharth23704½ - ½4CMNikhil Magizhnan189332
625IMRamnathan Balasubramaniam206240 - 14GMLaxman R.R.235310
727WIMMichelle Catherina P20394½ - ½4IMDhulipalla Bala Chandra Prasad228714
815IMMuthaiah Al227640 - 14FMRohith Krishna S188334
929Barath L191640 - 14IMGirinath P.D.S.227516
1046WFMSavitha Shri B16814½ - ½4IMPraveen Kumar C222318
111GMNarayanan Srinath25301 - 0AGMRathneesh R186636
1211Kunal M.23201 - 0Rohit S158760
1313Ashwath R.22891 - 0Selvabharathy T178340
1419IMKonguvel Ponnuswamy22161 - 0Vinay R Jumani154865
1523WIMNandhidhaa P V21511 - 0Narendhiran R150373
1651Krithigga K16360 - 1Sai Vishwesh.C205226
1764Sanjay Thiruvengadam15550 - 1FMSrihari L R191030
18116Rakshith Srinivasan13150 - 13GMDeepan Chakkravarthy J.24705
197GMSundararajan Kidambi241831 - 03AIMKaushik G Iyer141494
2096AIMAshwin Sairam140630 - 13IMSaravana Krishnan P.231012

Complete results

Round 6 pairings

12GMVishnu Prasanna. V251255IMRavi Teja S.23778
24GMKannappan Priyadharshan248255GMLaxman R.R.235310
36IMSharma Dinesh K.242255IMGirinath P.D.S.227516
434FMRohith Krishna S18835GMNarayanan Srinath25301
523WIMNandhidhaa P V2151IMRavichandran Siddharth23709
626Sai Vishwesh.C2052Kunal M.232011
730FMSrihari L R1910Ashwath R.228913
814IMDhulipalla Bala Chandra Prasad2287WFMSavitha Shri B168146
918IMPraveen Kumar C2223WIMMichelle Catherina P203927
1032CMNikhil Magizhnan1893IMKonguvel Ponnuswamy221619
115GMDeepan Chakkravarthy J.247044Marimuthu K159359
1261Rajesh Vasanthakumar157644GMSundararajan Kidambi24187
1312IMSaravana Krishnan P.231044Tamizh Selvan Ganesan153966
1472Sivan S Roshan150544IMMuthaiah Al227615
1577Nandha Visakan147744Vignesh B227317
1680Balaprashanth M146144IMRavi Thandalam Shanmugam219320
1781Tejaswini G146144Raahul V S217221
1883Thrish Karthik145644Karthik Rajaa216722
1924Pranav V206344Gowrichander U145284
2087Sriram Suresh143944IMRamnathan Balasubramaniam206225

Complete pairings

Contact Us