chessbase india logo

5th Shaastra Rapid Rating 2023 R1-4: 15 players make a perfect start 4/4

by Shahid Ahmed - 11/03/2023

A total of 15 players are in the lead with a score of 4/4 at 5th Shaastra Rapid Rating Open 2023. The top six seeds have won all four of their games on the first day. The defending champion GM Vishnu Prasanna and two former champions of this event - GM Deepan Chakkravarthy and IM Muthaiah Al are in the leader's pack. Will one of them win the event for a second time or are we going to see a new champion? We will know the answer tomorrow. Total Prize fund ₹500000 is up for grabs with the first prize being ₹65000. The tournament is organized by Shaastra IIT Madras, sponsored by Akshayakalpa. Round 5 starts tomorrow at 9:15 a.m. IST. Photo: Shahid Ahmed

13-year-old Daakshin Arun among the leaders

Apart from the top six seeds, the remaining nine players in the lead are - GM Laxman R R, GM Thej Kumar S, IM Muthaiah Al, FM Prasannaa S, Bharat Kumar Reddy Poluri, FM Vinay Kumar Matta, Sai Vishwesh C, Jaidambareesh N R and CM Daakshin Arun.

13-year-old CM Daakshin Arun is among the 15 leaders | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

The tournament flex | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

The tournament was inaugurated by Professor Nilesh J Vasa, Dean of Students and Professor Dr. Ratna Kumar A, Co-Curricular Advisor, in presence of Chief Arbiter IA Anantharam R, Patron and Alumni, Nitin M Paid and the organizing committee members - Aditya Sadhu and Akash Lal.

Professor Nilesh J Vasa, Dean of Students, making the inaugural move on GM Pranav Venkatesh's board | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Professor Dr. Ratna Kumar A, Co-Curricular Advisor, making the inaugural first move on GM Deepan Chakkravarthy's board | Photo: Shahid Ahmed
We would like to have this event every six months - Prof. Nilesh J Vasa | Video: Shahid Ahmed

Round 2: 9-year-old shows theoretical knowledge in the endgame

Just like the first round, there was no upset in the top 15 boards of the second round. IIT Madras' very own Veera Phani Sai Teja K (1438) got the better of Kunal M (2138). 9-year-old Aarav A (1396) held FM Senthil Maran K (2084) to a draw.

9-year-old Aarav knew the theoretical Philidor draw | Photo: Shahid Ahmed
Final moments: Aarav A - FM Senthil Maran K | Video: ChessBase India

Round 3: Vignesh Kannan draws with Savitha Shri B

Once again, all top seeds scored won their respective games. Vignesh Kannan P (1688) drew with WIM Savitha Shri B (2281). Ashwin Sairam (1736) had a good opportunity to draw with the second seeded, GM Pranav Venkatesh (2462).

Pranav - Ashwin

Position after 3.f4

Black did the one thing he should not have done, 3...Kc3. The position became winning for White after 4.Re4. Black touched his king and then he realized Kd3 cannot be played due to Re3+ skewer. It was over for Black anyway, irrespective of whether he moved the king or something else after Re4.

Ashwin Sairam (right) missed a good opportunity against GM Pranav V, Vignesh Kannan P (top left) drew with WIM Savitha Shri B | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Round 4: Top six keep winning, Adireddy Arjun splits the point with Rathanvel

All top six seeds won their respective games. CM Adireddy Arjun (1855) drew with IM Rathanvel V S (2326).

GM Vishnu Prasanna comfortably defeated Aswath S | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

GM Deepan Chakkravarthy - IM Ravi T S: 1-0 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Aditya Sadhu - GM Bharath Subramaniyam H: 0-1 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

One of the organizing committee member, Aditya Sadhu (1916) made a fantastic 3/3 start. In the fourth round, he lost to GM Bharath Subramaniyam H (2395). Organizing a tournament and playing at the same time is not an easy task, however, he is balancing both quite well.

One of the previous edition organizer, Navnitan S V made a good start 3/4 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Another previous edition organizer and a patron, Nitin M Pai also made a good start 3/4 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

You can spot deer... | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

...monkey or... | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

...maybe kitten on your way towards the venue | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Top boards have been moved to the gallery in this edition | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

A huge spacious tournament hall at the SAC of IIT Madras | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Akshayakalpa stall - the main sponsor of this tournament | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

For more photos, click here.


The two-day Rapid Rating Open observes the total participation of 375 players including 6 GMs, 6 IMs, a WGM and 2 WIMs. The tournament is organized by Shaastra IIT Madras at IIT Madras on 11th and 12th March, presented by Akshayakalpa.

Round 4 results

11GMVishnu Prasanna. V2496TN31 - 03Aswath S2044TN28
232Nithin Babu1959KEL30 - 13GMPranav V2462TN2
33GMDeepan Chakkravarthy J.2405ICF31 - 03IMRavi Thandalam Shanmugam1930TN36
438Sadhu S Adithya1916IITM30 - 13GMBharath Subramaniyam H2395TN4
55IMRavi Teja S.2357AP31 - 03Sunyuktha C M N1882TN40
639IMRamnathan Balasubramaniam1889TN30 - 13IMKushagra Mohan2335TEL6
77IMRathanvel V S2326TN3½ - ½3CMAdireddy Arjun1855TEL42
841Badrinath S.1859PUD30 - 13IMMuthaiah Al2316TN8
910GMThejkumar M. S.2268KA31 - 03Arun R U1806TN48
1043Peter Anand A1829PUD30 - 13GMLaxman R.R.2232ICF12
1113FMMushini Ajay2212AP3½ - ½3Sham R1773TN52
1245Sridhar C S1821TN3½ - ½3FMKarthik Rajaa2175TN16
1317Bharat Kumar Reddy Poluri2158TEL31 - 03Navnitan S V1612IITM74
1419Sai Vishwesh.C2115TN31 - 03Pragnya H G1540TN89
1549CMDaakshin Arun1797TN31 - 03FMRamakrishna J.2094UBI20
1623FMMatta Vinay Kumar2087UBI31 - 03ACMVishruth B1512TN92
1725Rohit S2079TN30 - 13Jaidambareesh N R1502TN96
1851Vigneshwaran S1777TN30 - 13FMPrasannaa.S2056TN26
199WIMSavitha Shri B2281TN1 - 03Veera Phani Sai Teja K1438IITM113
2011FMHarsh Suresh2257TN1 - 0Vignesh Kannan P1688TN64


Round 5 pairings

112GMLaxman R.R.2232ICF44GMVishnu Prasanna. V2496TN1
22GMPranav V2462TN44GMThejkumar M. S.2268KA10
326FMPrasannaa.S2056TN44GMDeepan Chakkravarthy J.2405ICF3
44GMBharath Subramaniyam H2395TN44Bharat Kumar Reddy Poluri2158TEL17
596Jaidambareesh N R1502TN44IMRavi Teja S.2357AP5
66IMKushagra Mohan2335TEL44Sai Vishwesh.C2115TN19
78IMMuthaiah Al2316TN44FMMatta Vinay Kumar2087UBI23
87IMRathanvel V S2326TN4CMDaakshin Arun1797TN49
934Elancheralathan P1935TNWIMSavitha Shri B2281TN9
1042CMAdireddy Arjun1855TELFMHarsh Suresh2257TN11
1145Sridhar C S1821TNFMMushini Ajay2212AP13
1216FMKarthik Rajaa2175TNAGMMani Bharathy1808TN47
1394AFMMohit S1508TNCMGireman Ja2092TN21
1424FMSenthil Maran K2084TNPoorna Sri M.K1623TN70
1552Sham R1773TNAGMVignesh B1938TN33
1682Mitul K H1566KA33Balasubramaniam H2185TN15
1784Magesh Babu Matapathy1562TN33Kunal M.2138TN18
1820FMRamakrishna J.2094UBI33Pranav Sai Ram R S1559TN85
1986Akhil T U1544TN33Rohit S2079TN25
2087Rohit S1543PUD33WIMRakshitta Ravi2044TN27



Shaastra IIT Madras: Official site, facebook, instagram, twitter and youtube

Akshayakalpa: Official site, linkedin, facebook, instagram, twitter and youtube

Contact Us