chessbase india logo

Ojasva Singh prevails at 2nd AFCA Rapid Rating Open 2024

by Shahid Ahmed - 10/02/2024

FM Ojasva Singh, FM Aaryan Varshney and Yatin Kumar scored 8/9 each at 2nd AFCA Rapid Rating Open 2024. Ojasva won the tournament due to better tie-breaks. Aaryan and Yating were placed second and third respectively. Both Ojasva and Aaryan remained undefeated. Ojasva defeated the top seed of the event, IM Aaditya Dhingra in the penultimate round. The total prize fund of the tournament was ₹400000. The top three prizes were ₹40000, ₹30000 and ₹20000 along with a trophy each. The two-day rapid rating tournament was organized by All Faridabad Chess Association and Prominent Chess Academy on 26th and 27th January 2024 at Amrita Hospital in Faridabad, Haryana. This is Ojasva's first tournament triumph of the year. Photos: Alka Chhikara

Top three score 8/9

FMs Ojasva Singh and Aaryan Varshney were the coleaders 7.5/8 before the final round. Four players - Yatin Kumar, Harish Sharma, FM Garv Gaur and Garv Rai were trailing them by a half point at 7/8 each. Garv Rai and Aaryan drew against Ojasva and Garv Gaur respectively. Yatin defeated Harish. Ojasva became champion, Aaryan second and Yatin third. 14-year-old Nirnay Garg became the youngest top ten finisher. He scored 7.5/9 to finish sixth.

Champion - FM Ojasva Singh 8/9

Top five (L to R): 3rd Yatin Kumar 8/9, 2nd FM Aaryan Varshney 8/9, 1st FM Ojasva Singh 8/9, 5th FM Garv Gaur 7.5/9 and 4th IM Aaditya Dhingra 7.5/9

FM Ojasva Singh scored an unbeaten 8/9, defeated the top seed IM Aaditya Dhingra in the penultimate round and gained 1.2 Elo rating points

The tournament hall at Amrita Hospital in Faridabad, Haryana

A total of 357 players including an IM took part from various states across the country. The two-day nine round Rapid Rating tournament was organized by All Faridabad Chess Association and Prominent Chess Academy at Amrita Hospital in Faridabad, Haryana on 26th and 27th January 2024. The time control of the event was 25 minutes + 10 seconds increment.

Final standings

Rk.SNoNameTypFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
11FMSingh, OjasvaIND2282Madhya Pradesh8545850,50
23FMAaryan, VarshneyIND2167Delhi8545850,25
311Yatin, KumarIND1740Delhi85358,551,00
42IMAaditya, DhingraIND2189Haryana7,554,558,546,75
57FMGarv, GaurIND1976Haryana7,551,55746,25
621Nirnay, GargU15IND16157,5515543,75
76Prakash, RamIND2028Punjab7,5495342,75
84Wajih, NassirIND2140Delhi7,5485241,50
95Garv, RaiIND2081Delhi7,54749,540,00
109Sharma, HarishIND1828Delhi752,556,541,00
1156Dhruv, Singh BishtU15IND1346Haryana7485237,00
1212Jaydeep, SharmaIND1738Delhi747,55239,75
1341Shreyas, DasIND1422Delhi747,55036,00
1428Gaurav, SharmaIND1511Delhi7465034,50
1513Prithvi, SharmaIND1720Haryana74649,537,00
1615Mrityunjay, KumarIND1682745,54938,00
1748Prishita, GuptaU15IND1389Delhi745,54934,50
1824Mehul, SondhiU15IND1570Delhi74549,537,25
1945Vatsal, SinglaU15IND1409Delhi6,5525435,75
2022Arshpreet, SinghU15IND1612Haryana6,551,556,538,25
2132AFMHariom, SolankiIND1488Delhi6,54953,534,75
2227Rituraj, SinghIND1514Uttar Pradesh6,548,551,535,50
2333Siddhant, Nath JhaIND1467Haryana6,54851,534,75
248Hriday, PanchalIND1870Delhi6,54751,535,50
2542AFMArhan, JainU15IND1412Haryana6,54750,532,25
26157Naitik, JainU15IND1112Haryana6,546,55034,25
2730Gaha, NarayanIND1501Uttar Pradesh6,546,549,531,25
2836Mahir, TanejaU15IND1453Delhi6,545,549,532,50
2918Abhijith, UIND1654Kerala6,545,54935,25
30189Supratim, BhadraU15IND1012Delhi6,54549,534,75


Contact Us