chessbase india logo

Vishy Anand set to clash with Magnus Carlsen and others at 10th Norway Chess 2022 starting today

by Shahid Ahmed - 30/05/2022

The tenth edition of Norway Chess will start today with a Blitz event. It will determine the seeding for the main event, which starts tomorrow. As always, the most interesting thing about this tournament is every game in the main event will have a winner. All draws will be decided in Armageddon. Defending champion of the event, World Champion Magnus Carlsen will return to over-the-board action for the first time since winning the Tata Steel 2022 in January this year. He will be seen in action along with Vishy Anand, So, Mamedyarov, Giri, Radjabov, Vachier-Lagrave, Topalov, Hao Wang and Tari. Blitz Round 1 starts tonight from 6 p.m. local time (9:30 p.m. IST). Photo: Lennart Ootes / Grand Chess Tour

Tari replaces Rapport

World no.5 and one of the players at the upcoming FIDE Candidates 2022, Richard Rapport withdrew from the tournament. The Official site announced Norway no.2 and former World Junior champion, Aryan Tari as his replacement.

Vishy Anand would certainly love to continue his fantastic form from Superbet Rapid and Blitz 2022 | Photo: Lennart Ootes / Grand Chess Tour


Eight out of ten participants of 10th Norway Chess 2022 won at least one World title. They are - Magnus Carlsen (Current World Champion), Vishy Anand (Five-time Classical and two-time World Rapid Champion), Veselin Topalov (World Champion), Maxime Vachier-Lagrave (World Blitz 2021 Champion), Teimour Radjabov (FIDE World Cup 2019 winner), Wesley So (Current FIDE Fischer Random World Champion), Shakhriyar Mamedyarov (Former World Rapid Champion), Aryan Tari (Former World Junior Champion). Only Anish Giri and Hao Wang are two participants who are yet to win a major World title.

The participants of 10th Norway Chess 2022 | Photo: Norway Chess


Players will get following points per round:

Victory in main game: 3 points

Loss in main game: 0 points

Draw in main game & victory Armageddon: 1.5 points

Draw in main game & loss Armageddon: 1 point

Scoring and Format| Photo: Norway Chess

Time Control

Blitz (30th May 2022)

Format & System: Round Robin System, 10 players. (all play all)

Number of Rounds – 9

Time Control – 3 minutes + 2 seconds increments per move starting from move one

Default Time – 3 minutes.



• Each player will have 120 minutes on the clock with an increment of 10 seconds after move 40.

• Players are obliged to record the moves on the score sheet starting from the first move.

• A player can stop recording the moves when he has less than 5 minutes.

• If there is a draw in the classical game, then the players will move on to Armageddon within 20 minutes after the draw.

• White pieces will continue with white in Armageddon.

• With this, there will be a winner in each game because black pieces will win if the game ends in a draw.



• White has 10 minutes and black has 7 minutes with an increment of 1 second per move, starting from move 41.

• Players are not allowed to agree on a draw until after move 30.


1st NOK 750000

2nd NOK 400000

3rd NOK 250000

4th NOK 200000

5th NOK 180000

6th NOK 170000

7th NOK 160000

8th NOK 140000

9th NOK 130000

10th NOK 120000


Total Prize fund is NOK 2500000. Money prizes will be shared among the players with the same sum of points. This does not apply for the first prize.


Blitz Round 1 starts on 30th May 2022 at 6 p.m. local time (9:30 p.m. IST). 

Classical games will be played from 31st May to 10th June 2022. Everyday game starts at 5 p.m. local time (8:30 p.m. IST). 4th June is a rest day.

10th Norway Chess 2022 schedule | Photo: Norway Chess


Official site

Tournament Regulations

Blitz Tournament Regulations

Related news:
कार्लसन नें रिकॉर्ड 5वीं बार जीता नॉर्वे शतरंज का खिताब

@ 11/06/2022 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Magnus Carlsen clinches his fifth Norway Chess title, Vishy Anand third

@ 11/06/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
10th Norway Chess 2022 R8: Carlsen survives Maxime scare, Anand blunders

@ 10/06/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
10th Norway Chess 2022 R7: Anand scores, Carlsen loses his third Armageddon

@ 08/06/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
नॉर्वे शतरंज - आनंद ने अनीश से हिसाब किया बराबर

@ 07/06/2022 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
10th Norway Chess 2022 R6: Carlsen gains sole lead, Anand wins Armageddon against Giri

@ 07/06/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
10th Norway Chess 2022 R5: 'The Lightning Kid' Anand conquers Carlsen again

@ 06/06/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
नॉर्वे शतरंज - आनंद के साथ अब कार्लसन भी सयुंक्त बढ़त पर

@ 04/06/2022 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
10th Norway Chess 2022 R4: Wesley So ends Anand's unbeaten streak, Carlsen catches up

@ 04/06/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
10th Norway Chess 2022 R3: Anand beats Hao in Armageddon, maintains sole lead

@ 03/06/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
10th Norway Chess 2022 R2: So beats Carlsen again, Anand reenters World top 10

@ 02/06/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
नॉर्वे शतरंज - आनंद का जलवा कायम ,अब टोपालोव को हराया

@ 02/06/2022 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
एमवीएल को मात दे आनंद नें किया नॉर्वे चैस का आरंभ

@ 01/06/2022 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
10th Norway Chess 2022 R1: Accurate Anand strikes Maxime Vachier-Lagrave

@ 01/06/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
नॉर्वे ब्लिट्ज़ :5 साल बाद आनंद नें दी कार्लसन को मात

@ 31/05/2022 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
10th Norway Chess 2022 Blitz: Anand beats Carlsen for the first time in almost five years

@ 31/05/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us