chessbase india logo

15th AICFB National R3-4: Five players share the lead 3.5/4

by Shahid Ahmed - 07/04/2022

Kishan Gangolli, Subhendu Kumar Patra, Soundarya Kumar Pradhan, Ashvin K Makwana and Milind Samant are the five players in the lead. They all drew their respective games in the fourth round of SAVA Herbals 15th AICFB National Chess Championship for Visually Challenged players. Marimuthu K had a good opportunity to win against Aryan Joshi in the third game. Despite winning for the better part of the game, he was unable to convert his advantage into a full point. He will face one of the tournament leaders, Soundarya in the fifth round. Round 5 starts today at 9:00 a.m. IST. Photo: IA Manjunatha M

Marimuthu impressive against Aryan

Top seed Darpan Inanni's tough form continues. Surypratap Singh held him to a draw in the third round.

Round 4: Soundarya Kumar Pradhan - Kishan Gangolli: 0.5-0.5 | Photo:IA Manjunatha M

Round 3: Marimuthu - Aryan: 0.5-0.5

Marimuthu K (1586) spotted a very nice tactic against Aryan Joshi (1909).

Position after 17.Nxf7

17...Rxf7 18.Qxd6 Qc8 19.Bh2 White needed to castle first and ensure his king safety. 19...Bxd1 20.Bxd1 Ne8 21.Qg3 allowed Black to get back in the game Rxa3. However, he missed it and played Nc1. White was winning for the better part of the game, yet Aryan kept fighting and managed to salvage a draw eventually.

Marimuthu was completely winning for the majority of the game | Photo: IA Manjunatha M

Surypratap Singh held top seed Darpan Inani to a solid draw | Photo: IA Manjunatha M

Round 4: Milind Samant - Aryan Joshi: 0.5-0.5 | Photo: IA Manjunatha M

For more Round 3 and Round 4 photos, please click at the respective links.


A total of 55 players are taking part from various states across India. The tournament is organized by All India Chess Federation for the Blind (AICFB) from 5th to 9th April 2022 at PYC Hindu Gymkhana, Pune. The nine-round Swiss league tournament has a time control of 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1. There are double rounds every day from 5th to 8th April. Last day 9th April 2022, there will be one round.

Replay Round 3-4 games

Round 4 results

15Soundarya Kumar Pradhan1749ORI3½ - ½3Kishan Gangolli2113KAR2
27Makwana Ashvin K1729GUJ3½ - ½3Patra Subhendu Kumar1783ORI4
39Samant Milind1670MAH3½ - ½Aryan B Joshi1909MAH3
411Swapanil Shah1622MAH½ - ½Marimuthu K1586T N12
58Patel Darshan1680GUJ20 - 12Satya Praksah Shrivastava1388DEL25
613Shashidhar K M1547KAR21 - 02Dibakar Pal1379W B26
715Vijay Karia1482GUJ20 - 12Gopi R1242T N35
831Sam Peniel P1302T N21 - 02Somender B L1446DEL18
921Shidad M1432KER2½ - ½2Mrunali Pande1236MAH36
1037Solanki Pragnesh1236GUJ20 - 12Hariharan Gandhi1399T N22


Round 5 pairings

12Kishan Gangolli2113KARMakwana Ashvin K1729GUJ7
24Patra Subhendu Kumar1783ORISamant Milind1670MAH9
312Marimuthu K1586T N3Soundarya Kumar Pradhan1749ORI5
43Aryan B Joshi1909MAH33Sam Peniel P1302T N31
525Satya Praksah Shrivastava1388DEL33Swapanil Shah1622MAH11
635Gopi R1242T N33Shashidhar K M1547KAR13
722Hariharan Gandhi1399T N33Shah Saiyam Kamleshbhai1226GUJ40
836Mrunali Pande1236MAHDarpan Inani2124GUJ1
923Rakesh Narwal1393HARShidad M1432KER21
1010Prachurya Kumar Pradhan1630ORI2Rathi Himanshi1177GUJ41



Tournament Info

AICFB official site

Contact Us