chessbase india logo

15th AICFB National R1-2: 1446-rated Somender stuns top seed Darpan Inani

by Shahid Ahmed - 06/04/2022

19-year-old Somender B L (DEL) defeated the top seed of the tournament, Darpan Inani (GUJ) in Round 2 of SAVA Herbals 15th AICFB National Chess Championship for Visually Challenged 2022-23. Another Delhite, Satya Praksah Shrivastava won against sixth seeded veteran, Krishna Udupa (KAR). Six-time consecutive AICFB National champion, Kishan Gangolli, Aryan Joshi, Subhendu Kumar Patra, Soundarya Kumar Pradhan, Ashvin K Makwana and K Marimuthu are among the dozen players who made an unbeaten start 2.0/2. 55 selected players are taking part to become 'National Blind Chess Champion 2022'. Round 3 starts today at 9:00 a.m. IST. Photo: IA Manjunatha M

A dozen players at 2.0/2

A total of 55 players have been selected to take part in this prestigious championship on the basis of their performance in State and Zonal championships. Players who have represented India in the world are also taking part in this event. This tournament is the final level of selection process for which players will be selected for Indian team in the upcoming IBCA World Team Championship and Olympiad.

Somender B L scored a big upset against the top seed and one of the tournament favorites, Darpan Inani | Photo: IA Manjunatha M

Round 2: Darpan - Somender: 0-1

Darpan Inani (2124) moved his queenside rook incorrectly which cost him valuable time against Somender B L (1446).

Position after 24.Ra4

24.Ra4 allowed Black to improve his position 24...Qd6 25.Nd2 Nd4 26.Nc4 Qc5 27.a6 Rb8 28.Ra5 Rb5. White did manage to get rid of his displaced rook 29.Rxb5 Qxb5. After a lot of back and forth play, Black eventually won the game when White allowed a queen exchange, resulting in a winning a pawn endgame. Darpan resigned immediately when he realized his opponent could force the queen exchange.

Aryan Joshi's instructive rook endgame against Shidad | Video: ChessBase India

Inaugural first move is being made | Photo: IA Manjunatha M

Rotary Club Pune Heritage officials with the tournament organizers | Photo: IA Manjunatha M

Mr. Aravind Ogale (Rotary Club of Pune Heritage), Mr. Kapoor (Sava Herbals), Mr. Pankaj Shah (District Governor Rotary Club of Pune Heritage), Mr. Vikas Khatkar (President Maharashtra Cricket Association), Mr. Vinayak Pethe (President Rotarty Club of Pune Heritage), Dr. Manish Thool (Secretary AICFB), Mr. Kumar Thamane (President PYC Hindu Gymkhana) were present at the inauguration ceremony.

Six-time consecutive AICFB National champion, Kishan Gangolli won his first two games 2.0/2 | Photo:IA Manjunatha M

The tournament hall | Photo:IA Manjunatha M

For more Round 1 and Round 2 photos, please click at the respective links.


A total of 55 players are taking part from various states across India. The tournament is organized by All India Chess Federation for the Blind (AICFB) from 5th to 9th April 2022 at PYC Hindu Gymkhana, Pune. The nine-round Swiss league tournament has a time control of 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1. There are double rounds every day from 5th to 8th April. Last day 9th April 2022, there will be one round.

Replay Round 1-2 games

Round 2 results

11Darpan Inani2124GUJ10 - 11Somender B L1446DEL18
219Bagayatkar Madan1443MAH10 - 11Kishan Gangolli2113KAR2
33Aryan B Joshi1909MAH11 - 01Shidad M1432KER21
423Rakesh Narwal1393HAR10 - 11Patra Subhendu Kumar1783ORI4
55Soundarya Kumar Pradhan1749ORI11 - 01Hariharan Gandhi1399T N22
625Satya Praksah Shrivastava1388DEL11 - 01Krishna Udupa1733KAR6
77Makwana Ashvin K1729GUJ11 - 01Shambhu Kumar Roy1391BIH24
89Samant Milind1670MAH11 - 01Dibakar Pal1379W B26
927Ganesh Kisku1374W B10 - 11Marimuthu K1586T N12
1013Shashidhar K M1547KAR11 - 01Rafik S1140T N44


Round 3 pairings

12Kishan Gangolli2113KAR22Shashidhar K M1547KAR13
212Marimuthu K1586T N22Aryan B Joshi1909MAH3
34Patra Subhendu Kumar1783ORI22Vijay Karia1482GUJ15
418Somender B L1446DEL22Soundarya Kumar Pradhan1749ORI5
525Satya Praksah Shrivastava1388DEL22Makwana Ashvin K1729GUJ7
635Gopi R1242T N22Samant Milind1670MAH9
710Prachurya Kumar Pradhan1630ORISwapanil Shah1622MAH11
832Singh Surypratap1288M P11Darpan Inani2124GUJ1
96Krishna Udupa1733KAR11Madhukesh Ram1243MAH34
108Patel Darshan1680GUJ11Suryakant Raut1285MAH33



Tournament Info

AICFB official site

Contact Us