chessbase india logo

Khelo Chess India Late R Satyamurthy Memorial Rapid Open to take place this Sunday 22nd January

by Niklesh Jain - 20/01/2023

Last month ChessBase India started the journey of Khelo Chess India at Bhopal, the capital of Madhya Pradesh.  The first edition comprised a chess workshop, a blindfold match and a simultaneous exhibition match with few selected school children. The second event will be a rapid tournament. It will be held in memory of Late R Satyamurthy. He was the first national level player of the state. He led the state in the National Senior Championship in 1959 while working for the Indian Railways back then. He made great efforts to promote chess in Bhopal. The one-day seven round Rapid tournnament will take place on Sunday 22nd January 2023 at Minaleswar Temple Hall.

In memory of Late R Satyamurthy

ChessBase India, an organization who promotes chess all over India and the world, will organize  a Rapid Open chess tournament on Sunday 22nd January 2023, part of Khelo Chess India.

Late R Satyamurthy, first National level chess player of Madhya Pradesh

ChessBase India's CEO and Cofounder, IM Sagar Shah interviewed R Satyamurthy five years ago when he was among us

The tournament will take place on Sunday 22nd January 2023

The one-day seven round Rapid Open tournament will take place at Minaleswar Temple Hall from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. The total prize fund ₹14000

Entry fees: ₹300.

Time control: 15 minutes + 10 seconds.

Last date: 21st January 2023.


Interested players can contact the organizing committee via WhatsApp: Shanker Murthy, Shahid Azmat and Ayush Jain - 9131347765

How to participate
How ChessBase India received Late R Satyamurthy's books


WGM Franco Valencia Beatriz (COL) will be the top seed | Photo: Niklesh Jain

Currently Bhopal's top player - Aishwin Daniel | Photo: Amit Sharma

Current National Under-9 Open champion and Asian Under-10 Open triple Gold medalist - Madhvendra Pratap Sharma

Pairings will be displayed one day before the tournament.

Players list

1WGMFranco Valencia Beatriz Irene4402618COL2058
2Aishwin Daniel25037714IND1979
3Shahid Azmat5002087IND1967
4Parihar Rajeev Singh46667750IND1621
5Vedant Bhardwaj25133497IND1595
6Madhvendra Pratap Sharma25985663IND1577
7Jain Nitin46667512IND1524
8Batham Avinash46666338IND1507
9Chandwani Prateek35043013IND1493
10Yadav Bateshwar Singh46668012IND1363
11Nitin Raghuvanshi45086311IND1359
12Sanyam Arya33416761IND1315
13Ravi Palsule25718738IND1313
14Kanishka Choudhary25132725IND1175
15Praneet Chorghade33419841IND1110



Translated from Hindi by Shahid Ahmed

Related news:
Khelo Chess India Grand Finale - Angela wins Rapid, Saurabh Blitz

@ 13/12/2023 by Niklesh Jain (en)
खेलो चैस इंडिया ग्रांड फ़िनाले - एंजेला ने जीता रैपिड तो सौरभ नें जीता ब्लिट्ज़ का खिताब

@ 12/12/2023 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Khelo Chess India Finale on 10th December 2023

@ 08/12/2023 by Niklesh Jain (en)
10 दिसंबर को होगा खेलो चैस इंडिया फ़िनाले 2023

@ 06/12/2023 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
St. Xavier, The Sanskaar Valley and Carmel Convent win Khelo Chess India Inter-school trophy

@ 16/10/2023 by Niklesh Jain (en)
सेंट ज़ेवियर, द संस्कार वैली और कारमेल कान्वेंट नें जीती खेलो चैस इंडिया इंटर स्कूल ट्रॉफी

@ 16/10/2023 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
सौरभ चौबे नें जीता खेलो चैस इंडिया रैपिड का खिताब

@ 13/09/2023 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
एंजेला नें जीता खेलो चैस इंडिया ब्लिट्ज़ का खिताब

@ 12/09/2023 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
खेलो चैस इंडिया आर सत्यमूर्ति मेमोरियल रैपिड और ब्लिट्ज 9-10 सितंबर को

@ 19/08/2023 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
एंजेला नें जीता खेलो चैस इंडिया सनडे मास्टर्स ब्लिट्ज

@ 17/07/2023 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
देवांश सिंह नें जीता तीसरा खेलो चैस इंडिया ब्लिट्ज़

@ 10/07/2023 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
भोपाल के अश्विन नें जीता खेलो चैस इंडिया का दोहरा खिताब

@ 19/06/2023 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
वेदान्त भारद्वाज नें जीता द्वितीय खेलो चैस इंडिया रैपिड का खिताब

@ 20/03/2023 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
खेलो चैस इंडिया रैपिड शतरंज टूर्नामेंट 19 मार्च को

@ 15/03/2023 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
9-year-old Madhvendra Pratap Sharma wins Khelo Chess India Blitz 2023 with a perfect 7/7

@ 08/03/2023 by Niklesh Jain (en)
Aishwin Daniel wins Khelo Chess India Late R Satyamurthy Memorial Rapid Open 2023

@ 27/01/2023 by Niklesh Jain (en)
अश्विन डेनियल नें जीता प्रथम खेलो चैस इंडिया रैपिड

@ 24/01/2023 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
खेलो चैस इंडिया रैपिड शतरंज - भोपाल में होगा आयोजन

@ 19/01/2023 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
The first-ever Khelo Chess India event at The Sanskaar Valley School

@ 20/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
भोपाल के द संस्कार वैली से हुई "खेलो चैस इंडिया " की शुरुआत

@ 20/12/2022 by हिन्दी चैसबेस इंडिया (hi)