chessbase india logo

Nandhidhaa P V Golden at Asian Continental 2022 Women, Priyanka Nutakki Silver and Divya Bronze

by Shahid Ahmed - 08/11/2022

WGM Nandhidhaa P V drew her final round game with WGM Divya Deshmukh as she had already secured the Gold on the previous day. She scored an unbeaten 7.5/9 to become champion. WGM Priyanka Nutakki defeated the former Asian Continental Women champion, IM Padmini Rout to win the Silver medal. Both Nandhidhaa and Priyanka have earned themselves a spot in the next FIDE Women's Cup 2023. Divya was adjudged third according to tie-breaks. The top three prizes were $6000, $5000 and $3000 along with a trophy each respectively. Check out the interesting games of the final round and interviews with the medal winners. Photo: Shahid Ahmed

India dominates the podium again

All three medals were claimed by the Indian players in the Women's event, just like the Open event. WGM Nandhidhaa P V and WGM Priyanka Nutakki, both have qualified to the FIDE World Cup 2023. Seven out of top 10 and 14 out of top 20 finishers were Indian players only. Nandhidhaa's ascension started from last year's 47th La Roda Open 2021 where she made a historic shared first place finish. She was also the top performer for India 3 Women at the 44th Chess Olympiad 2022. Now she won the Asian Continental Women 2022 in a dominating fashion with a round to spare. She also had her better half, an Indian Army Officer present in person at the tournament for the very first time after their marriage, which certainly gave her the extra boost in confidence and morale.

Asian Continental 2022 Women's champion - WGM Nandhidhaa P V 7.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed
I want to beat Carlsen, that's my goal now - Asian Continental Gold medalist WGM Nandhidhaa P V | Video: ChessBase India

Asian Continental 2022 Gold medalists - WGM Nandhidhaa P V and GM R Praggnanandhaa | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Asian Continental 2022 Women Silver  - WGM Priyanka Nutakki 6.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed
Priyanka Nutakki makes a strong comeback by winning Silver at Asian Continental Women 2022 | Video: ChessBase India

Asian Continental 2022 Women Bronze  - WGM Divya Deshmukh 6.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed
Divya Deshmukh wins two medals at Asian Continental 2022 Classical and Blitz Women events | Video: ChessBase India

Top 3 (L to R) - 2nd WGM Priyanka Nutakki, 1st WGM Nandhidhaa P V and 3rd WGM Divya Deshmukh | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Divya - Nandhidhaa: 0.5-0.5

WGM Nandhidhaa PV (2309) got a winning position against WGM Divya Deshmukh (2338) after the former sacrificed a piece and her opponent Divya blocked the discover check incorrectly.

Position after 19.Nbc5

Black had given up her knight on e5, the g4-knight is also hanging, still 19.Nbc5 is a mistake. 19.Nac5 would have been fine for White. In a completely winning position, Nandhidhaa repeated moves to make a draw as she had already won the gold and earned her place in the FIDE Women's World Cup 20223, the result of the last round was immaterial to her final standings.

WGM Divya Deshmukh - WGM Nandhidhaa: 0.5-0.5 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed
Indian Army Officer vs Asian Continental 2022 Women champion - A friendly game | Video: ChessBase India

Priyanka - Padmini: 1-0

IM Padmini Rout (2390) equalized easily out of the Semi-Tarrasch opening against WGM Priyanka Nutakki (2326).

Position after 20...e5

20...e5 is a very nice move as it puts White in a difficult position to make a choice on how to capture it. Computer says 21.Qxe5 causes the least harm for White. 21.Nxe5 gave Black an edge 21...Ne6 22.Qg3 Rxd4. However, soon things turned in White's favor.

Position after 35.Qh4

White is making a couple of deadly threats Qd8# and h6. 35...Bc6 was the right way to continue. Black opted for the humane 35...Qc1+ 36.Kh2 Qd2 which allowed 37.h6 Bxf3 38.Ne3! gxh6? 39.Qxh6+ Ke8 40.Qh8+ Ke7 41.Qh6 Ke8 42.Bh3 Be4 43.Qh8+ Ke7 44.Qf6+ Kf8 45.Nc4 Qd5 46.Qh8+ Ke7 47.Nd6 and Black resigned due to the checkmate threat at e8. Great finish by Priyanka as she recovered quite well from a difficult position to win the game, earn a Silver and secure her spot in the Women's World Cup 2023.

WGM Priyanka Nutakki made a stellar comeback after suffering a loss in the previous round | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Photo Gallery

4th WGM Thi Kim Phung Vo (VIE) 6.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

5th FM Liya Kurmangaliyeva (KAZ) 6/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

6th WGM Thi Mai Hung Nguyen (VIE) 6/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

7th IM Padmini Rout 6/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

8th WIM Aakanksha Hagawane 5.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

9th IM Nisha Mohota 5.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

10th WGM Vantika Agrawal 5.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

11th WGM Mary Ann Gomes 5.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

12th WIM Amina Kairbekova (KAZ) 5.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

13th IM Eesha Karavade 5.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

14th IM Davaademberel Nomin-Erdene (MGL) 5.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

15th WGM Kiran Manisha Mohanty 5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

16th WIM Rakshitta Ravi 5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

17th IM Soumya Swaminathan 5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

18th IM Tania Sachdev 5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

19th WIM Xeniya Balabayeva (KAZ) 5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

20th WIM Arpita Mukherjee 5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

A total of 91 players including 31 GMs and 39 IMs in the Open, 49 players including 7 IMs, 14 WGMs and 17 WIMs in the Women, took part from 13 countries across the world including India. The nine-round Swiss League tournament was held from 26th October to 3rd November 2022 at The Leela Ambience Convention Hotel, Delhi. It was organized by Delhi Chess Association. The time control of the tournament was 90 Minutes for 40 moves + 30 Minutes with increment of 30 second from move 1.

Replay Round 9 Women games

Round 9 Women results

Bo.No. NameFEDRtgPts.ResultPts.NameFEDRtg No.PGN
WGMDivya DeshmukhIND23386½ - ½7WGMNandhidhaa P VIND2309
WGMPriyanka NutakkiIND23261 - 06IMPadmini RoutIND2390
IMSoumya SwaminathanIND232650 - 1WGMVo Thi Kim PhungVIE2335
WIMRakshitta RaviIND221950 - 15FMKurmangaliyeva LiyaKAZ2199
WGMKiran Manisha MohantyIND203050 - 15WGMNguyen Thi Mai HungVIE2217
IMTania SachdevIND2406½ - ½5WGMVantika AgrawalIND2362
IMNomin-Erdene DavaademberelMGL24041 - 0WGMSrija SeshadriIND2187
WFMMunkhzul DavaakhuuMGL22180 - 1IMKaravade EeshaIND2336
WGMGomes Mary AnnIND23241 - 0WIMSalonika SainaIND2209
WIMCholleti SahajasriIND22460 - 1WIMAakanksha HagawaneIND2162


Final standings

Rk.SNo NameFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4 Rp
WGMNandhidhaa P VIND23097,52282444702530
WGMPriyanka NutakkiIND23266,5230643,54602448
WGMDivya DeshmukhIND23386,5225943,54802414
WGMVo Thi Kim PhungVIE23356,52250424502404
FMKurmangaliyeva LiyaKAZ2199623274347,502425
WGMNguyen Thi Mai HungVIE221762273424602352
IMPadmini RoutIND23906226744,547,502381
WIMAakanksha HagawaneIND21625,52295394202327
IMMohota NishaIND21815,52273363902313
WGMVantika AgrawalIND23625,5225740,543,502312
WGMGomes Mary AnnIND23245,5223041,54402269
WIMKairbekova AminaKAZ22315,52180343702236
IMKaravade EeshaIND23365,52177363902237
IMNomin-Erdene DavaademberelMGL24045,52134353802195
WGMKiran Manisha MohantyIND20305230041,545,502333
WIMRakshitta RaviIND221952280404302281
IMSoumya SwaminathanIND2326522644953,502293
IMTania SachdevIND24065223643,54802256
WIMBalabayeva XeniyaKAZ22305220938,54002221
WIMArpita MukherjeeIND223852092293202114



Delhi Chess Association

Tournament Regulations

Contact Us