chessbase india logo

Divya Deshmukh clinches Gold at Asian Continental Blitz Women 2022, Mary Silver and Aravindh Bronze in Open

by Shahid Ahmed - 09/11/2022

WGM Divya Deshmukh became the sole Indian to earn two medals at Asian Continental 2022. After securing Bronze in the Classical, she scored 7.5/9 to clinch the Gold in the Blitz Women event. Despite starting with a loss, she made 7.5/8 in the next eight games and finished a half point ahead of the field. WGM Mary Ann Gomes scored 7/9 to win secure the Silver medal. Former Asian Continental Women's champion, WGM Thi Kim Phung Vo (VIE) also finished with 7/9 to secure the Bronze medal according to tie-breaks. Kazakhstan no.1 GM Rinat Jumabayev scored 8/9 to win the Gold in the Open. IM Arystanbek Urazayev won the Silver 7.5/9 and GM Aravindh Chithambaram secured the Bronze 7/9. Photo: Shahid Ahmed

India claims a Gold, Silver and Bronze each

Unlike the Classical event, Indian players won all three Gold, Silver and Bronze medal each combining Open and Women's event. Kazakhstan and Vietnam claimed the remaining three. Overall, India outperformed all other remaining participating countries in terms of medal counts in both Classical and Blitz event. The total prize fund of the Blitz event was US$4200, $2400 in Open and $1800 in Women. Top three prizes in the Open were $1000, $800 and $600, and $800, $600 and $400 each among the Women.

Asian Continental 2022 Blitz Women Gold - WGM Divya Deshmukh 7.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed
WGM Divya Deshmukh is the only Indian to have won two medals - Gold in Blitz and Bronze in Classical at Asian Continental 2022 | Video: ChessBase India

Asian Continental 2022 Blitz Women Silver  - WGM Mary Ann Gomes 7/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed
It was surprisingly very good - WGM Mary Ann Gomes on winning Silver at Asian Women Blitz 2022 | Video: ChessBase India

Mary - Vantika, Round 6

Position after 30.e6

Black's position seems to be in shambles after 30.e6 as her king is more vulnerable than White's. Undoubtedly this is WGM Mary Ann Gomes' (2224) favorite game en route her Silver medal as she played well throughout the game.

Asian Continental 2022 Women Bronze  - WGM Thi Kim Phung Vo (VIE) 7/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Asian Continental 2022 Blitz Open Gold  - GM Rinat Jumabayev (KAZ) 8/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed
It was like Open Indian Championship to me - Rinat Jumabayev, Asian Blitz 2022 Gold medalist | Video: ChessBase India

Kazakhstan no.1 GM Rinat Jumabayev (2561) stopped the seemingly unstoppable fellow compatriot, IM Arystanbek Urazayev (2441) in the seventh round. He made a blazing start of 7/7.

Asian Continental 2022 Blitz Open Silver  - IM Arystanbek Urazayev (KAZ) 7/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed
I am happy to win the Silver medal in Asian Continental 2022 Blitz - IM Arystanbek Urazayev | Video: ChessBase India

Asian Continental 2022 Blitz Open Bronze  - GM Aravindh Chithambaram 7/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed
After the first loss I can rate highly, other than that Bronze is just another medal - GM Aravindh | Video: ChessBase India

Aravindh - Laxman, Round 4

Position after 21.Re8+

The reigning National Rapid and Blitz champion, GM Aravindh Chithambaram (2577) played an outstanding game to win against the Blitz King of India, GM Laxman R R (2375). The black king was eventually chased all the way to b4 while White avoided Rxg4+ threats by forcing his opponent's king. This is blitz game at its best.

4th GM Sankalp Gupta 7/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Since prizes were shared among tied players, GM Sankalp Gupta (2402) shared the third prize and earned US$ 300. He scored an outstanding victory over the eventual Silver medalist IM Arystanbek Urazayev (KAZ, 2441) in a uber exciting encounter when the former sacrificed his bishop and knight.

Sankalp - Arystanbek, Round 9

Position after 13.Bxe6

In Blitz, you have to play intuitively as there is no time to calculate long variations. Whether 13.Bxe6 works or not is a secondary question in a Blitz game. 13...c5 14.Nf5 fxe6 15.Nxg7+ Kf7 16.Nxe6 Kxe6 17.Qc4+ and White eventually not recovered the material but also won convincingly punctuating with a checkmate. Sankalp took every chance he got and it paid off. Despite this loss, Arystanbek managed to finish second, thanks to his fantastic 7/7 start.

Thematic Exchange Sacrifice in the Modern Defence - GM B Adhiban vs GM Neelotpal Das, Round 1 | Video: ChessBase India
Do you know how to win a Rook vs Queen endgame in 50 moves? WGM Vantika Agrawal vs WIM Sakshi Chitlange, Round 1 | Video: ChessBase India

More incredible game videos from this event will be added soon, stay tuned.


A total of 83 players including 26 GMs and 36 IMs in the Open, 47 players including 7 IMs, 13 WGMs and 16 WIMs in the Women, took part from 13 countries across the world including India. The nine-round Swiss League Blitz tournament was held on 3rd November 2022 at The Leela Ambience Convention Hotel, Delhi. It was organized by Delhi Chess Association. The time control of the tournament was 3 minutes + 2 seconds increment.

Replay Round 1-9 Open games

Replay Round 1-9 Women games

Final standings in Open

Rk.SNo NamesexFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4 Rp
GMJumabayev RinatKAZ25618242444,547,502765
IMUrazayev ArystanbekKAZ24417245248,550,502612
GMAravindh Chithambaram Vr.IND2577724444650,502623
GMSankalp GuptaIND240272368414402574
IMVignesh N RIND23866,5249049,554,502620
GMPraggnanandhaa RIND25996,5243746,550,502586
GMHarsha BharathakotiIND25236,524014649,502554
IMPranav VIND24306,5236140,54402511
FMNurmamedov AzatTKM22826249747,551,502612
IMPranesh MIND2342624864548,502598


Final standings in Women

Rk.SNo NamesexFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4 Rp
WGMDivya DeshmukhwIND22477,521664245,502424
WGMGomes Mary AnnwIND22247222449,552,502423
WGMVo Thi Kim PhungwVIE22617216041,54502335
IMTania SachdevwIND23066,5217141,544,502325
IMPadmini RoutwIND22906,521644750,502319
WGMVantika AgrawalwIND22626,5214144,54502296
WIMBalabayeva XeniyawKAZ213062219414402301
WIMChitlange SakshiwIND21086220843,54602311
WIMRakshitta RaviwIND2119621794345,502257
IMNomin-Erdene DavaademberelwMGL23046215137,540,502267



Delhi Chess Association

Tournament Regulations

Contact Us