chessbase india logo

Aeroflot 2019 Round 1: Ganguly's play too hot for Pragg

by Sagar Shah - 21/02/2019

The super strong Aeroflot has kicked off in Moscow! 25 Indian players are fighting it out in the A section against some of the best grandmasters in the world. We have the experience of Sasikiran, Sethuraman, Ganguly and the talent of Praggnanandhaa, Nihal Sarin, Gukesh. We also have our youngsters near the age of 20 years - Karthikeyan, Aravindh, S.L. Narayanan, Vaibhav Suri who can beat any opponent on a given day. In round one we narrowed down on two exciting games that we present before you - Surya Sekhar Ganguly getting the better of Praggnanandhaa in the late middlegame and Harika beating Gordievsky with a cute little tactic. 

The Cosmos Hotel where the Aeroflot Open 2019 is taking place | Photo:

The bright playing hall | Photo:

Wei Yi is the top seed of the tournament | Photo:

Fedoseev is the defending champion. He would be looking to win and book a spot at the Dortmund Masters once again | Photo:

Karthikeyan was playing against 2700+ opponent Kovalev. The game ended in a quick draw. It will be interesting to see if Karthikeyan can repeat his performance from the Gibraltar Masters 2019 where he finished runner-up. Lalith Babu (far end in yellow) lost to Inarkiev | Photo:

Delhi youngster Aryan Chopra began positively with a draw against Sanan Sjugirov. World Junior Champion Parham Maghsoodloo suffered a loss as he went down against Kulaots Kaido in round one | Photo:

The gritty Aditya Mittal, who has analyzed innumerable games in the past for ChessBase India, held Tigran Petrosian to a draw in round one | Photo:

After a solid Cairns Cup in USA, Harika started off with a nice win over Gordievsky

Praggnanandhaa fought hard but in the end could not hold against... | Photo:

... GM Surya Sekhar Ganguly | Photo: Amruta Mokal

There are some very interesting lines in the game, have a look at them and learn from Ganguly's play:

Overview of Indian results:

11GMSasikiran Krishnan2678IND11,02Open A
14GMSethuraman S.P.2651IND½0,554Open A
18GMGanguly Surya Shekhar2636IND11,013Open A
38GMAravindh Chithambaram Vr.2601IND11,021Open A
42GMNarayanan.S.L2593IND11,023Open A
45GMNihal Sarin2578IND11,08Open A
47GMVaibhav Suri2575IND00,077Open A
49GMNarayanan Srinath2572IND½0,542Open A
55GMKarthikeyan Murali2560IND½0,563Open A
57GMLalith Babu M R2556IND00,094Open A
63GMAryan Chopra2540IND½0,565Open A
65GMPuranik Abhimanyu2538IND½0,566Open A
67GMDebashis Das2532IND½0,567Open A
68GMPraggnanandhaa R2532IND00,081Open A
71GMVishnu Prasanna. V2524IND00,097Open A
74IMGukesh D2508IND00,083Open A
78GMGagare Shardul2495IND00,085Open A
79GMKarthik Venkataraman2494IND00,098Open A
84IMIniyan P2480IND½0,548Open A
87GMHarika Dronavalli2471IND11,026Open A
88IMPrithu Gupta2470IND00,089Open A
91CMAditya Mittal2454IND½0,572Open A
93IMSadhwani Raunak2448IND½0,573Open A
94IMArjun Kalyan2444IND½0,549Open A
95IMRaja Rithvik R2443IND00,0101Open A

Results of round 1 for Indian players

1555GMKarthikeyan MuraliIND25600½ - ½0GMKovalev VladislavBLR27035
1757GMLalith Babu M RIND255600 - 10GMInarkiev ErnestoRUS26927
11161IMSychev KlementyRUS254500 - 10GMSasikiran KrishnanIND267811
11363GMAryan ChopraIND25400½ - ½0GMSjugirov SananRUS266313
11414GMSethuraman S.P.IND26510½ - ½0GMGhaem Maghami EhsanIRI254064
11565GMPuranik AbhimanyuIND25380½ - ½0GMAnton Guijarro DavidESP264215
11767GMDebashis DasIND25320½ - ½0GMIturrizaga Bonelli EduardoVEN264017
11818GMGanguly Surya ShekharIND263601 - 00GMPraggnanandhaa RIND253268
12171GMVishnu Prasanna. VIND252400 - 10GMSarana AlexeyRUS263021
12424GMGrachev BorisRUS262601 - 00IMGukesh DIND250874
12828GMMartirosyan Haik M.ARM261601 - 00GMGagare ShardulIND249578
12979GMKarthik VenkataramanIND249400 - 10GMZhou JianchaoCHN261529
13434GMJumabayev RinatKAZ26040½ - ½0IMIniyan PIND248084
13787GMHarika DronavalliIND247101 - 00GMGordievsky DmitryRUS260337
13838GMAravindh Chithambaram Vr.IND260101 - 00IMPrithu GuptaIND247088
14142GMNarayanan.S.LIND259301 - 00IMWarmerdam MaxNED245092
14293IMSadhwani RaunakIND24480½ - ½0GMTabatabaei M.AminIRI259043
14344GMAntipov Mikhail Al.RUS25890½ - ½0IMArjun KalyanIND244494
14495IMRaja Rithvik RIND244300 - 10GMNihal SarinIND257845
14697WIMZhu JinerCHN244201 - 00GMVaibhav SuriIND257547
14899FMSuleymenov AlisherKAZ24280½ - ½0GMNarayanan SrinathIND257249
14991CMAditya MittalIND24540½ - ½0GMPetrosian Tigran L.ARM259541

Pairings for round 2:

2438GMAravindh Chithambaram Vr.IND260111GMSafarli EltajAZE268110
2511GMSasikiran KrishnanIND267811GMSvane RasmusGER259940
2639GMDonchenko AlexanderGER260011GMGanguly Surya ShekharIND263618
2719GMAlekseenko KirillRUS263411GMNarayanan.S.LIND259342
2845GMNihal SarinIND257811GMIndjic AleksandarSRB263020
21287GMHarika DronavalliIND247111GMMartirosyan Haik M.ARM261628
2209GMKorobov AntonUKR2687½½GMKarthikeyan MuraliIND256055
22113GMSjugirov SananRUS2663½½GMPuranik AbhimanyuIND253865
22266GMStupak KirillBLR2537½½GMSethuraman S.P.IND265114
22315GMAnton Guijarro DavidESP2642½½GMAryan ChopraIND254063
22684IMIniyan PIND2480½½GMKobalia MikhailRUS262722
22723GMParavyan DavidRUS2627½½GMDebashis DasIND253267
23549GMNarayanan SrinathIND2572½½IMSadhwani RaunakIND244893
23694IMArjun KalyanIND2444½½IMYakubboev NodirbekUZB256950
23774IMGukesh DIND250800GMMaghsoodloo ParhamIRI266612
23937GMGordievsky DmitryRUS260300GMGagare ShardulIND249578
24047GMVaibhav SuriIND257500GMKarthik VenkataramanIND249479
24386IMDai ChangrenCHN247300GMLalith Babu M RIND255657
24588IMPrithu GuptaIND247000IMSychev KlementyRUS254561
24668GMPraggnanandhaa RIND253200IMKevlishvili RobbyNED246389
24870IMLobanov SergeiRUS252600IMRaja Rithvik RIND244395
24933GMIdani PouyaIRI2604½½CMAditya MittalIND245491
25092IMWarmerdam MaxNED245000GMVishnu Prasanna. VIND252471


Related news:
Aeroflot 2019 Round 5: Can anyone stop Sasikiran?

@ 24/02/2019 by Sagar Shah (en)
Aeroflot 2019 R 03 + 04: Finish off your opponents like Sasikiran

@ 23/02/2019 by Sagar Shah (en)

Contact Us