chessbase india logo

AICF World Cup Qualifier R1-7: Four-way lead at 5.0/7

by Shahid Ahmed - 27/05/2021

Seven rounds of AICF World Cup Qualifier have been played and there are four players at 5.0/7. They are Surya Sekhar Ganguly, Narayanan S L, Gukesh D and Sethuraman SP. Ten more rounds to go and time control is of Rapid, 15 mins + 10 seconds which means the tournament is open for anyone to win. GM Iniyan P and IM Raja Rithvik R are at 4.5/7 each, followed by GM Deep Sengupta at 4.0/7. Among the top players, Adhiban is struggling a bit as he has scored only 3.5/7. Tomorrow also there will be four rounds. Catch the live commentary by IM Sagar Shah on ChessBase India youtube channel tomorrow from 11:15 a.m. IST. Photo: Niklesh Jain

Ganguly wins four in-a-row

Second day of World Cup Qualifiers had four rounds of games instead of the previous day's three. Surya Sekhar Ganguly won all four of them as he beat IM Raja Rithvik R, IM P Saravana Krishna, GM Deep Sengupta and GM Sethuraman S P. The winning streak came at the heels of a loss against India's youngest GM Gukesh D in Round 3.

Ganguly is poised to qualify for the upcoming FIDE World Cup 2021 | Photo: Niklesh Jain

GM Narayanan S L is close on the heels of Ganguly. He is one of the two players who is still unbeaten and at 5.0/7. The India no.10 has already faced three GMs out of seven possible he can face in the event and scored 2.0/3 which shows that he is in good form.

GM Narayanan S L is definitely a strong contender to win the event

GM Gukesh D is also undefeated and currently shares the four-way lead with 5.0/7. He has already defeated Ganguly in Round 3 and drew with GM Deep Sengupta in Round 7. That definitely shows that he is ready to give all other contenders a run for their money - in this case a spot for the FIDE World Cup 2021.

Gukesh is a favorite to win any event he plays | Photo: Niki Riga

The fourth player who is also at 5.0/7 is GM Sethuraman SP. After winning four games in-a-row, he lost to GM Surya Sekhar Ganguly in Round 7.

Sethuraman thrives in high pressure situations | Photo: Amruta Mokal

Two youngsters GM Iniyan P and IM Raja Rithvik R are at 4.5/7. They are definitely capable of causing any kind of upsets on any given day.

Watch out for India's 61st GM Iniyan P

IM Raja Rithvik R is National Sub-Junior 2019 champion and holds a GM-norm | Photo: Rupali Mullick

Multi-time Hastings Masters winner GM Deep Sengupta is currently at 4.0/7 | Photo: Amruta Mokal
AICF World Cup Qualifiers | Day 1 Live commentary | Video: ChessBase India
AICF World Cup Qualifiers | Day 2 Live commentary | Video: ChessBase India

Replay Round 1-7 games

Round 4-7 results

Round 4 on 2021/05/27 at 1000 hrs
1122408IMRithvik R Raja0 - 1GMSekhar Ganguly Surya262510
2132312IMKrishnan P Saravana0 - 1IMKrishna Crg24789
3142527GMSengupta Deep1 - 0FMSinghania Vatsal23718
4152644GMS.p Sethuraman1 - 0GMVasanthan Perumal Vishnu Prasanna24767
5162660GMBaskaran Adhiban1 - 0IMSwaminathan Soumya23516
6172305FMVinay Kumar Matta0 - 1GMS.L Narayanan26245
712463IMSrivatshav Peddi Rahul1 - 0GMP Iniyan25064
822381IMS. Nitin1 - 0IMMittal Aditya24383
9112578GMGukesh D0bye0-1
Round 5 on 2021/05/27 at 1100 hrs
142506GMP Iniyan1 - 0IMS. Nitin23812
252624GMS.L Narayanan½ - ½IMSrivatshav Peddi Rahul24631
362351IMSwaminathan Soumya1 - 0FMVinay Kumar Matta230517
472476GMVasanthan Perumal Vishnu Prasanna1 - 0GMBaskaran Adhiban266016
582371FMSinghania Vatsal0 - 1GMS.p Sethuraman264415
692478IMKrishna Crg½ - ½GMSengupta Deep252714
7102625GMSekhar Ganguly Surya1 - 0IMKrishnan P Saravana231213
8112578GMGukesh D½ - ½IMRithvik R Raja240812
932438IMMittal Aditya0bye0-1
Round 6 on 2021/05/27 at 1200 hrs
1132312IMKrishnan P Saravana0 - 1GMGukesh D257811
2142527GMSengupta Deep0 - 1GMSekhar Ganguly Surya262510
3152644GMS.p Sethuraman1 - 0IMKrishna Crg24789
4162660GMBaskaran Adhiban1 - 0FMSinghania Vatsal23718
5172305FMVinay Kumar Matta1 - 0GMVasanthan Perumal Vishnu Prasanna24767
612463IMSrivatshav Peddi Rahul0 - 1IMSwaminathan Soumya23516
722381IMS. Nitin½ - ½GMS.L Narayanan26245
832438IMMittal Aditya0 - 1GMP Iniyan25064
9122408IMRithvik R Raja0bye0-1
Round 7 on 2021/05/27 at 1300 hrs
152624GMS.L Narayanan1 - 0IMMittal Aditya24383
262351IMSwaminathan Soumya0 - 1IMS. Nitin23812
372476GMVasanthan Perumal Vishnu Prasanna0 - 1IMSrivatshav Peddi Rahul24631
482371FMSinghania Vatsal1 - 0FMVinay Kumar Matta230517
592478IMKrishna Crg½ - ½GMBaskaran Adhiban266016
6102625GMSekhar Ganguly Surya1 - 0GMS.p Sethuraman264415
7112578GMGukesh D½ - ½GMSengupta Deep252714
8122408IMRithvik R Raja1 - 0IMKrishnan P Saravana231213
942506GMP Iniyan0bye0-1


Standings after Round 7

Rk.SNoNameFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4 
110GMSekhar Ganguly SuryaIND26255,00,018,0053
25GMS.L NarayananIND26245,00,015,2531
311GMGukesh DIND25785,00,014,7543
415GMS.p SethuramanIND26445,00,011,2542
54GMP IniyanIND25064,50,013,0042
612IMRithvik R RajaIND24084,50,09,0042
714GMSengupta DeepIND25274,00,08,0031
81IMSrivatshav Peddi RahulIND24633,50,011,5031
92IMS. NitinIND23813,50,08,5031
1016GMBaskaran AdhibanIND26603,50,08,2520
113IMMittal AdityaIND24382,50,06,2521
126IMSwaminathan SoumyaIND23512,50,05,7521
1313IMKrishnan P SaravanaIND23122,50,03,2521
149IMKrishna CrgIND24782,00,06,2511
157GMVasanthan Perumal Vishnu PrasannaIND24761,00,03,5010
168FMSinghania VatsalIND23711,00,01,0010
17FMVinay Kumar MattaIND23051,00,01,0010


Contact Us