chessbase india logo

56th Biel MTO R5: Vantika Agrawal makes a strong start 4/5

by Shahid Ahmed - 22/07/2023

GM Xiangzhi Bu defeated his fellow compatriot GM Yan Liu to emerge sole leader 4.5/5 at 56th Biel Chess Festival 2023 MTO. IM Aditya S Samant played solid chess to hold GM Pranav Anand to a draw after 99 moves. IM Harikrishnan A Ra made a quick draw against GM Ngoc Truong Son Nguyen (VIE). GM Aryan Chopra bounced back by scoring a victory over IM Lukasz Licznerski (POL). IM Vantika Agrawal defeated Xiongjian Peng (CHN) to register her third win in-a-row and move to 4/5. In the GMT, Arjun Erigaisi suffered his second consecutive loss in the Classical event. This time against the defending champion, Liem Quang Le (VIE). Vincent Keymer (GER) won against Yangyi Yu (CHN) to gain sole lead 21/30. GMT Blitz Round 1 starts today from 2 p.m. local time, 5:30 p.m. IST. Today is a rest day for the MTO. Photos: Biel Chess Festival

GMT R4: Arjun Erigaisi loses two in-a-row

Arjun Erigaisi has not been able to get start at this iconic event. With FIDE World Cup 2023 looming large, he needs to regroup quickly and get himself back on track. This is the best event he could ask for before the important event.

IM Vantika Agrawal scored a hat-trick of wins to move to 4/5

MTO Round 5: Xiongjian - Vantika: 0-1

Xiongjian Peng (CHN, 2489) might be untitled. However, his rating clearly indicates his strength.

Position after 30.Qa3?

30.Qa3? does not help White to gain the c5-pawn. It actually turns things in his opponent, IM Vantika Agrawal's (2428) favor. 30...Bh3 31.Bh1 Qg4+ 32.Kf2 b6 and Black eventually went on to win the game with precise play.

IM Aditya Samant held GM Pranav Anand to a draw after battling for 99 moves

IM Harikrishnan A Ra had a quick draw against GM Ngoc Truong Son Nguyen (VIE)

GM Aryan Chopra bounced back with a victory over IM Lukasz Licznerski (POL)

IM Muthaiah Al - GM Luis Ernesto Quesada Perez (CUB): 0.5-0.5

GMT Round 4: GM Vincent Keymer (GER) won his second game in-a-row in the Classical event

GMT Round 4 in progress
Replay 56th Biel International Chess Festival 2023 GMT Classical Round 4 Live commentary by GM Arturs Neiksans (LAT) and Angelika Valkova (UKR) Part 1 | Video: Biel Chess Festival
Replay 56th Biel International Chess Festival 2023 GMT Classical Round 4 Live commentary by GM Arturs Neiksans (LAT) and Angelika Valkova (UKR) Part 2 | Video: Biel Chess Festival

GMT Scoring

Rapid: Win = 2 points, Draw = 1 point and Loss = 0

Classical: Win = 4 points, Draw = 1.5 points and Loss = 0

Replay GMT Round 4 games

Replay MTO Round 5 games

GMT Round 4 results

182728GMLe, Quang Liem1 - 0GMErigaisi, Arjun27106
272654GMMoussard, Jules½ - ½GMAmin, Bassem26945
312693GMDeac, Bogdan-Daniel½ - ½GMNavara, David26894
422690GMKeymer, Vincent1 - 0GMYu, Yangyi27353


Current GMT standings

GM Vincent Keymer (GER) has taken sole lead 21/30 | Source: Official site

Round 5 pairings

132735GMYu, YangyiGMLe, Quang Liem27288
242689GMNavara, DavidGMKeymer, Vincent26902
352694GMAmin, BassemGMDeac, Bogdan-Daniel26931
462710GMErigaisi, ArjunGMMoussard, Jules26547


MTO Round 5 results

11GMBu, Xiangzhi26761 - 04GMLiu, Yan25429PGN
211IMSamant, Aditya S2510½ - ½GMPranav, Anand251010PGN
339FMDeuer, Marius2374½ - ½3GMYuffa, Daniil26034PGN
432IMHarikrishnan, A Ra24063½ - ½3GMNguyen, Ngoc Truong Son26452PGN
53GMAryan, Chopra262631 - 03IMLicznerski, Lukasz243026PGN
65GMAlbornoz Cabrera, Carlos Daniel25913½ - ½3Huang, Renjie244522PGN
721IMMuthaiah, Al24453½ - ½3GMQuesada Perez, Luis Ernesto25538PGN
835IMAjay Krishna, S239030 - 13IMRodrigue-Lemieux, Shawn249512PGN
913Peng, Xiongjian248930 - 13WGMVantika, Agrawal242828PGN
1017IMWang, Chen247731 - 03FMJain, Kashish Manoj237537PGN


Standings after Round 5

Rk.SNoNameFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2 
11GMBu, XiangzhiCHN26764,512,552,5
23GMAryan, ChopraIND2626414,550
310GMPranav, AnandIND251041451,5
49GMLiu, YanCHN2542413,552,5
539FMDeuer, MariusGER2374413,552
612IMRodrigue-Lemieux, ShawnCAN249541351,5
711IMSamant, Aditya SIND251041252,5
817IMWang, ChenCHN2477411,552
928WGMVantika, AgrawalIND2428411,551,5
1032IMHarikrishnan, A RaIND24063,51453


Round 6 pairings

13GMAryan, Chopra26264GMBu, Xiangzhi26761
212IMRodrigue-Lemieux, Shawn249544GMLiu, Yan25429
310GMPranav, Anand251044FMDeuer, Marius237439
428WGMVantika, Agrawal242844IMSamant, Aditya S251011
55GMAlbornoz Cabrera, Carlos Daniel25914IMWang, Chen247717
62GMNguyen, Ngoc Truong Son2645IMMuthaiah, Al244521
74GMYuffa, Daniil2603IMMateria, Marco243625
88GMQuesada Perez, Luis Ernesto2553Jinan, Jomon240931
920IMChasin, Nico2455IMSamadov, Read248216
1022Huang, Renjie2445IMRathanvel, V S246319



Official site

GMT details

Contact Us