chessbase india logo

19th BCC Open 2019: Poompong holds Short to a draw

by Shahid Ahmed - 08/04/2019

FM Poompong Wiwatanadate of Thailand managed to cause the first biggest upset when he drew with the top seed of the tournament GM Nigel Short in a topsy-turvy game. Among other upsets FM Alekhine Nouri of Philippines held GM Lalith Babu M R to a draw, Savige Colin B defeated GM Swapnil Dhopade, IM Lou Yiping lost to Mick Tobor and the Tournament Organizer IO Kai Tuorila held GM Dibyendu Barua to a draw. The report contains games, positions, photos and interviews. Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Top seeds tumble in round 2

Poompong kept his cool and salvaged a draw after both escaped a loss and missed a win | Photo: Bangkok Chess Club

The game between Poompong and Short was a roller coaster ride, at one point, the legendary GM Nigel Short was completely winning which he missed then his opponent got a winnning chance which he also missed. Both missed them due to time pressure. In the end they had to settle for a threefold repetition draw.

White just played 39.Qd8. What is the best continuation for Black?

After a few moves, Poompong missed a golden opportunity

Short just played 41...Qa3 after the first time control got over. White missed an obvious chance. What did he miss?
Poompong talks about the game and more | Video: Shahid Ahmed

Find out the answer here:

GM Jan Gustafsson had faced no difficulty in defeating 12-year old WCM Vishwa Vasnawala when he sacrificed an exchange to gain initiative and eventually win the game | Photo: Bangkok Chess Club

Black just played 21...a3. Find out why it is a blunder.

12-year old FM Alekhine Nouri of Philippines held reigning National Rapid Champion GM M R Lalit Babu to a draw | Photo: Bangkok Chess Club

In Caro-Kann Advance variation, Lalith was worse out of the opening. He lost several tempi by moving his Bishop and Knight backwards, but Nouri was unable to capitalize on it.

Nouri has a development advantage and Black's King is still lying at the center of the board. How should he use it to his advantage?

Despite getting an advantageous position out of the opening in Caro-Kann Two Knight's variation, Swapnil failed to capitalize and got into time trouble

IM Lou Yiping of China lost to Mick Tobor of Germany after the former blundered a pawn in an exposed center.

White's King is still in the center. What should you do?

Tournament's Main Organizer IO Kai Tuorilla drew with GM Dibyendu Barua | Photo: Bangkok Chess Club

Even with his busy schedule, he doesn't miss the opportunity to congratulate his compatriot for his performance | Photo: Shahid Ahmed
Tournament Organizer Kai Tuorila talks about the game, managing the tournament and playing it in each edition since he started organizing it and more | Video: Shahid Ahmed

Round 2 results

156FMWiwatanadate Poompong20251½ - ½1GMShort Nigel D26361
22GMGustafsson Jan263311 - 01WCMVishwa Vasnawala201857
358FMNouri Alekhine20011½ - ½1GMLalith Babu M R25773
44GMSengupta Deep255111 - 01Bhattacharya Niladri Shekhar199859
561CMGoh Zi Han199210 - 11GMZhao Zong-Yuan25295
66GMStella Andrea251211 - 01Mohd Saprin Amir Ghaazi197165
762Sarbojit Paul198410 - 11GMKarthik Venkataraman25057
88GMLy Moulthun249011 - 01Sibi Visal R195567
968Savige Colin B195211 - 01GMSwapnil S. Dhopade24889
1070Tantipura Noppakorn194510 - 11GMKunte Abhijit248511
1112IMLou Yiping248210 - 11Tobor Mick194969
1272Nguyen Le Minh Phu193410 - 11GMHorvath Jozsef247913
1374Tuorila Kai19271½ - ½1GMBarua Dibyendu240915
1476WIMChandreyee Hajra191610 - 11GMSchebler Gerhard238517
1518GMSriram Jha238111 - 01Runarsson Gunnar192773
1678Nandan Buragohain191310 - 11IMRoy Prantik237419
1720IMVijayalakshmi Subbaraman234511 - 01CMNorris Damian C191775
1880Nguyen Truong Bao Tran190810 - 11GMBellon Lopez Juan Manuel234321
1922FMMenkinoski Riste230611 - 01Yutithamnon Surapole191477
2082WCMSim Jia Ru189010 - 11Neelash Saha230323
2124IMDuong The Anh230211 - 01Laurain Dominique190879
2284Sanket Chakravarty188710 - 11FMSusilodinata Andrean229625
2326WIMLuong Phuong Hanh227311 - 01Brunner Karl190081
2486Silva Winston Joseph R188011 - 01Salvador Louie227027
2528Larichev Dmitry226710 - 11FMIsmail Ahmad188783
2688Meenal Gupta187810 - 11IMDeshmukh Anup225329
2730FMSauravh Khherdekar224711 - 01CMNisban Cyrus187887
2892Sandhiratne Akkarawut18651½ - ½1WFMCholleti Sahajasri223231
2932IMDamia Angelo221511 - 01Kollmann Robert187489
3034WIMArpita Mukherjee21971½ - ½1Wong Zhenyong Jayden186991

Complete round 2 results

Round 3 pairings

129IMDeshmukh Anup225322GMGustafsson Jan26332
235WIMVarshini V218222GMSengupta Deep25514
35GMZhao Zong-Yuan252922FMSauravh Khherdekar224730
437FMHabla Jony214622GMStella Andrea25126
57GMKarthik Venkataraman250522IMDamia Angelo221532
639FMTeerapabpaisit Wisuwat214222GMLy Moulthun24908
711GMKunte Abhijit248522FMThompson Ian D214936
813GMHorvath Jozsef247922Looi Xin Hao214538
917GMSchebler Gerhard238522FMReilly Tim214040
1043Sonkalan Bharati209222GMSriram Jha238118
1119IMRoy Prantik237422Saptorshi Gupta205148
1255Eng Jia Qian203322IMVijayalakshmi Subbaraman234520
1321GMBellon Lopez Juan Manuel234322Armstrong Malcolm J203554
1469Tobor Mick194922FMMenkinoski Riste230622
1523Neelash Saha230322Savige Colin B195268
1683FMIsmail Ahmad188722IMDuong The Anh230224
1725FMSusilodinata Andrean229622Silva Winston Joseph R188086
18142Alriyami Faris Rashid162322WIMLuong Phuong Hanh227326
191GMShort Nigel D2636FMNouri Alekhine200158
203GMLalith Babu M R2577FMWiwatanadate Poompong202556
2163Mueller Jens1981GMVasquez Schroeder Rodrigo248710
2215GMBarua Dibyendu2409Sajjapornthep Jarunpol188585
2391Wong Zhenyong Jayden1869GMVillamayor Buenaventura239816
2431WFMCholleti Sahajasri2232Tuorila Kai192774
2533Langreck John2203Frederiksen Erik187390
26160Wettasinha Vasanta1556WIMArpita Mukherjee219734
2745CMLaine Panu2076Sandhiratne Akkarawut186592
2851Mikalsen Harald2041Laohawirapap Prin184498
2999Adarsh Tripathi1840Arunnuntapanich Tinnakrit203952
3053WIMDhar-Barua Saheli2038Leonardo Franklin1596149

Computer round 3 pairings