chessbase india logo

Ashwin, Muzzaffar and Kavin cause upsets in round 1 of 19th BCC Open 2019

by Shahid Ahmed - 07/04/2019

19th BCC Open 2019 was pawned off with 201 players from 34 countries including 17 GMs, 7 IMs, 5 WIM, 10 FM and 3 CMs. Top nine seeds had a smooth sailing but tenth seed Vasquez Schroeder Rodrigo of Chile got held to a draw by 13-year old Ashwin Hariharan of Singapore. Veteran Muzzaffar Ahmad of Malaysia defeated IM Haridas Pascua of Philippines and local talent Nattavutthisit Kavin of Thailand drew with GM Villamayor Buenaventura of Singapore among the upsets. The report contains photos, games and an interview from round 1. Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Few upsets in an otherwise smooth day for top seeds

14-year old Avinash got a good opportunity to play against the former World Championship GM Nigel Short | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Short punished Avinash for his passive play with a beautiful combination to win the game.

Avinash played 28...Kf7. White has a beautiful combination here. Find out how

GM Jan Gustafsson plays only one over-the-board regularly since 2011, that is this tournament Bangkok Chess Club Open | Photo: Shahid Ahmed
Second seed of the tournament GM Jan Gustafsson talks about chess24 and Play Magnus merger and much more | Video: Shahid Ahmed

Reignin National Rapid Champion GM M R Lalith Babu leads the Indian charge as the third seed of the tournament and he scored a comfortable win in the opening round against Nadeem Aziz of Pakistan | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

GM Deep Sengupta was instrumental in PSPB winning National Team championship early this year. He made a short work of his opponent Nodon Jeremi of Japan | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Former BCC Open winner in 2013, GM Zhao Zong-Yuan of Australia picked up a comfortable win in round 1 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Local talent Wongsawan Thoetsak of Thailand had put a strong resistance but eventually GM Andrea Stella of Italy overcame all to score a full point | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

India's 55th GM Karthik Venkataraman defeated Calacday Henry of Philippines with ease | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

In a battle between two Australians, IM Ly Moulthun came out at the top against Peter Frost | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

GM Swapnil Dhopade had no difficulty defeating his compatriot Rindhiya V | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

13-year old untitled Ashwin Hariharan of Singapore held GM Vasquez Schroeder Rodrigo of Chile to a draw in an equal Queen-Rook ending.

GM Vasquez Schroeder Rodrigo of Chile was not looking forward to a draw | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

GM Abhijit Kunte picked up the fastest win among top seeds in just 18 moves when his opponent blundered a piece | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Photo Gallery:

One of the first chess couple of India: GM Dibyendu Barua and WIM Saheli Dhar | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

The strongest chess couple of India: GM Sriram Jha and IM Subbaraman Vijayalakshmi | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Tournament Director IO Kai Tuorila picked up a quick win | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

One of the oldest players of the tournament and also of Sri Lanka, Vasanta Wettasinha scored a fine win local kid Hansing Saphong of Thailand | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Round 1 results

11GMShort Nigel D263601 - 00Avinash Ramesh1834101
2102Manthan Kashyap Datta183200 - 10GMGustafsson Jan26332
33GMLalith Babu M R257701 - 00Nadeem Aziz1828103
4104Nodon Jeremi182700 - 10GMSengupta Deep25514
55GMZhao Zong-Yuan252901 - 00Pheephacharakan Pinatpong1827105
6106Wongsawan Thoetsak182700 - 10GMStella Andrea25126
77GMKarthik Venkataraman250501 - 00Calacday Henry1820107
8108Frost Peter181000 - 10GMLy Moulthun24908
99GMSwapnil S. Dhopade248801 - 00Rindhiya V1803109
10110Ashwin Hariharan18010½ - ½0GMVasquez Schroeder Rodrigo248710
1111GMKunte Abhijit248501 - 00Morris Byron1799111
12112Razali Muhd Syukur179200 - 10IMLou Yiping248212
1313GMHorvath Jozsef247901 - 00CMTanmay Jain1789113
14114Muzzaffar Ahmad178101 - 00IMPascua Haridas242614
1515GMBarua Dibyendu240901 - 00Hng Mei-Xian Eunice1780115
16116Nattavutthisit Kavin17760½ - ½0GMVillamayor Buenaventura239816
1717GMSchebler Gerhard238501 - 00Stones Rebecca1775117
18118Saksaringkarn Nattawut176400 - 10GMSriram Jha238118
1919IMRoy Prantik237401 - 00Clark Domenic1751119
20120Garv Rai173800 - 10IMVijayalakshmi Subbaraman234520
2121GMBellon Lopez Juan Manuel234301 - 00Soumik Datta1730121
22122Haraldsson Oskar172500 - 10FMMenkinoski Riste230622
2323Neelash Saha230301 - 00Yeoh Yuan Hui1722123
24124WCMGoh Jie Yi171500 - 10IMDuong The Anh230224
2525FMSusilodinata Andrean229601 - 00Batchis Paul1709125
26126Asavasaetakul Chawit170800 - 10WIMLuong Phuong Hanh227326
2727Salvador Louie227001 - 00Abe Yuta1706127
28128Andersson Kent170500 - 10Larichev Dmitry226728
2929IMDeshmukh Anup225301 - 00Ang Jing Xuan1703129
30130Burbach Brunel Baron170000 - 10FMSauravh Khherdekar224730

Complete round 1 results

Round 2 Pairings

156FMWiwatanadate Poompong202511GMShort Nigel D26361
22GMGustafsson Jan263311WCMVishwa Vasnawala201857
358FMNouri Alekhine200111GMLalith Babu M R25773
44GMSengupta Deep255111Bhattacharya Niladri Shekhar199859
561CMGoh Zi Han199211GMZhao Zong-Yuan25295
66GMStella Andrea251211Mohd Saprin Amir Ghaazi197165
762Sarbojit Paul198411GMKarthik Venkataraman25057
88GMLy Moulthun249011Sibi Visal R195567
968Savige Colin B195211GMSwapnil S. Dhopade24889
1070Tantipura Noppakorn194511GMKunte Abhijit248511
1112IMLou Yiping248211Tobor Mick194969
1272Nguyen Le Minh Phu193411GMHorvath Jozsef247913
1374Tuorila Kai192711GMBarua Dibyendu240915
1476WIMChandreyee Hajra191611GMSchebler Gerhard238517
1518GMSriram Jha238111Runarsson Gunnar192773
1678Nandan Buragohain191311IMRoy Prantik237419
1720IMVijayalakshmi Subbaraman234511CMNorris Damian C191775
1880Nguyen Truong Bao Tran190811GMBellon Lopez Juan Manuel234321
1922FMMenkinoski Riste230611Yutithamnon Surapole191477
2082WCMSim Jia Ru189011Neelash Saha230323
2124IMDuong The Anh230211Laurain Dominique190879
2284Sanket Chakravarty188711FMSusilodinata Andrean229625
2326WIMLuong Phuong Hanh227311Brunner Karl190081
2486Silva Winston Joseph R188011Salvador Louie227027
2528Larichev Dmitry226711FMIsmail Ahmad188783
2688Meenal Gupta187811IMDeshmukh Anup225329
2730FMSauravh Khherdekar224711CMNisban Cyrus187887
2892Sandhiratne Akkarawut186511WFMCholleti Sahajasri223231
2932IMDamia Angelo221511Kollmann Robert187489
3034WIMArpita Mukherjee219711Wong Zhenyong Jayden186991

Complete round 2 pairings