chessbase india logo

Suvrajit Saha wins 3rd CCPA Open 2018

by Shahid Ahmed - 22/01/2019

IM Suvrajit Saha of Indian Railways won 3rd CCPA Open FIDE Rated 2018 at Duliajan, Assam. Suvrajit remained unbeaten and finished with a score of 8.0/10, tied for the first position with IM Ramnathan Balasubramaniam. However due to a better tie-break score, Suvrajit edged ahead and became the champion. This is his second championship run in 2018, as he won Kandy Open few months ago. IM Somak Palit scored 7.5/10 and secured third runner-up position out of a pack of six players finishing with the same score. This report contains an annotated game by the champion himself. Photo: Suvrajit Saha

Suvrajit Saha's unbeaten run

IM Suvrajit Saha became champion by scoring 8.0/10, he won a trophy and ₹40000 cash | Photo: Suvrajit Saha

Suvrajit's another unbeaten championship run

Suvrajit shared an annotated game of his from round 2 against Dhruv Phukan. Here is a key moment in the game:

White just played 18.N3d2. Find out the best continuation for Black here.

IM Ramnathan Balasubramaniam also scored 8.0/10 and he was placed 2nd. IM Somak Palit scored 7.5/10 and secured 3rd position. They both won a trophy and ₹25000 and ₹20000 cash respectively | Photo: Suvrajit Saha

The tournament was organized by Chess Players' Parents' Association in Duliajan, Assam from 15th to 20th December 2018. Total 130 players participated including 3 IMs from various states across the country.


Final Standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexGrFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 nwwew-weKrtg+/-
12IMSuvrajit SahaIND22248,00,564,568,01088,31-0,3110-3,1
23IMRamnathan BalasubramaniamS45-IND21828,00,563,568,51087,810,19101,9
31IMPalit SomakIND23437,50,060,565,5107,58,80-1,3010-13,0
412Mughaho AwomiIND17067,50,060,065,0107,55,911,592031,8
56Utpal BaruahS45-IND20437,50,059,064,096,56,53-0,0320-0,6
64Singh Y. DhanabirIND21077,50,057,562,0107,57,85-0,3520-7,0
711Rintu BrahmaIND17317,50,056,561,0107,57,89-0,3920-7,8
85Manoj BaruaS45-IND21017,50,056,061,0107,58,56-1,0620-21,2
98Rakesh ChakravortyIND18607,00,063,568,01076,130,872017,4
1030Abhash Roimya SaikiaU11IND13817,00,061,566,0962,513,4940139,6
1114Cheniram PeguIND16897,00,057,562,01077,29-0,2920-5,8
127Projit PhukonIND19077,00,053,558,0967,68-1,6820-33,6
1329Mukul BorahU13IND13897,00,051,555,5965,460,544021,6
149Singh ChingkheiIND17856,50,058,062,5106,56,050,45209,0
1538Pran Govinda Parashar KashyapU11IND13206,50,057,061,095,52,443,0640122,4
1617Sathyanarayanan S.IND15866,50,054,558,5106,57,23-0,7320-14,6
1720Jitabrata NathU13IND14456,50,054,558,095,56,01-0,5140-20,4
1847Winee ThengalU13wIND12686,50,053,055,084,51,852,6540106,0
1942Pratyush Kiran BorgohainU13IND12966,50,052,056,085,53,392,114084,4
20121Rituraj TamuliIND06,50,051,555,584,5
2153Jutiaditya KakotiU13IND12446,50,051,554,584,51,522,9840119,2
2228Aarohan SaikiaU13IND13976,50,048,552,585,56,05-0,5540-22,0
2327Dhrubajyoti BorpatraIND14136,50,048,550,585,56,12-0,6240-24,8
2444Sneha HalderU09wIND12826,50,048,052,552,51,101,404056,0
2557Vivek RajkumarU11IND12116,00,057,562,0951,583,4240136,8

Contact Us