chessbase india logo

Subhayan Kundu dominates Hetauda Cup Asian Open 2023, Arvinder Preet third

by Shahid Ahmed - 05/12/2023

Subhayan Kundu scored an unbeaten 7.5/9 to win Hetauda Cup Asian Open 2023. He finished a half point ahead of the field. IM Mohammad Minhaz Uddin (BAN) and FM Arvinder Preet Singh scored 7/9 each. They were placed second and third respectively as Minhaz got the better of Arvinder in the fourth round. It helped his tie-break score. Marium Fatima became the sole female player to make a top ten finish. She scored 6.5/9 to be placed tenth. The total prize fund of the tournament was Nepalese Rupees 587500. The top three prizes were NRs 125000, 75000 and 40000 along with a trophy each respectively. This was Subhayan's fifth tournament triumph of the year. Photos: CM FI FA Bhupendra Niraula/ChessBase Nepal

Subhayan's fifth tournament triumph of the year

Subhayan Kundu, FM Arvinder Preet Singh and FM Md. Sharif Hossain (BAN) were in a three-way lead 6.5/8 heading into the final round. Subhayan defeated Sharif and Arvinder drew against IM Abu Sufian Shakil (BAN). IM Mohammad Minhaz Uddin (BAN) won against FM Nayem Haque (BAN). Thus, Subhayan became a clear champion, Minhaz second and Arvinder third.

Champion - Subhayan Kundu 7.5/9

Runner-up - IM Mohammad Minhaz Uddin (BAN) 7/9

Second Runner-up - FM Arvinder Preet Singh 7/9

Top 3 (L to R): 2nd IM Mohammad Minhaz Uddin (BAN) 7/9, 1st Subhayan Kundu 7.5/9 and 3rd FM Arvinder Preet Singh 7/9

Subhayan Kundu in action

Subhayan Kundu scored an unbeaten 7.5/9 to win the tournament

4th FM Md. Sharif Hossain (BAN) 6.5/9

5th Amardeep S Bartakke 6.5/9

6th IM Abu Sufian Shakil (BAN) 6.5/9

6th FM Sheikh Nasir Ahmed (BAN) 6.5/9

8th Rahul Gurung 6.5/9

10th Marium Fatima 6.5/9

Inauguration Ceremony

Inaugural first move is being made

Players in action

The tournament hall at Hotel Samana in Hetauda, Nepal

A total of 70 players including two IMs and a WIM took part from Bangladesh, India, Nepal and Sri Lanka in this five-day nine round Rating Open tournament. It was organized by Hetauda Chess Club, Makawanpur District Chess Association and NECOS at Hotel Samana, Hetauda in Nepal from 29th November to 3rd December 2023. The time control of the event was 90 minutes  + 30 seconds increment per move.

Replay all available games

Final standings

Rk.SNoNamesexFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
11Subhayan, KunduIND23937,5048,543,5
22IMMohammad, Minhaz UddinBAN2217715145,5
39FMSingh, Arvinder PreetIND20407045,542
46FMMd., Sharif HossainBAN21436,504742
512Bartakke, Amardeep S.IND19636,5046,542
63IMAbu Sufian, ShakilBAN22086,5046,542
4FMAhmed, Sheikh NasirBAN21936,5046,542
810Gurung, RahulIND20306,5046,541,5
911AFMChoubey, SaurabhIND19766,504642
1022Marium, FatimawIND17406,5044,540