chessbase india logo

Srinath Narayanan dominates ChessBase India Club 2nd Anniversary Tournament 2024

by Shahid Ahmed - 27/03/2024

GM Srinath Narayanan scored 8.5/9 to win ChessBase India Chess Club 2nd Anniversary Tournament 2024. He finished a full point ahead of the competition. Five players - Aakash Sharadchandra Dalvi, IM Vikramaditya Kulkarni, FM Nikhil Dixit, Amardeep Bartakke and IM Vedant Panesar scored 7.5/9 each. They were placed second to sixth according to tie-breaks. The total prize fund of the tournament was ₹200000. The top three prizes were ₹50000, ₹25000 and ₹15000 along with a trophy each. The tournament was organized to celebrate the journey of the chess club. It started on 19th March 2022. Every Saturday evening, anyone can come and play chess at Phoenixcity Mall, Kurla in Mumbai, Maharashtra. Photos: Abhyudaya Ram

ChessBase India Chess Club completes two years

GM Srinath Narayanan won eight games in-a-row and had a full point lead heading into the final round. IM Vikramaditya Kulkarni, Amardeep S Bartakke and FM Nikhil Dixit were trailing at 7/8 each. Srinath drew against Amardeep to become a clear champion. Aakash Sharadchandra Dalvi defeated IM Nubairshah Shaikh to finish second. Vikramaditya drew against Nikhil to secure third place. Phoenix Marketcity was the sponsor of the entire event.

Champion - GM Srinath Narayanan 8.5/9 flanked by Gaurav Mistry, Associate Manager in Marketing, The Phoenix Mills Ltd. and IM Sagar Shah, Cofounder and CEO of ChessBase India
Interview with GM Srinath Narayanan | Video: ChessBase India

Runner-up - Aakash Sharadchandra Dalvi 7.5/9

Second Runner-up - IM Vikramaditya Kulkarni 7.5/9
A beautiful queen sacrifice | IM Nubairshah Shaikh vs GM Srinath Narayanan, Round 6, Commentary by IM Sagar Shah | Video: ChessBase India
The reason why Srinath Narayanan is such a strong player | GM Srinath vs IM Vikramaditya Kulkarni, Round 7, Commentary by IM Sagar Shah | Video: ChessBase India
Grandmaster vs Strong IM - Srinath Narayanan vs Sammed Shete, Round 8, Commentary by IM Sagar Shah | Video: ChessBase India

Anish Giri in his own way congratulated GM Srinath Narayanan for winning the tournament

5th Amardeep Bartakke 7.5/9

6th IM Vedant Panesar 7.5/9

7th Mihir Shah 7/9

9th IM Krishnater Kushager 7/9

Tournament Director - Dr. Vidhi Karelia

Dr. Vidhi Karelia, Tournament Director shared, "Srinath was late for his fourth round. Right after lunch this round was if I am not wrong. The arbiter announced the round and he wasn't there. I called him and he said he was lost in the mall and couldn't find where the tournament space was since he was new there and his time had already started too. He had to ask people around and reach. He was some 2 minutes late to that round against Jeet Shah."

Players in action

A bird's eye view of the playing arena at Phoenix Mall in Mumbai, Maharashtra

Trophies and medals for the prize winners

The ChessBase India team headed by IM Sagar Shah

For more photos, please click here.

All participants of the tournament received discount coupon worth ₹400
The chess club inside this mall is creating a beautiful hub for players for over 2 years now! | Video: ChessBase India

A total of 175 players including a GM and 5 IMs took part from all over the country in this one-day nine round Rapid Open tournament. It was organized by and at Phoenix Marketcity in Mumbai, Maharashtra on 24th March 2024. The time control of the event was 15 minutes + 2 seconds increment per move.

Final standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
11GMNarayanan, SrinathIND24588,548,55652,25
26Aakash, Sharadchandra DalviIND21697,55259,548,50
37IMKulkarni, VikramadityaIND21667,54957,545,25
48FMDixit, NikhilIND21337,54754,544,00
516Bartakke, Amardeep S.IND18887,545,55443,25
65FMPanesar, VedantIND22477,545,55342,75
719Shah, MihirIND1865749,55742,00
84IMSammed Jaykumar, SheteIND226274755,541,00
92IMKrishnater, KushagerIND22987465339,75
1024Guru, PrakashU16IND179574451,537,00
1138Dharia, VishalIND16777445139,75
1214Patil, HarshalIND18937435036,50
1335Bhat, Sannidhi RamakrishnaF16wIND168874148,535,00
143IMMohammad, Nubairshah ShaikhIND22696,55058,539,25
1521Ram, Vishal ParabU14IND18366,54855,537,75
1617FMNagarkatte, VedantIND18846,54754,536,00
1710Dere, PushkarIND19866,545,552,536,50
1820Majumder, ShrayanIND18446,54552,534,25
1912FMJaiveer, MahendruU16IND1897648,55733,50
2022Rachit, H GurnaniIND1816647,55533,00


Contact Us