chessbase india logo

IM Raahil Mullick wins the 1st ChessBase India Club Tournament

by Himank Ghosh - 26/10/2022

The 1st ChessBase India Club tournament took place on 23rd October, 2022 at the Phoenix Marketcity Mall, Mumbai. A total of 39 players took part in the event, the eligibility condition was the players had to attend the club all 3 Saturdays of the month. There was no entry fee for the tournament, the only fee was the weekly attendance of players in the Club. IM Raahil Mullick was the top seed of the event, rated 2288. The top 3 players were given cash prizes as well as trophies, and the 1st prize was Rs. 5000.

1st ChessBase India Club tournament

The 1st ChessBase India Chess Club 4th Saturday tournament vlog | Phoenix Marketcity

The 1st ChessBase India Club tournament was a 7-round Swiss event with a time control of 5 minutes+ 2 second. The event started from 23rd October, Saturday at 5 PM IST at the Phoenix Marketcity Mall in Mumbai. There was no entry fee for the tournament, and the total prize fund was Rs.10,000. The chief Arbiter of the tournament was Mayur More. Here's a short note about the event from the tournament director, Supriya Bhat:

The 1st ChessBase India Club tournament was a big success. This is for those people who have been coming to the chess club for many months. For them, this is like a serious tournament where they can play professionally. There were clocks on each board, arbiters, pairings based on the Swiss system - everything was taken care of. The players really enjoyed and had a good time, and they played some great games.

1st place goes to IM Raahil Mullick

Raahil Mulick is a very strong junior player who became an International master at the age of just 12 years and 5 months! In the 1st ChessBase India Club tournament, he scored a very nice 6/7, getting 5 wins and 2 draws to clinch the 1st prize.

IM Sagar Shah hands Raahil Mullick the 1st prize trophy and a cash prize of Rs. 5000.

Ketan Patil (1654) also scored 6/7. He was 1 of the 2 players who drew with the top seed. Due to tiebreaks, he was placed 2nd in the final standings.

Ketan Patil took home the runners-up trophy, winning a cash prize of Rs. 3000.

Nitin Badoni (1517) was the 2nd runner-up of the event - he scored 5.5/7 with 5 wins, 1 draw and 1 loss.

Nitin took home a beautiful trophy and a cash prize of Rs.2000.

The biggest upset of the tournament was the unrated Ashok Upadhyay drawing his game against IM Raahil Mullick! In the final position, he was completely winning but decided to repeat moves in time pressure and draw the game.

Ashok Upadhyay vs IM Raahil Mullick, Round 7

Photo Gallery

The participants in the prize distribution ceremony - these are regular members of the ChessBase India Club!

The women behind this successful event - Supriya Bhat, the Business development manager of ChessBase India

Even though there was some outside noise, the players were completely focused during their games!

The players rush to see the pairings before the next round begins

The tournament featured players of all age categories - from middle-aged people to little kids!

The next ChessBase India Club tournament will happen on the 4th Saturday of November 2022. Make sure to visit the club on all the Saturdays of November to play the tournament, where the only entry fee is your attendance! 

Final Standings

Rk.SNoNamesexFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
11IMMulick RahilIND22886283125,7505
23Patil KetanIND1654626,52923,2505
34Badoni NitinIND15175,526,529,522,0005
45Panigrahi AjayIND1481527,530,519,0005
516Dubey SunnyIND0525,52817,5005
627Prabhu ArjunIND05212315,5005
719Gupta KunalIND0519,520,511,5005
82Bhat SanjayIND16594,52831,517,7504
936Upadhyay AshokIND04,526,528,516,0004
1033Shetty DeepIND04,52427,517,2504
1126Mokal ShouryaIND04,52427,516,7504
129Gandhi SamarthIND12134272912,5004
1310Diraviyam DevarajIND1153424,525,59,5004
1411Bhandarkar GurudasIND1100422,52513,0004
1520Gurkirat Singh AnandIND0422,524,512,0004
1615Chheda RivanIND0420,52312,5003
178Nemlekar SureshIND1222419,521,510,0004
1814Beradia AjayIND0417187,0004
196Govind JagannathanIND13663,52629,514,2503
207Shanbhag SuruchawIND13243,52325,510,7503



Contact Us