chessbase india logo

Sabarish triumphs at Rotary 100 years Celebration open

by Shahid Ahmed - 04/10/2019

R K Sabarish of Tiruchirappali scored 6.5/7 and finished a half point ahead of pack of ten players to win Rotary International 100 years Celebration Rating tournament. Tiruvarur District Chess Association organized this tournament with an entry fee of only ₹250. The tournament witnessed a total participation of 279 players from various districts across the state of Tamil Nadu. Top seed T Shyam Sundar who is also an International Arbiter himself, scored 6.5/7 to secure the second runner-up position. The organizers provided free lunch to all players and parents. To encourage under-8 and under-10 players, all of them were given a prize each. We bring you a pictorial report of this tournament. Photo: IA Palaniappan Kasi

Third seeded R K Sabarish is the unbeaten champion

Rotary International 100 years Celebration Rating tournament witnessed 279 players from various districts across the state of Tamil Nadu. Third seeded R K Sabarish of Tiruchirappalli scored an unbeaten 6.5/7 to finish a half point ahead of the pack of ten players to clinch the championship.

Champion R K Sabarish of Tiruchirappalli receives a shining new trophy | Photo: Palaniappan Kasi

Unbeaten run by Sabarish

Since the total number of participants was over 275, as many as ten players finished at 6.0/7. Out of them Manikanda Prabhu secured the runner-up place due to a better tie-break score.

Runner-up Manikanda Prabhu 6.0/7 | Photo: Palaniappan Kasi

Top seed IA T Shyam Sundar also scored 6.0/7 and secured second runner-up position | Photo: Palaniappan Kasi

Top 5 Prize winners | Photo: Palaniappan Kasi

In the Prize Distribution function on 27th September 2019, Mr. P Ramesh, President Rotary Club of Mannrgudi Midtown presided over the function; Rotary Club of Mannargudi Secretary Mr. V. Sankar welcomed the gathering,  Mr. M Senthilkumar Assistant Governor gave the prizes to the prize Winners in the presence of Mr. D Jayakumar, Zonal Secretary and coordinator, Presidents of Rotary Clubs Mr. G Karthikeyan, Mr. S Rajmohan, Mr. D Palanivel and Mr. N Santha Kumar, President Tiruvarur District Chess Association, Mr. P Palaniappan IA, Chief Arbiter of this event and all the Tiruvarur District and Mannargudi Taluk Members. Mr. RK Balaguna Sekharan, Secretary, Tiruvarur District Chess Association and Jt. Secretary, TNSCA gave the vote of thanks.

Inaugural move is being made | Photo: Palaniappan Kasi

Rtn. Major Donar Er N Manimaran, District Governor of RI District 2981 inaugurated the tournament by making the first move with Jayadev R Balan and Kamali, SGFI Gold Medallist players of Tiruvarur District; in the presence of President, Secretary & members of Rotary Club of Mannargudi, Rotary club of Maddukur, Rotary club of Mannai Green city, Rotary club of Adirampattinam, Rotary club of Mannargudi Mid-Town,  Tiruvarur District Chess Association and Mannargudi Taluk Chess Association.

Rotarian Manimaran delivers his inaugural speech | Photo: Palaniappan Kasi

The playing arena | Photo: Palaniappan Kasi

One of the specialty of the tournament was entry fee was only ₹250. The organizers provided lunch to all players and parents for all days. They also gave prizes to all under-8 and under-10 participants to encourage them.

Final Standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
13Sabarish R K1529TRY6,50,033,530,530,006
25Manikanda Prabhu B VU151522TNV6,00,035,531,529,755
31Shyam Sundar T.1683TNJ6,00,035,032,529,755
415Dhinesh KannanU151336PDU6,00,033,530,527,755
52Srithar T1583PDU6,00,033,530,027,006
620Kaviyarasan T1258THE6,00,032,028,526,255
734Nishanth PrabhakaranU151146PDU6,00,032,028,526,006
821Karthick Bala GU151241CUD6,00,031,029,025,006
98Annapurni Sw1453TNJ6,00,030,528,525,255
1033Priyanjana VF12w1154ARY6,00,029,526,524,006
1117Mridubashini S SF12w1281TRY6,00,029,027,024,006
1212Raghavendra VenkatasubramaniU151366TRY5,50,037,033,027,505
1314Srihari SatheeswaranU121348TRY5,50,033,030,023,505
149Arjun Kumar SU151427TVRR5,50,033,030,022,505
1513Kamali Bw1349TVRR5,50,031,528,523,754
1610Irulappan G1426TVRR5,50,031,528,021,255
1725Sivasri SF15w1182MDU5,50,031,028,022,005
1848Ussain R1099PDU5,50,030,527,519,755
19259Swetha JF15w0TRY5,50,029,028,021,255
2022Harsha YF12w1223TRY5,50,028,527,520,255

Complete standings

Related news:
Tamil Nadu State Government felicitates players with 1 crore 98 lacs cash award

@ 09/10/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
15 वर्षीय प्रणव बने तामिलनाडु राज्य शतरंज विजेता

@ 07/04/2021 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Pranav V wins 68th Tamil Nadu State Open 2021 with a 100% score 9.0/9

@ 07/04/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
68th Tamil Nadu State Open: Pranav V takes sole lead 6.0/6

@ 31/03/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sivakasi Chess Club and Covid-19

@ 19/02/2021 by R Anantharam (en)
Adhiban, Sethuraman, Gukesh, Laxman and Nandhidhaa receive Outstanding Sportsperson award by Tamil Nadu government

@ 11/02/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aravindh wins Karaikudi Grand Prix Rapid Rating Open

@ 06/02/2020 by R Anantharam (en)
Laxman wins 2nd Open Rapid Rating at Trichy

@ 11/01/2020 by R Anantharam (en)
IM Harikrishnan wins Ramco 2nd FIDE Rated Open 2019

@ 16/12/2019 by R Anantharam (en)
Vaishali wins Sivakasi Grand Prix Open Rapid

@ 28/11/2019 by R Anantharam (en)
IM Arjun Kalyan and Pranav Venkatesh win Velammal Rapid and Blitz

@ 12/11/2019 by R Anantharam (en)
Manigandan wins 15th KCM Open

@ 08/10/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
IM Khusenkhojaev wins Courtalam Saaral FIDE Rated Open

@ 18/09/2019 by R Anantharam (en)
Raahul V S triumphs at Talent Chess Academy 1st Open Rating

@ 02/09/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Courtalam Saaral International Rating Open Preview

@ 25/08/2019 by R Anantharam (en)
Karthikeyan Murali wins 1st A S Subbaraman Memorial Trophy Blitz Rating 2019

@ 23/08/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
R Balasubramaniam wins Thalavaipuram All India Open

@ 22/08/2019 by R Anantharam (en)
Chess Bonanza in Tamil Nadu

@ 16/05/2019 by R Anantharam (en)