chessbase india logo

Ritviz Parab triumphs at 2nd Unity Club Rapid Rating Open 2024

by Shahid Ahmed - 23/05/2024

IM Ritviz Parab and IM Ethan Vaz scored an unbeaten 8/9 each at 2nd Unity Club Rapid Rating Open 2024. Ritviz won the tournament due to better tie-breaks. 12-year-old Ethan had to settle for second place. Seven players scored 7.5/9 each. Out of them FM Apoorv Kamble was placed third according to tie-breaks. The total prize fund of the tournament was ₹251000. The top three prizes were ₹55000, ₹33000 and ₹22000 along with a trophy each. The two-day rating tournament was organized by Unity Club at Ravindra Bhavan in Margao, Goa on 27th and 28th April 2024. This is Ritviz's second rating tournament victory of the year.

Top two score an unbeaten 8/9

IM Ritviz Parab and IM Ethan Vaz were the coleaders 7.5/8, going into the final round. They were a half point ahead of others. They drew the final round game to secure first and second place. FM Apoorv Kamble defeated Laxlabh Desai Mayuresh to finish third. Arpith S Bijoy is the only untitled player among top eight finishers. He scored 7.5/9 to finish fourth.

Champion - IM Ritviz Parab 8/9

Top 3 (L to R): 2nd IM Ethan Vaz 8/9, 1st IM Ritviz Parab 8/9 and 3rd FM Apoorv Kamble 7.5/9

IM Ritviz Parab scored an unbeaten 8/9, drew with both runners-up and gained 28.6 Elo rating points

A total of 301 players including 2 GMs and 5 IMs took part from all over the country, one from England and one from Hungary each in this two-day nine round Rapid Rating Open tournament. It was organized by Unity Club at Ravindra Bhavan in Margao, Goa on 27th and 28th April 2024. The time control of the event was 25 minutes + 5 seconds increment per move.

Final standings

Rk.SNo NameTypsexFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
IMRitviz, ParabIND2160Goa_Salcete8566153,2507
FMVaz, EthanU13IND2268Goa_Salcete8556052,2507
FMApoorv, KambleU15IND2081Karnataka7,554,55947,0007
Arpith, S BijoyIND2087Kerala7,55458,546,5007
GMVenkatesh, M.R.IND2397PSPB7,5535745,7507
IMNitish, BelurkarIND2265Goa_Tiswadi7,55155,544,0007
GMRoy Chowdhury, SaptarshiS40IND2358West Bengal7,54953,543,2507
IMSammed Jaykumar, SheteIND2299Maharashtra7,54852,541,5007
Shaun, Deon SequeiraU15IND1719Karnataka7,546,55041,2506
FMSauravh, KhherdekarS40IND1917Maharashtra752,553,538,0006
IMAudi, AmeyaIND2208Goa_Salcete7515540,5007
AGMPrashanth, J NaikIND1811Karnataka749,55439,5007
Gugan, GIND1877Tamil Nadu748,55339,5007
Shirodkar, AayushIND1720Goa_Salcete748,55136,0007
Aarth, Siddhesh Shenvi KarapurkarU15IND1578Goa_Bardez746,54936,5007
Balkishan, A.IND1970Karnataka6,5525637,7506
Chavan, NameetIND1808Maharashtra6,550,553,535,7506
FMDutta, JoydeepIND2173West Bengal6,550,55233,7506
Sharsha, BackerIND1977Kerala6,550,551,532,7506
Bezstrakhov, DmitryS40FID1802FIDE6,549,55437,7506
Mayuresh, Laxlabh DesaiU15IND1642Goa_Bicholim6,54953,535,2506
Kanishk, Sagar SawantU13IND1579Goa_Bardez6,547,550,533,2506
Vivaan, Sunil BallikarIND1755Goa_Salcete6,5475134,7506
Tejas, R Shet VerenkarIND1585Goa_Salcete6,5475133,7506
Saras, Summer PowarU11IND1578Goa_Salcete6,5475033,2506
Shriya, PatilF15wIND1534Goa_Salcete6,5475032,7506
AFMAarush, BhatU13IND1564Karnataka6,546,550,534,2506
AFMVaz, EdrickU15IND1635Goa_Salcete6,546,548,532,7506
Anish, NaikIND1656Goa_Ponda6,5464931,2506
Katkar, AtharvIND1584Goa_Salcete6,5464931,2506


Related news:
Ritviz Parab convincingly clinches Durga Motors Rapid Rating Open 2024

@ 23/02/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman R R wins Liberation Cup Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 05/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Marthandan K U wins Late Shri Vasudeva V Dempo Rating Open 2023

@ 28/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ritviz Parab dominates TTCA Blitz Rating Open 2023

@ 22/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Paarth P Salvi dominates Late Lt. Cdr. Gopal Sakharam Sukthankar Memorial Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 07/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ethan Vaz wins Monginis Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 30/10/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Devesh Anand Naik dominates Goa State Senior Rating 2023 with a perfect 9/9

@ 16/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Nitish Belurkar wins 1st Unity Club Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 21/05/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ameya Audi clinches Late Venkatesh and Sumathi Shanbag Memorial 2nd Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 28/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Niraj Saripalli wins Late Lt. Cdr. Gopal Sakharam Sukthankar Memorial All Goa Rapid Rating 2022

@ 05/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kaustuv Kundu conquers 3rd TTCA Rating Open 2022

@ 17/11/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sairudra Nagvekar wins Rotary All Goa Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 19/10/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Pillar of strength for Indian chess, Bharat Singh Chauhan recounts his journey

@ 06/07/2019 by Basil Sylvester Pinto (en)
I want to be a GM as soon as possible: Leon Luke Mendonca

@ 02/07/2019 by Basil Sylvester Pinto (en)
I play chess to gain experience and improve my game: lone Afghan player at the 2nd Goa GM 2019

@ 01/07/2019 by Basil Sylvester Pinto (en)
The Goa Chronicles - how Carlsen and Anand helped me shoot for the stars!

@ 01/07/2019 by Tanmay Srinath (en)
Armenians rule 2nd Goa GM Open 2019

@ 30/06/2019 by Basil Sylvester Pinto (en)
अर्मेनिया के सहकयान समवेल बने गोवा इंटरनेशनल के विजेता

@ 30/06/2019 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
10 things that made last day of Goa GM International 2019 special

@ 28/06/2019 by Sagar Shah (en)
No need to travel to Europe if you have events like Goa GM 2019!

@ 25/06/2019 by Sagar Shah (en)
गोवा इंटरनेशनल - 7 भारतीय खिलाड़ियों को मिले नार्म

@ 25/06/2019 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Age is only a number for Subramanian

@ 24/06/2019 by Basil Sylvester Pinto (en)
गोवा इंटरनेशनल R 8 – रोमांचक होती जंग !

@ 24/06/2019 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
It's Manuel, not Tigran! Petrosyan leads the Goa GM 2019 with 7.0/8

@ 24/06/2019 by Sagar Shah (en)
5 chess tales from Goa!

@ 23/06/2019 by Sagar Shah (en)
गोवा इंटरनेशनल : R-6&7:भारत के इनियान शीर्ष पर पहुंचे

@ 23/06/2019 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
गोवा इंटरनेशनल : आंध्रप्रदेश के गोपाल कार्तिक बने कैटेगरी बी विजेता

@ 22/06/2019 by Nitesh srivastava (hi)
Karthik Gopal wins Goa B 2019, Petrosyan sole leader in A

@ 22/06/2019 by Sagar Shah (en)
गोवा इंटरनेशनल R 5 – अर्मेनिया के पेट्रोसियन मेनुएल नें बनाई बढ़त

@ 22/06/2019 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Goa GM 2019 Round 4: Train with the grandmasters

@ 21/06/2019 by Sagar Shah (en)
गोवा इंटरनेशनल R4 -चार खिलाड़ी चार अंको पर पहुंचे !

@ 20/06/2019 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Ratnakaran's unthinkable queen sacrifice lights up Goa!

@ 20/06/2019 by Sagar Shah (en)
गोवा इंटरनेशनल R 2&3 – रत्नाकरण के नाम रहा दिन !

@ 20/06/2019 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Goa GM 2019 Round 1: Grandeur with a personal touch!

@ 19/06/2019 by Sagar Shah (en)
गोवा इंटरनेशनल R1 -बड़े उलटफेर : 4 ग्रांडमास्टर हारे !

@ 18/06/2019 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Last 2 days to register for the 2nd Goa GM International 2019

@ 30/05/2019 by ChessBase India (en)
2nd edition of Goa GM International is here with a prize fund of Rs.53 lakh!

@ 09/04/2019 by Sagar Shah (en)
The curious case of Vishrut Parekh

@ 27/01/2019 by Sagar Shah (en)
Pouya Idani wins the 1st Goa GM International 2018

@ 23/10/2018 by Sagar Shah (en)
Goa GM 2018 Round 9: Being overambitious sometimes pays, sometimes doesn't!

@ 20/10/2018 by Sagar Shah (en)
Goa GM 2018 Round 8: An Iranian, an Ukrainian and an Armenian

@ 19/10/2018 by Sagar Shah (en)
गोवा इंटरनेशनल - अंकित गजवा का असाधारण प्रदर्शन

@ 18/10/2018 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Goa GM 2018 Round 6+7: Madhya Pradesh domination!

@ 18/10/2018 by Sagar Shah (en)
Goa GM 2018 Round 5: Who said GMs and IMs do not blunder?

@ 16/10/2018 by Sagar Shah (en)
Goa GM 2018: What is Troitsky's line?

@ 16/10/2018 by Sagar Shah (en)
गोवा इंटरनेशनल - अनुराग दीपन और स्टेनी को सयुंक्त बढ़त

@ 16/10/2018 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Goa GM 2018 Round 2+3: 6-year-old prodigy and a 12-year-old veteran!

@ 15/10/2018 by Sagar Shah (en)
Goa GM 2018 Round 1: No less than Batumi!

@ 14/10/2018 by Sagar Shah (en)
Live Games from Goa GM International 2018

@ 13/10/2018 by Sagar Shah (en)

Contact Us