chessbase india logo

Mitrabha Guha dominates Tata Steel Chess Festival 2023 Blitz Open

by Shahid Ahmed - 12/09/2023

GM Mitrabha Guha scored an unbeaten 7.5/8 to win Tata Steel Chess Festival 2023 All India Blitz Open. He finished a half point ahead of the competition. GM Diptayan Ghosh, Soham Bhattacharyya and Alekhya Mukhopadhyay scored 7/8 each. They were placed second, third and fourth respectively. Top three prizes were ₹15000 + trophy, ₹10000 and ₹5000 each respectively. This was Mitrabha's fourth tournament triumph of the year. This is the second time he won the Blitz Open event, part of Tata Steel Chess India Festival. Back in 2021, he won the event for the first time. This time, he became a clear champion, no tie-breaks were needed. It was the strongest event of the festival this year as 2 GMs, 4 IMs and 2 WIMs took part in it. Photos: Shahid Ahmed

Mitrabha wins Tata Steel Festival Blitz event for the second time

GM Mitrabha Guha and IM Aronyak Ghosh were the coleaders 6.5/7 heading into the final round. The winner of their encounter would win the tournament. Mitrabha won the game and became the champion.

Champion - GM Mitrabha Guha 7.5/8

Since last year, one of the perks of winning the tournament is, receiving the prize on the final day of the main event - Tata Steel Chess India 2023 Rapid and Blitz. Apart from receiving the prize from the legend and India's second GM in history - GM Dibyendu Barua, one gets to share the stage with another legend Vishy Anand on the final day. Receiving the prize in front of star-studded world-class players is an added bonus apart from the usual cash and trophy prize. No wonder, every year, the festival events reach its capacity in no time once it is announced.

GM Mitrabha Guha receives his prize from the legend - Vishy Anand, in presence of Jeroen van den Berg, Tata Steel Chess India 2023 Tournament Director | Photo: IA Vivek Sohani
GM Mitrabha Guha wins Tata Steel Chess Festival 2023 All India Blitz Open | Video: ChessBase India

Runner-up - GM Diptayan Ghosh 7/8

Second Runner-up - Soham Bhattacharyya 7/8

4th Alekhya Mukhopadhyay 7/8

5th IM Aronyak Ghosh 6.5/8

6th Puspal Datta 6.5/8

7th IM Kaustuv Kundu 6.5/8

8th IM Shahil Dey 6/8

9th WIM Arpita Mukherjee 6/8

10th FM Sourath Biswas 6/8

11th Mrittika Mallick 6/8

12th IM Neelash Saha 6/8

13th Shaon Chowdhury 6/8

14th Niladri Bhattacharyya 6/8

15th Mrityunjay Kumar 6/8

16th Soumyajit Das 6/8

17th Samip Roy 6/8

18th Supratim Ghosh 6/8

20th FM Aditya Vikram Paul 5.5/8

Present GMs and IMs of West Bengal along with future IMs and GMs discussing after the tournament

The tournament hall at Bhasha Bhavan, National Library in Kolkata, West Bengal

For more photos, please check out the album here.

Video Gallery

When a 1200 rated player faces a 2500+ GM | 1. a3 by Mitrabha vs Srijita | Video: ChessBase India
Is Ponziani a good idea against a GM? Shekhar v Diptayan | Video: ChessBase India
Is 1.b3 sound against a Grandmaster? Soumyajit v GM Mitrabha | Video: ChessBase India
Opening Trap in the Keymer variation - GM Diptayan v Mrityunjay | Video: ChessBase India
Rare Double Bishop vs Bishop Endgame - Puspal v IM Neelash | Video: ChessBase India
Time Time Time! Debapriya v Niladri | Video: ChessBase India
When the Philidor was forgotten in Rook ending - Mayukh vs Sayantan | Video: ChessBase India

More game videos will be published over time on our channel and page, stay tuned!


A total of 174 players including 2 GMs, 4 IMs and 2 WIMs took part from various states across the country, in this one-day eight round Swiss-league Blitz Open tournament which was organized by Dhanuka Dhunseri Dibyendu Barua Chess Academy at Bhasha Bhavan, National Library in Kolkata, West Bengal on 5th September 2023. The time control of the event was 3 minutes + 2 seconds increment from move no.1.

Final standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
12GMMitrabha, GuhaIND2507WB7,54145,542,00
21GMGhosh, DiptayanIND2545WB7414538,00
310Bhattacharyya, SohamIND2209WB738,542,536,00
418Alekhya, MukhopadhyayIND1899WB73639,533,00
53IMAronyak, GhoshIND2421WB6,544,549,538,50
649Puspal, DattaIND1566WB6,538,54132,75
711Kaustuv, KunduIND2187WB6,535,539,531,25
85IMShahil, DeyIND2299Assam641,54532,00
913WIMArpita, MukherjeewIND2129WB63941,529,50
1012FMSourath, BiswasIND2171WB638,541,529,00
1121Mrittika, MallickwIND1889WB63841,527,00
124IMNeelash, SahaIND2398WB637,540,528,00
1320Shaon, ChowdhuryIND1897WB63437,528,25
1422Bhattacharya, Niladri ShekharIND1869WB63437,527,50
1546Mrityunjay, KumarIND1606Bihar63437,524,50
1647Soumyajit, Das (Jr)IND1583WB6343725,00
1733Samip, RoyIND1701WB63335,524,00
1841Supratim, GhoshIND1644WB63232,521,00
1972Shakya, Singha ModakIND1361Tripura630,53323,50
207FMAditya, Vikram PaulIND2261WB5,5394226,25


Contact Us