chessbase india logo

Arpita Mukherjee wins Tata Steel Chess Festival 2023 Women Rapid

by Shahid Ahmed - 18/09/2023

WIM Arpita Mukherjee and Sinthia Sarkar scored 7/8 each at Tata Steel Chess Festival 2023 All India Women Rapid. The top seed of the event, Arpita won the tournament due to better tie-breaks, Sinthia secured second place. The defending champion, WCM Bristy Mukherjee scored sole 6.5/8 to finish third. Top three prizes were ₹20000 + trophy, ₹15000 and ₹10000 each respectively. This was Arpita's second tournament triumph of the year. Earlier this year, she won 20th National Team Women 2023. She also secured second runner-up place at the 49th National Women Championship almost two months ago. Photos: Shahid Ahmed

10-year-old Maitreyi Mondal shines

Former West Bengal State Under-10 Girls champion, Maitreyi Mondal (1205) scored an impressive 6/8, including wins over WIM Chandreyee Hajra, defending champion - WCM Bristy Mukherjee and third seeded - Alka Das. She secured fourth place and youngest among the top five finishers.

Champion - WIM Arpita Mukherjee 7/8

Since last year, one of the perks of winning the tournament is, receiving the prize on the final day of the main event - Tata Steel Chess India 2023 Rapid and Blitz. Apart from receiving the prize from the legend and India's second GM in history - GM Dibyendu Barua, one gets to share the stage with another legend - Vishy Anand on the final day. Receiving the prize in front of star-studded world-class players is an added bonus apart from the usual cash and trophy prize. No wonder, every year, the festival events reach its capacity in no time once it is announced.

WIM Arpita Mukherjee receives her prize in presence of the legend - Vishy Anand,Jeroen van den Berg, Tata Steel Chess India 2023 Tournament Director | Photo: IA Vivek Sohani
WIM Arpita Mukherjee wins Tata Steel Chess Festival 2023 All India Women Rapid | Video: ChessBase India

Runner-up - Sinthia Sarkar 7/8

Second Runner-up - WCM Bristy Mukherjee 6.5/8

Top 3 (L to R): 2nd Sinthia Sarkar 7/8, 1st WIM Arpita Mukherjee 7/8 and 3rd WCM Bristy Mukherjee 6.5/8

4th Maitreyi Mondal 6/8

5th WIM Chandreyee Hajra 6/8

6th Sudipa Haldar 6/8

7th Sneha Halder 5.5/8

8th Mehendi Sil 5.5/8

9th Aayusree Sarkar 5.5/8

10th Dakhsha Rudra 5.5/8

11th Alka Das 5/8

12th Adrija Sil 5/8

13th Arhashirsha Biswas 5/8

14th Adrija Das 5/8

15th Diya Chowdhury 5/8

16th Debapriya Manna 5/8

17th Aarwee Srivastav 5/8

18th Oiendrila Bhattacharya 5/8

19th Megha Patra 5/8

20th Sanchayita Das 5/8

Best Veteran - Kalpana Mitra

Players in action at Bhasha Bhavan, National Library in Kolkata, West Bengal

All Female Arbiters' team (L to R): NA Sriya Bhattacharjee, FA NI Suravi Dutta, NA Piyali Ghosh and NA Sobha Rajak with GM Dibyendu Barua (center)

For more photos, please check out the album here.

Video Gallery

King Advancement & Opposition are Key in Endgames - Saba v Asmita | Video: ChessBase India
Double Rook Endgames are difficult to navigate - Arhashirsha v Alka | Video: ChessBase India
10-year-old bests WIM in minor piece endgame - Chandreyi v Maitreyi | Video: ChessBase India
The Joy of delivering a sudden Checkmate - Niranjana v Oiendrila | Video: ChessBase India
Queen and Opposite Side Pawn Race - Srinika v Adrita | Video: ChessBase India
It's not over until it's over - Palashpriya v Srija | Video: ChessBase India
Topsy Turvy Double Rook & Bishop Endgame with a twist at the end - Aayusree v Adrija | Video: ChessBase India
WIM showcases beautiful maneuver against 10-year-old - Arpita v Maitreyi | Video: ChessBase India

More game videos will be published over time on our channel and page, stay tuned!


A total of 64 players including 2 WIMs took part from various states across the country, in this two-day eight round Swiss-league Women Rapid tournament which was organized by Dhanuka Dhunseri Dibyendu Barua Chess Academy at Bhasha Bhavan, National Library in Kolkata, West Bengal on 6th and 7th September 2023. The time control of the event was 15 minutes + 10 seconds increment from move no.1.

Final standings

Rk.SNoNameFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
11WIMArpita MukherjeeIND2134Wb7414539,00
210Sinthia SarkarIND1375Wb73740,533,50
36WCMBristy MukherjeeIND1695Wb6,538,54232,50
415Maitreyi MondalIND1205Wb638,54128,50
55WIMChandreyee HajraIND1696Wb63841,528,50
68Sudipa HaldarIND1469Wb6363724,50
77Sneha HalderIND1572Wb5,53840,523,50
82Mehendi SilIND1782Wb5,535,539,526,50
920Aayusree SarkarIND1145Wb5,534,538,525,50
1017Dakhsha RudraIND1156Wb5,534,53824,00
113Alka DasIND1780Jharkhand5394222,50
1221Adrija SilIND1143Wb53435,519,00
1314Arhashirsha BiswasIND1213Wb533,536,520,00
1416Adrija DasIND1190Wb533,53518,75
154Diya ChowdhuryIND1735Wb5333619,50
169Debapriya MannaIND1391Wb53335,519,00
1738Aarwee SrivastavIND1022Wb5303319,50
1829Oiendrila BhattacharyaIND1080Wb529,53116,00
1919Megha PatraIND1151Wb529,529,512,50
2026Sanchayita DasIND1102Wb528,53015,50


Contact Us