chessbase india logo

Manigandan wins 15th KCM Open

by Shahid Ahmed - 08/10/2019

Ninth seeded S S Manigandan of Madurai, Tamil Nadu scored an unbeaten 8.0/9 to win 15th KCM Open. IM Al Muthaiah also scored 8.0/9, however due to a better tie-break score, Manigandan was declared the winner of the tournament and Muthaiah had to settle for the runner-up position. Senthil Maran scored 7.5/9 and secured the second runner-up position. Total 339 players from four different states and one union territory participated in the tournament across the nation. The fifteenth edition of the tournament was organized by Kovai Chess Mates Sports Trust from 28th September to 2nd October 2019 at Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu. Photo: R M Ramakrishnen / Kovai Chess Mates Sports Trust

Manigandan wins his fourth tournament of the year

S S Manigandan started out as ninth seed. However going into the final round, he was in a five-way lead with four other players. Only him and Muthaiah scored a victory in the final round. Thus they secured first and second position respectively.

S S Manigandan receives his champion's trophy and ₹50000 cash | Photo: R M Ramakrishnen / Kovai Chess Mates Sports Trust

Manigandan's unbeaten championship run

The event was inaugurated by Mr. N Jayabal, President, Coimbatore District Chess Association by making the first move on the top board. The other dignitaries present on the dais were Mr. Senthil Chinnasamy, President, Kovai Chess Mates Sports Trust, Dr. G G Sathiesh, International Arbiter, Chief Arbiter of the Event, Mr. K Dhanasekar, Secretary, Coimbatore District Chess Association and members of Kovai Chess Mates Sports Trust.

Players in action | Photo: R M Ramakrishnen / Kovai Chess Mates Sports Trust

The tournament hall | Photo: R M Ramakrishnen / Kovai Chess Mates Sports Trust

Center of attraction - Champion S S Manigandan | Photo: R M Ramakrishnen / Kovai Chess Mates Sports Trust

Seated L to R: KCM Members, Champion S S Manigandan, Mr. B Venkatachalapathy, Secretary, Kovai Chess Mates Sports Trust , IA Mr. V Vijayaraghavan, Joint Secretary, TNSCA.

Standing L to R: Kovai Chess Mates Sports Trust members, IA Dr. G G Sathiesh, Chief Arbiter and Mr. R Dhanasekar, Secretary, Coimbatore.


The tournament was organized at Sri Krishna Gounder Kalyana Mandapam, Ganapathy, Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu from 28th September to 2nd October by Kovai Chess Mates Sports Trust. Total 339 players participated from four different states and one union territory across the nation.


Final Standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
19Manigandan S SS18IND2103TN8,00,051,556,049,007
21IMMuthaiah AlS18IND2373TN8,00,050,054,548,007
33Senthil Maran KS18IND2273TN7,50,055,059,048,256
42IMGirinath P.D.S.S18IND2336AP7,50,049,554,043,257
528Nandha Kumar KS18IND1695TN-C7,50,049,053,543,257
65Lokesh N.S18IND2225TN7,50,047,551,542,757
86Phoobalan P.S18IND2159ICF7,00,053,057,043,256
924Jagadeesh A.K.S18IND1716KER7,00,051,056,041,256
1019Aswath SU11IND1836TN7,00,049,554,540,507
1110Bala Kannamma PS18wIND2083TN7,00,049,553,539,756
16Ananthapadmanabh D VU15IND1905KER7,00,049,553,539,756
1313Selvamurugan BS18IND1956TN7,00,048,052,539,006
1442Vigneshwaran N.S18IND1573TN-C7,00,047,551,037,006
157Balkishan A.S18IND2120KAR7,00,047,051,039,007
1611Anilkumar O.T.S55IND2080KER7,00,046,551,035,006
1712WFMSaranya JS18wIND2022TN6,50,052,556,537,256
188CMRajarishi KarthiS18IND2116TN6,50,052,057,038,256
1922Gugan GU15IND1770TN6,50,051,555,537,005
2023Manoj BIND1756TN6,50,051,555,535,756
2114Dhanush Ragav N SIND1949TN6,50,049,052,035,005
2234Aakash GU09IND1655TN-C6,50,049,052,033,756
2320Kabhilan SIND1829TN6,50,048,052,035,505
2417AGMVignesh BU15IND1842TN6,50,047,551,535,506
2536Mukhesh CIND1627TN-C6,50,046,050,033,755

Complete standings

Related news:
Tamil Nadu State Government felicitates players with 1 crore 98 lacs cash award

@ 09/10/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
15 वर्षीय प्रणव बने तामिलनाडु राज्य शतरंज विजेता

@ 07/04/2021 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Pranav V wins 68th Tamil Nadu State Open 2021 with a 100% score 9.0/9

@ 07/04/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
68th Tamil Nadu State Open: Pranav V takes sole lead 6.0/6

@ 31/03/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sivakasi Chess Club and Covid-19

@ 19/02/2021 by R Anantharam (en)
Adhiban, Sethuraman, Gukesh, Laxman and Nandhidhaa receive Outstanding Sportsperson award by Tamil Nadu government

@ 11/02/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aravindh wins Karaikudi Grand Prix Rapid Rating Open

@ 06/02/2020 by R Anantharam (en)
Laxman wins 2nd Open Rapid Rating at Trichy

@ 11/01/2020 by R Anantharam (en)
IM Harikrishnan wins Ramco 2nd FIDE Rated Open 2019

@ 16/12/2019 by R Anantharam (en)
Vaishali wins Sivakasi Grand Prix Open Rapid

@ 28/11/2019 by R Anantharam (en)
IM Arjun Kalyan and Pranav Venkatesh win Velammal Rapid and Blitz

@ 12/11/2019 by R Anantharam (en)
Sabarish triumphs at Rotary 100 years Celebration open

@ 04/10/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
IM Khusenkhojaev wins Courtalam Saaral FIDE Rated Open

@ 18/09/2019 by R Anantharam (en)
Raahul V S triumphs at Talent Chess Academy 1st Open Rating

@ 02/09/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Courtalam Saaral International Rating Open Preview

@ 25/08/2019 by R Anantharam (en)
Karthikeyan Murali wins 1st A S Subbaraman Memorial Trophy Blitz Rating 2019

@ 23/08/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
R Balasubramaniam wins Thalavaipuram All India Open

@ 22/08/2019 by R Anantharam (en)
Chess Bonanza in Tamil Nadu

@ 16/05/2019 by R Anantharam (en)