chessbase india logo

Adhiban gets top billing in MPL 58th National Senior Chess Championship

by Shahid Ahmed - 24/02/2022

MPL 58th National Senior Chess Championship will be the first National championship to take place since the Covid-19 pandemic disrupted regular schedule in early 2020. The most coveted National championship will take place at Ganges Club, Kanpur from 25th February to 3rd March 2022. The total prize fund has been increased by 50% since the last over-the-board National Senior championship which took place in December 2019. B Adhiban is the top seed of the tournament, Tata Steel 2022 Challenger winner Arjun Erigaisi will be the second and five-times Commonwealth Gold medalist Abhijeet Gupta will be the third seed. Round 1 starts tomorrow at 10 a.m. IST. Photo: Amruta Mokal

The biggest National Senior championship starts tomorrow

Top seed - GM B Adhiban (2648) | Photo: Amruta Mokal

Kanpur (24 February 2022) - Former champion Grandmaster B Adhiban of Petroleum Sports Promotion Board has been handed the top billing in a strong field which included young sensation Arjun Erigaisi in the 58th edition of Senior National Chess Championship sponsored by MPL Sports Foundation starting on Friday here.

Tata Steel Chess 2022 Challengers winner - GM Arjun Erigaisi | Photo: Lennart Ootes/Tata Steel Chess Tournament 2022

184 players from across the country including 23 Grandmasters and 30 International Masters, will be seen in action in the one-week-long tournament, formerly known as National Premier Chess Championship.

Mr.Commonwealth - Abhijeet Gupta | Photo: Amruta Mokal

Commonwealth champion Abhijeet Gupta, former national champions Karthikeyan Murali, Sethuraman S P, Lalith Babu M R, defending champion Aravindh Chithambaram, young talents D Gukesh, Abhimanyu Puranik and Aryan Chopra are the other top players taking part in the event to be held at Ganges Club, Kanpur.


The championship will be conducted under Swiss System with 11 rounds with a time control of 90 minutes with 30 second increment from move 1. After roping in MPL Sports Foundation as official sponsor for all the national championships, AICF increased the prize fund of all nationals substantially and top ten players in the event will be awarded with cash prizes amounting to thirty lakh rupees out of which six lakh is reserved for the winner as well as the winner will get a bonus of 25 points while deciding the Indian team for the World Chess Olympiad and Asian Games which are scheduled later this year.

A K Raizada and Bharat Singh Chauhan | Photo: AICF Press Release

All India Chess Federation National Secretary Bharat Singh Chauhan while addressing the press conference at the Ganges Club, the venue of the National Championship said that the way we have developed and taken steps to reach at the district and state level competitions, we are trying to make chess even more popular throughout the country. The All India Chess Federation is searching for talent in Chess through the 'Chess in Schools' program. AICF is confident that promising players will come forward and bring laurels to the country. In other sports Kanpur is remembered and referred, then why not in the chess field the mind game. Such competitions in cities will bring out players living in oblivion. Mr. Bharat Singh said that it is not the players' reach out to the Federation, but the Federation will reach to the players from cities, towns and villages and give them better opportunities. These same players will bring laurels to the country in the world of chess. We are interested and keen efforts are on to add the Federation's Chess in Schools scheme to the curriculum.


Secretary of UP Chess Sports Association, Mr. A K Raizada stated that for the first time 23 Grand Masters, 30 International Masters are taking part in this event as well as increased prize fund are the main highlights of this edition.


Source: AICF Press Release

Players list

1GMAdhiban B.269820215018471IND2648PSPB
2GMErigaisi Arjun2714202135009192IND2633TEL
3GMGupta Abhijeet415620215010608IND2628PSPB
4GMKarthikeyan Murali578320215074452IND2622PSPB
5GMSethuraman S.P.4107720135021596IND2619PSPB
6GMPuranik Abhimanyu243120215061245IND2618MAH
7GMGukesh D3375202146616543IND2614TN
8GMAravindh Chithambaram Vr.70620215072786IND2611TN
9GMAryan Chopra893320215084423IND2585DEL
10GMLalith Babu M R11814420225024595IND2563PSPB
11GMSankalp Gupta9437320215097010IND2536MAH
12GMSengupta Deep4637820195008352IND2528PSPB
13GMVisakh N R4755202125012223IND2522Rlys
14GMDeepan Chakkravarthy J.9981520215011132IND2520Rlys
15GMIniyan P1622202125002767IND2516TN
16GMMitrabha Guha37220215057000IND2510WB
17GMArjun Kalyan3046202135018701IND2506TN
18GMHarsha Bharathakoti216020215078776IND2499TEL
19GMSwapnil S. Dhopade242620215019184IND2495Rlys
20IMAditya Mittal40489201335042025IND2487MAH
21IMPranav V48924201325060783IND2486TN
22IMAronyak Ghosh87998202125072846IND2482WB
23IMRaahul V S2112202125035525IND2478TN
24GMVishnu Prasanna. V762520215030692IND2476TN
25IMRavi Teja S.712420215017220IND2469Rlys


Contact Us