chessbase india logo

MPL 31st National U-18 R1-6: Bhagyashree Patil scores a double hat-trick

by R Anantharam - 21/04/2022

Top seed GM Bharath Subramaniyam H (TN) and CM Soham Kamotra (J&K) share the lead 5.5/6 at the conclusion of the sixth round of MPL 31st National Under-18 Open Chess Championship 2022. Soham held Bharath to a draw in the sixth round. They are closely followed by eight players at 5.0/6 including IM Srihari L R (TN) and IM Avinash Ramesh (TN). In the Girls event, WFM Bhagyashree Patil (MAH) registered her sixth victory over Keerti Shree Reddy (TN) to emerge as the sole leader 6.0/6. Kanishka S (TN) is the only girl trailing her by a half point at 5.5/6. Round 7 starts today at 9:30 a.m. IST today. Photo: IA R Anantharam

Bharath and Soham share the lead in the Open

It is rare to see a player from Jammu and Kashmir to play on the top board against a grandmaster. More rarity is the player holding the top seed to a draw. It has happened in the sixth round of the ongoing 31st National Under-18 Chess Championships at Dr. Mahalingam College of Engineering, Pollachi, Tamil Nadu. The J & K player is CM Soham Kamotra and the opponent is H Bharath Subramaniyam of Tamil Nadu.

GM H Bharath Subramaniyam was held to a draw by CM Soham Kanotra of Jammu & Kashmir | Photo: IA R Anantharam

After six rounds of play, the duo is leading with 5.5 points each and a pack of eight players are lagging behind by half a point. The second placed group includes International Master L R Srihari, IM Avinash Ramesh, FM Harshad S – all from Tamil Nadu, John Veny Akkarakkaran of Kerala and FM Ayush Sharma of MP. The seventh round will witness the clash between the top two seeds Bharath and Srihari.

IM L R Srihari had two draws in six games. He drew with John Veny Akkarakkaran in the sixth round | Photo: IA R Anantharam

The local boy FM Harshad S played a solid game to split the point with the IM Avinash Ramesh | Photo: IA R Anantharam

FM Ayush Sharma of MP was the only winner among the top four games defeating Mrithyunjay Mahadevan of TN. The extra pawn on the d-file helped Ayush to pocket the point in a rook and bishop vs rook and knight ending.

FM Ayush Sharma of MP was the only winner among the top board games, against CM Mrithyunjay | Photo: IA R Anantharam

Former National Under-9 champion Ilamparithi A R was lucky to get a full point against Dhruva Thota, when the latter blundered after having decisive advantage for the better of the endgame.

Ilamparthi A R got the full point in a drawn position | Photo: IA R Anantharam

Bhagyashree Patil of Jalgaon, Maharashtra is on a winning spree, securing six points from six games. S Kanishka of Salem from Tamil Nadu is the only player on 5.5. The withdrawal of the top seed WFM L Jyothsna after the fourth round of the championship on health grounds may make things easier for the second seeded Bhagyashree.

Bhagyashree Patil of Maharashtra accounted for Keerti Shree Reddy of Tamil Nadu to score her sixth win in six rounds | Photo: IA R Anantharam

S Kanishka of Tamil Nadu defeated Sachi Jain to follow the leader closely | Photo: IA R Anantharam

V Rindhiya and Keerti of TN, Chinnam Vyshnavi of AP and Anupam M Sreekumar of Kerala registered wins in the sixth round to score five points each.

V Rindhiya of TN has scored five points after the win over Vakcheri Mohita of AP in the sixth round | Photo: IA R Anantharam

Another Andhra girl Chinnam Vyshnavi was on the winning side to raise her tally to five points by beating Tejaswi of TN | Photo: IA R Anantharam

Grandmaster R B Ramesh, former Commonwealth (2007) and British champion (2002) inaugurated the tournament in presence of twice Asian Junior champion GM Shyam Sundar M, Dr. M Manickam, President of TNSCA and Chairman of Dr. Mahalingam College of Engineering & Technology and TNSCA General secretary P Stephen Balasamy.

Grandmaster R B Ramesh, former Commonwealth (2007) and British champion (2002) inaugurated the championships. Dr. Manickam, Mr. Stephen, GM Bharath and WFM L Jyothsna are also in the picture | Photo: IA R Anantharam

Twice Asian Junior champion GM Shyam Sundar M trained the Tamil Nadu players for one week in the college | Photo: IA R Anantharam

Dr. Mahalingam College of Engineering & Technology has provided beds and pillows to all players (both selected and special entries) and parents and also free food, a rare gesture nowadays.

A view of the playing hall | Photo: IA R Anantharam

A total of 138 players including a GM and 3 IMs in the Open and 91 players in the Girls tournament are taking part. It is organized by Coimbatore District Chess Association. Both tournaments are taking place at Dr. Mahalingam College of Engineering and Technology, Pollachi from 18th to 23rd April 2022. The eleven-round Swiss league tournament has a time control of 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1

Replay Open Round 1-6 games

Replay Girls Round 1-6 games

Open Round 6 results

17CMSoham Kamotra2159J&k5½ - ½5IMBharath Subramaniyam H2503TN1
22IMSrihari L R2398TN½ - ½John Veny Akkarakaran1687Ker27
35FMHarshad S2272TN4½ - ½Avinash Ramesh2369TN3
420CMMrithyunjay Mahadevan1763TN40 - 14FMAyush Sharma2311MP4
526Dhruva Thota1694Tel40 - 14Ilamparthi A R2122TN9
628Apoorv Kamble1679Kar40 - 14Rakshith Srinivasan2011Kar11
714Dinesh Rajan M1912TN40 - 14Arul Anandh S P K1763TN21
815Mahendra Teja Mekala1847AP4½ - ½4Vengatesh Krishnan C1557TN37
918Krishnan Ritvik1800MAH41 - 04Nawin M S1722TN23
108IMManish Anto Cristiano F2129TN1 - 04Gokulakrishna S1385TN65


Round 7 pairings

11IMBharath Subramaniyam H2503TN5IMSrihari L R2398TN2
23Avinash Ramesh2369TN5CMSoham Kamotra2159J&k7
34FMAyush Sharma2311MP55Krishnan Ritvik1800MAH18
49Ilamparthi A R2122TN55Arul Anandh S P K1763TN21
527John Veny Akkarakaran1687Ker55Rakshith Srinivasan2011Kar11
615Mahendra Teja Mekala1847APFMHarshad S2272TN5
737Vengatesh Krishnan C1557TNIMManish Anto Cristiano F2129TN8
840Piyush Kumar1535BIHAGMVignesh B2062TN10
96FMAyushh Ravikumar2165TN44Sarvade Mihiir1559Mah36
1035Sathvik Adiga1563Kar44Dinesh Rajan M1912TN14


Girls Round 6 results

12WFMBhagyashree PatilS1931Mah51 - 05Keerti Shree ReddyN1706TN8
214Kanishka SN1631TN1 - 04Sachi JainS1691Del9
34Rindhiya VS1880TN41 - 04Vakcheri MohithaS1479AP20
425Tejaswi RS1414TN40 - 14WCMChinnam VyshnaviN1673AP11
530Saniya Rafique TadaviS1370Mah40 - 14Anupam M SreekumarN1653Ker13
67Sasvatha AS1707TN0 - 1Khairmode DhanashreeN1511Mah18
722Varshita JainS1459MP0 - 1Ishvi AggarwalN1681Har10
812Femil ChelladuraiS1664TN½ - ½Tanushree V PS1238TN41
927Azal NasirN1396Del0 - 1Vijayasubhasri SN1628TN15
1037Priya MondalN1263Wes1 - 0Meenatchi Rajam VN1530TN17


Round 7 pairings

114Kanishka SN1631TN6WFMBhagyashree PatilS1931Mah2
211WCMChinnam VyshnaviN1673AP55Rindhiya VS1880TN4
38Keerti Shree ReddyN1706TN55Anupam M SreekumarN1653Ker13
410Ishvi AggarwalN1681HarKhairmode DhanashreeN1511Mah18
515Vijayasubhasri SN1628TNPriya MondalN1263Wes37
63WCMKheerthi GantaS1909Tel44Aswinika Mani RS1469TN21
723Sindhusree KN1458TN44Shreshtha SuraiN1819Wes5
89Sachi JainS1691Del44Tejaswi RS1414TN25
943ACMTheephigaa K PS1218TN44Femil ChelladuraiS1664TN12
1041Tanushree V PS1238TN44Sajitha BS1603TN16


About the Author

Prof. Rathinam Anantharam is an A-grade international arbiter. Member of FIDE Arbiters’ Commission, Chairman of Titles Commission in All India Chess Federation, Vice President of Tamil Nadu State Chess Association, Chief Arbiter for six world championships, many Asian, International and National Championships.


The article was edited by Shahid Ahmed

Contact Us