chessbase india logo

Bristy Mukherjee wins Tata Steel Chess Festival 2022 Women Rapid

by Shahid Ahmed - 21/12/2022

WCM Bristy Mukherjee and Alka Das scored an unbeaten 6/7 each at the Tata Steel Chess Festival 2022 All India Women Rapid. They were placed first and second according to tie-breaks. This was the first time a Women's only Rapid event took place at the Tata Steel Chess Festival, with an equal prize fund as the Rapid Rating Open event of ₹100000. Top three prizes were ₹20000 + trophy, ₹15000 and ₹10000 each respectively. Three players - WIM Arpita Mukherjee, WIM Chandreyee Hajra and Raima Bhattacharjee scored 5.5/7 each. They secured third, fourth and fifth place respectively. Check out a pictorial report of the tournament. Photo: Lennart Ootes

Bristy's first triumph of the year

The Tata Steel Chess Festival events are generally a much awaited tournament for all. Apart from a strong field and a good prize fund, players know that the winner has something extra special for them. For the last few years, it was a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to make the first move in the main event. Few winners were able to do it. However, this time, since it was the biggest Tata Steel Chess India event, three champions of the festival were called to receive their prize once again at the closing ceremony of the main event. Receiving the first prize in presence of Vishy Anand and world's best players who participated this year is certainly a huge boost for the winners. The All India Women Rapid is the latest addition to the festival. Just like the main event, Women's Rapid also had the equal prize fund. The reigning West Bengal State Junior Girls champion, WCM Bristy Mukherjee won the inaugural edition of Tata Steel Chess Festival 2022 Women Rapid.

Champion - WCM Bristy Mukherjee 6/7 | Photo: Lennart Ootes
WCM Bristy Mukherjee is the winner of Tata Steel Chess Festival 2022 All India Women Rapid | Video: ChessBase India

WCM Bristy Mukherjee received her prize from GM Dibyendu Barua at the initial prize distribution, immediately after the event | Photo: Sara Bangla Daba Sangstha

WCM Bristy Mukherjee scored an unbeaten 6/7 including a win over the top seed WIM Arpita Mukherjee

Runner-up - Alka Das 6/7 | Photo: Sara Bangla Daba Sangstha

The Jharkhand State Blitz Open runner-up, Alka Das scored an unbeaten 6/7, to finish second according to tie-breaks.

Second Runner-up - WIM Arpita Mukherjee 5.5/7 | Photo:  Sara Bangla Daba Sangstha

4th WIM Chandreyee Hajra 5.5/7 | Photo:  Sara Bangla Daba Sangstha

5th Raima Bhattacharjee 5.5/7 | Photo:  Sara Bangla Daba Sangstha

6th Diya Chowdhury 5/7 | Photo:  Sara Bangla Daba Sangstha

7th Arhashirsha Biswas 5/7 | Photo:  Sara Bangla Daba Sangstha

The Beauty of Chess: 7-year-old Indrakshi Banerjee in action against 54-year-old Ratna Chakraborty | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Apart from the Chief Arbiter, the remaining three arbiters were women (L to R) - FA Suravi Dutta, NA Sobha Rajak and NA Sriya Bhattacharya | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Top four boards in action | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

The tournament hall at National Library in Kolkata | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

For more photos, please click here.

Final standings

Rk.SNoNamesexGrFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
14WCMBristy MukherjeewIND1715WB63133,527,75
22Alka DaswIND1780Jharkhand6303327,25
31WIMArpita MukherjeewIND2138WB5,52932,523,50
43WIMChandreyee HajrawIND1725WB5,52831,524,50
523Raima BhattacharjeewIND1030WB5,5273022,00
65Diya ChowdhurywIND1664WB529,532,520,50
713Arhashirsha BiswaswIND1144WB5262917,50
815Aditri BagwIND1109WB525,528,517,50
914Daksha RudrawIND1124WB52526,516,00
1016Ishanee ChakrabortywIND1102WB4,526,529,517,00
1122Dishita DeywIND1038Jharkhand4,52628,515,50
1220Adrita PurkaitwIND1046WB4,524,527,517,00
1318Akansha DeywIND1086WB4,524,52614,25
147Sunetra DeywIND1251WB4,523,523,512,25
156Shreya Shree BansalwIND1277WB43033,517,50
169Mrinalini DharwIND1218WB427,529,514,50
1712Subhra DaswIND1183WB4272913,50
188Ayushi RoywIND1221WB425,52713,75
1917Kasturi SahawIND1089WB423,526,512,75
2053Suneli BerawIND0WB4232511,50


Contact Us