chessbase india logo

Aronyak Ghosh clinches 3rd SDDM Cup All Bengal Open Rapid 2021

by Shahid Ahmed - 29/12/2021

IM Aronyak Ghosh scored an unbeaten 8.5/9 to finish a full point ahead of the competition and win 3rd SDDM Cup 2021. Four players - Pradip Ghosh, IM Koustav Chatterjee, Rupankar Nath and Alekhya Mukhopadhyay scored 7.5/9 each. They were placed second to fourth according to tie-breaks. It is one of the few tournaments which is organized by a Chess Division of a Municipality, South Dum Dum to be exact. Total prize fund of the event was ₹200000 with entry being only ₹600. The objective of the event is for maximum chess players to take part and they managed to achieve as 253 players took part in it. Check out few games of Aronyak which was shared with us. Photo: Shahid Ahmed

No increment Open tournament attracts 250+ players

IM Aronyak Ghosh won the SDDM Cup for the second time in his career as he won the first edition back in 2019, almost two years ago, just shy of three days. IM Koustav Chatterjee secured a podium finish for the second consecutive edition as he finished second in 2nd SDDM Cup over two years ago. Aronyak won ₹20000 cash, Pradip earned ₹12000 and Koustav got ₹10000. All three of them won a huge beautiful trophy each as can be seen in the photographs. If you are wondering what is so special about this event, there are three reasons - a huge total prize fund which is even bigger than some rating tournaments, low entry fee and no increment time control which is quite rare for an Open tournament these days.

Champion - IM Aronyak Ghosh 8.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Aronyak received his prize with a nice music, confetti which soared in the air with a loud bang | Video: Aronyak's fb

Runner-up Pradip Ghosh 7.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Second Runner-up IM Koustav Chatterjee 7.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Top 3 (L to R) - 2nd Pradip Ghosh, 1st IM Aronyak Ghosh and 3rd IM Koustav Chatterjee | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Aronyak scored an unbeaten 8.5/9

In the fifth round, he positionally outplayed a well-known trainer and player, Niladri Shekhar Bhattacharya.

Aronyak en route his victory against Niladri | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

4th Rupankar Nath 7.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

5th Alekhya Mukhopadhyay 7.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

6th Sanket Chakravarty 7.0/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

7th Ambarish Sharma 7.0/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

8th Shahid Ahmed 7.0/9 | Photo: Umashankar Mukhopadhyay

I shot several interesting videos along with playing the tournament, which I enjoyed a lot. It was good to experience a time control which we grew up playing and haven't played in over half a decade or longer in a serious tournament. The videos will be uploaded and added to the article soon.

9th Ankit Ray 7.0/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

10th Soham Bhattacharyya 7.0/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

11th Sinthia Sarkar 7.0/9 was the only female player to finish in top 20 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Best Woman (L to R) - 1st Debapariya Manna 6.5/9, 2nd Sneha Halder 6.5/9 and 3rd Aarshiya Biswas 6.0/9 | Photo: Amit Ray

Photo Gallery

Sole visually challenged player of the event - Lokesh Kotecha 5.0/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Sole veteran woman in the field and a regular at West Bengal chess circuit, Subhra Das won the Best Veteran prize ahead of men scoring 5.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

9-year-old Angshu Ghosh might have lost the first round game against battle-hardened Pradip Ghosh, however his tenacity earned him the respect of the peers at a tender age | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Gallery has plenty of space for parents and accompanying persons | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Five synthetic indoor Badminton courts | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

The stage for inauguration and closing ceremony. It may look small because the photo was shot from the playing arena on second floor, in reality it was quite big | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Top boards | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

The huge tournament hall | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

The second tournament hall | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

For more photos, please click here.


A total of 253 players including three IMs took part in this nine-round Swiss League event. The tournament was organized by South Dum Dum Municipal Sports Academy (Chess Division) at Dumdum, North 24 Parganas in West Bengal on 17th and 18th December. Total prize fund of the tournament was ₹200000. Time control was 30 minutes each without any increment.

Replay few games of Aronyak

Final standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
12IMAronyak GhoshIND20748,550,551,548,750,08
25Pradip GhoshIND20337,554,059,046,750,07
34IMKoustav ChatterjeeIND20587,549,053,042,750,07
47Nath RupankarIND19957,546,050,039,750,07
528Alekhya MukhopadhyayIND14187,544,547,038,250,07
621Sanket ChakravartyIND15007,050,554,538,500,07
715Ambarish SharmaIND15987,050,054,042,000,05
812AGMShahid Ahmed S.K.IND17077,048,552,540,250,06
970Ankit RayU13IND11617,047,051,038,500,06
1026Bhattacharyya SohamIND14307,047,049,035,500,07
1154Sinthia SarkarwIND12257,045,048,037,000,07
121Kaustuv KunduIND21027,045,046,534,000,07
1388Subhrajit DeyIND11037,043,047,037,000,05
146Mallick AnjanIND20026,554,559,040,000,06
153Arindam MukherjeeIND20726,553,057,038,750,05
1614Tuhin DuttaIND16406,552,054,536,750,06
178IMRajdeep SarkarIND19856,551,554,537,250,05
1820Sourath BiswasIND15116,550,054,037,250,06
1983Snehil Raj SinghU13IND11146,550,053,037,000,05
2013Mukherjee DyutimoyS60IND17066,547,551,034,500,06

Complete standings


South Dumdum Municipality

Contact Us