chessbase india logo

Aronyak Ghosh wins Tata Steel Chess Festival 2022 Blitz Open

by Shahid Ahmed - 18/12/2022

IM Aronyak Ghosh, Subhayan Kundu and FM Aditya Vikram paul scored 7.5/9 at the Tata Steel Chess Festival 2022 All India Blitz Open. They secured first, second and third place respectively according to tie-breaks. Only Aronyak remained undefeated among them. He also won his third consecutive Tata Steel Chess Festival event. Rapid Open and Rapid Rating in 2019 and 2021 respectively and now Blitz Open. A total of 155 players including 5 IMs and two WIMs took part in this nine-round tournament with a time control of 3 minutes + 2 seconds increment each. The total prize fund was ₹39000. Top three prizes were ₹10000 + trophy, ₹6000 and ₹4000 each respectively. Photo: Lennart Ootes

Aronyak champion in his third consecutive Tata Steel Chess Festival event

The Tata Steel Chess Festival events are generally a much awaited tournament for all. Apart from a strong field and a decent prize fund, players know that the winner has something extra special for them. For the last few years, it was a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to make the first move in the main event. Few winners were able to do it. However, this time, since it was the biggest Tata Steel Chess India event, three champions of the festival were called to receive their prize once again at the closing ceremony of the main event. Receiving the first prize in front of Vishy Anand and world's best players who participated this year is certainly a huge boost for the winners.

Champion - IM Aronyak Ghosh 7.5/9 | Photo: Lennart Ootes
IM Aronyak Ghosh is the winner of Tata Steel Chess Festival 2022 All India Blitz Open | Video: ChessBase India

IM Aronyak Ghosh received his prize from GM Dibyendu Barua at the initial prize distribution, immediately after the event | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Aronyak scored an unbeaten 7.5/9

Runner-up - Subhayan Kundu 7.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

The reigning West Bengal State Senior champion, Subhayan Kundu secured second position in both Rapid Rating and Blitz Open events.

Second Runner-up - FM Aditya Vikram Paul 7.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

4th IM Neelash Saha 7/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Tata Steel Chess Festival 2022 All India Rapid Rating Open champion, IM Neelash Saha secured fourth place for the second year in-a-row.

5th FM Aswath R 7/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

6th Sayantan Dey 7/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

7th Kaustuv Kundu 7/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

8th Puspal Datta 7/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

9th IM Srijit Paul 7/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

10th Sumit Kumar 7/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

11th IM Utsab Chatterjee 7/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

12th and Best Woman WIM Arpita Mukherjee 7/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

13th Anustoop Biswas 6.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

14th Sanket Chakravarty 6.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

15th Shaon Chowdhury 6.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

16th Ambarish Sharma 6.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

17th Niladri Shekhar Bhattacharya 6.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

18th WIM Chandreyee Hajra 6.5/9 \ Photo: Shahid Ahmed

19th Sayantan Dutta 6/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

20th Debasish Mukherjee 6/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

For more photos, please click here.

Final standings

Rk.SNoNamesexGrFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
12IMAronyak GhoshIND2421WB7,5495444,25
214Subhayan KunduIND2207WB7,5495342,25
34FMAditya Vikram PaulIND2304WB7,547,55242,75
43IMNeelash SahaIND2312WB750,554,540,50
510FMAshwath R.IND2240TN7505439,50
672Sayantan DeyIND1346WB748,552,539,75
713Kaustuv KunduIND2208WB748,55237,50
868Puspal DattaIND1393WB74851,537,50
96IMSrijit PaulIND2282WB7475036,00
1018Sumit KumarIND2097WB743,546,534,50
1111Utsab ChatterjeeIND2234WB74347,537,00
1216WIMArpita MukherjeewIND2129WB740,542,533,00
1312Anustoop BiswasIND2212WB6,5505538,50
148Sanket ChakravartyIND2269WB6,549,554,536,50
1527Shaon ChowdhuryIND1897WB6,54447,530,75
1626Ambarish SharmaIND1901WB6,543,545,531,25
1728Bhattacharya Niladri ShekharIND1869WB6,542,546,532,25
1835WIMChandreyee HajrawIND1725WB6,53942,527,75
197Dutta SayantanIND2272WB649,553,532,75
2019Debasish MukherjeeIND2049WB64851,531,00


Contact Us