chessbase india logo

Adhiban, Sethuraman, Gukesh, Laxman and Nandhidhaa receive Outstanding Sportsperson award by Tamil Nadu government

by Shahid Ahmed - 11/02/2021

It is safe to say that we all like when our hard work and efforts are appreciated by a public acknowledgement. The sense of pride and happiness satiate all the tireless time and work one has put to overcome all odds. GMs Adhiban, Sethuraman, Gukesh, Laxman and WGM Nandhidhaa have won countless prizes and accolades. On Monday 8th February when Tamil Nadu government awarded them the prestigious Chief Minster's Outstanding Sports Persons award, it was such a fantastic moment for them, their family and the entire chess fraternity.

Five players acknowledged by Tamil Nadu Government

Outstanding Sports Person Award winners (L to R) - Laxman, Adhiban, Sethuraman, Gukesh and Nandhidhaa

On Monday 8th February, five of India's top players from Tamil Nadu were invited to Tamil Nadu Secretariat to be feted by the Chief Minister's State Sports Award in Outstanding Sportspersons category. We reached out to everyone to get their thoughts on winning such a prestigious award.

Adhiban with his Outstanding Sportspersons award and certificate in front of his trophy cabinet

India no.4 GM Adhiban B shared, "Yeah it was a great feeling! Glad to be honoured with such an award!!"

Adhiban's memento and certificate

Sethuraman receives Outstanding Sportspersons award from Tamil Nadu Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami

India no.6 GM Sethuraman S P tweeted, "Thanks to the honourable Chief Minister of TamilNadu Shri Edappadi K Palaniswami for bestowing me the Outstanding sportsperson award (Chess)."

Gukesh receives his Outstanding Sportspersons award

India's youngest GM D Gukesh shared, "Thanks. Happy and feels good when our efforts are getting recognised which motivates me and encourages to move to next level by putting more hardwork now."

Laxman receives his Outstanding Sportspersons award 2010-11

GM Laxman R R representing Integral Coach Factory of Indian Railways exclaimed, "I feel elated and glorious to receive the award from the respected and honourable Chief Minister Of Tamil Nadu."

P.V. Nandhidhaa receives her Outstanding Sportspersons award - Women

WGM P V Nandhidhaa shared, "I feel very happy to receive this honour from the state government. It is the need of the hour to get such positive vibes during these tiring covid pandemic when every sportsperson is facing so many challenges. I feel very motivated to perform better in upcoming tournaments."

Chess players are also well aware of the Covid protocols

Statemates who have represented India numerous times are also very good friends

Related news:
Tamil Nadu State Government felicitates players with 1 crore 98 lacs cash award

@ 09/10/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
15 वर्षीय प्रणव बने तामिलनाडु राज्य शतरंज विजेता

@ 07/04/2021 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Pranav V wins 68th Tamil Nadu State Open 2021 with a 100% score 9.0/9

@ 07/04/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
68th Tamil Nadu State Open: Pranav V takes sole lead 6.0/6

@ 31/03/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sivakasi Chess Club and Covid-19

@ 19/02/2021 by R Anantharam (en)
Aravindh wins Karaikudi Grand Prix Rapid Rating Open

@ 06/02/2020 by R Anantharam (en)
Laxman wins 2nd Open Rapid Rating at Trichy

@ 11/01/2020 by R Anantharam (en)
IM Harikrishnan wins Ramco 2nd FIDE Rated Open 2019

@ 16/12/2019 by R Anantharam (en)
Vaishali wins Sivakasi Grand Prix Open Rapid

@ 28/11/2019 by R Anantharam (en)
IM Arjun Kalyan and Pranav Venkatesh win Velammal Rapid and Blitz

@ 12/11/2019 by R Anantharam (en)
Manigandan wins 15th KCM Open

@ 08/10/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sabarish triumphs at Rotary 100 years Celebration open

@ 04/10/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
IM Khusenkhojaev wins Courtalam Saaral FIDE Rated Open

@ 18/09/2019 by R Anantharam (en)
Raahul V S triumphs at Talent Chess Academy 1st Open Rating

@ 02/09/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Courtalam Saaral International Rating Open Preview

@ 25/08/2019 by R Anantharam (en)
Karthikeyan Murali wins 1st A S Subbaraman Memorial Trophy Blitz Rating 2019

@ 23/08/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
R Balasubramaniam wins Thalavaipuram All India Open

@ 22/08/2019 by R Anantharam (en)
Chess Bonanza in Tamil Nadu

@ 16/05/2019 by R Anantharam (en)