chessbase india logo

60th National Championship 2023 R8: Sethuraman maintains his sole lead

by Shahid Ahmed - 24/08/2023

GM Sethuraman S P (PSPB) defeated GM Visakh N R (RSPB) emphatically to maintain his sole lead 7.5/8. GM Iniyan P (TN) registered his second hat-trick of the event as he won against GM Abhimanyu Puranik (AAI). GM Diptayan Ghosh won the All-West Bengal clash against GM Mitrabha Guha. IM Aronyak Ghosh (RSPB) got the better of GM Deep Sengupta (PSPB) when the latter blundered in an equal endgame. IM Neelash Saha (RSPB) beat a Commonwealth Gold medalist for the second round in-a-row. Three out of the top five boards ended in 25 moves or less, all five of them were decisive. This certainly speaks volumes about the level of competitiveness among India's strong titled players. Sethuraman will be up against Aronyak in Round 9 which starts today at 3 p.m. IST. Photos: Siddhant Mahajan

25 moves or less

The ongoing FIDE World Cup is clearly inspiring a lot of players to give their best at this event. Because, everyone is aware that apart from high reward as cash prizes, the winner of the event earns an important spot at the next edition of FIDE World Cup.

GM Sethuraman S P is still in sole lead 7.5/8

Visakh - Sethuraman: 0-1

The only time GM Visakh N R (2540) defeated GM Sethuraman S P (2591) was in their very first encounter almost a decade ago. Their last encounter at 55th Biel Masters last year ended in a draw.

Position after 19.h5

19.h5 actually did not launch White's attack first. It did the opposite Nxc2 20.Qxc2 b4 21.Ne2 b3 22.Qc5 bxa2+ 23.Kxa2 Qb8 24.Qc3 Nc4 25.Nc1 Re7 White did not even get an opportunity to attack on the kingside before Black gained a substantial advantage.

Abhimanyu - Iniyan: 0-1

GM Iniyan P (2502) has never beaten GM Abhimanyu Puranik (2611) in a rated game. After yesterday's immortal win over GM Venkatesh M R, Iniyan was definitely in good form.

Position after 35.Rxb7

In a complex queen, rook and two knights endgame, White blundered 35.Rxb7?? Ng5 36.Qxc6 Nfe4 and Black won the game in another four moves. Time trouble is likely the reason Black could not execute 36...Ng4.

GM Iniyan P (TN) registered another fine victory

Mitrabha - Diptayan: 0-1

The sole Classical rated game between GM Mitrabha Guha (WB, 2505) and GM Diptayan Ghosh (2568) took place over 4.5 years ago. Diptayan prevailed in that one. This time also the result was the same.

Position after 18.Nd4

18.Nd4 turned out to be a positional mistake by White as Black castled his king away to safety and also cleared the path for his cornered rook at h8. 18...0-0 19.g3 Rfa8 20.Kc1 Ne4 21.Rxe4 Ra1+ 22.Kd2 Rxd1 23.Kxd1 dxe4 24.h4 Ra5 25.Be3 Bd5 and White did not have much to go on.

GM Diptayan Ghosh won the all West Bengal clash against GM Mitrabha Guha

Aronyak - Deep: 1-0

IM Aronyak Ghosh (2538) won their first encounter against GM Deep Sengupta (2474) back in 2021, drew the second earlier this year. The third one was also heading towards a draw until the multi-time Hastings Masters winner made a minute inaccuracy in the rook and knight endgame.

Position after 36.Ng5

Here Black made the mistake of playing 36...f6?? which dropped the e6-pawn for free with a couple of checks 37.Rd8+ Kg7 40.Nxe6+ and White won the game eventually. 36...b5 would have continued the fight.

IM Aronyak Ghosh (RSPB) - GM Deep Sengupta (PSPB): 1-0

IM Neelash Saha (RSPB) - IM P Shyam Nikhil (RSPB): 1-0

GM Surya Sekhar Ganguly (PSPB) - IM C R G Krishna (RSPB): 0.5-0.5

CM Soham Kamotra (J&K) - GM Deepan Chakkravarthy (RSPB): 0.5-0.5

CM Rajesh Nayak (ODI) - IM Anuj Shrivatri (MP): 0.5-0.5

IM Arghyadip Das (RSPB) - Vedant Garg (CHD): 0-1

Ram S Krishnan (BSNL) - GM Venkatesh M R (PSPB): 0.5-0.5

IM P Konguvel (PSPB) - Mandar Pradip Lad (Goa): 0.5-0.5

A total of 352 players including 18 GMs, 17 IMs and a WGM are taking part in this tournament from various states across the country. The eleven-round Swiss League Rating tournament is taking place at Boxing Hall, Shri Shiv Chhatrapati Sports Complex in Pune, Maharashtra from 16th to 26th August 2023. The time control of the event is 90 minutes for 40 moves followed by 30 minutes with an increment of 30 seconds from move no.1


The total prize fund of the tournament is ₹3000000. The top three prizes are ₹600000, ₹500000 and ₹400000 each.

Replay Round 8 games

Round 8 results

16GMVisakh, N R2540RSPB60 - 1GMSethuraman, S.P.2591PSPB3PGN
22GMPuranik, Abhimanyu2611AAI60 - 16GMIniyan, P2502TN9PGN
38GMMitrabha, Guha2505WB60 - 16GMGhosh, Diptayan2568WB5PGN
47IMAronyak, Ghosh2538RSPB61 - 06GMSengupta, Deep2474PSPB12PGN
516IMNeelash, Saha2435RSPB61 - 0IMShyaamnikhil, P2467RSPB13PGN
64GMGanguly, Surya Shekhar2583PSPB½ - ½IMKrishna, C R G2405RSPB23PGN
710GMVignesh, N R2501RSPB1 - 0GMSriram, Jha2316LIC31PGN
825IMMehar, Chinna Reddy C.H.2384RSPB0 - 1GMAkash, G2456TN14PGN
926CMSoham, Kamotra2381J&K½ - ½GMDeepan, Chakkravarthy J.2446RSPB15PGN
1041CMNayak, Rajesh2194ODI½ - ½IMAnuj, Shrivatri2420MP18PGN
1152Apoorv, Kamble2082KAR0 - 1GMVishnu, Prasanna. V2411TN21PGN
1222IMSrihari, L R2407TN1 - 0Vignesh, Advaith Vemula2018TEL62PGN
1320IMDas, Arghyadip2413RSPB50 - 1Vedant, Garg1529CHD253PGN
1464Imocha, Laishram2004PSPB50 - 15GMGupta, Abhijeet2625PSPB1PGN
1580Setumadhav, Yellumahanthi1942AP50 - 15GMDas, Sayantan2489RSPB11PGN
1682Ram, S. Krishnan1941BSNL5½ - ½5GMVenkatesh, M.R.2434PSPB17PGN
1798Shankhodip, De1883WB50 - 15IMSidhant, Mohapatra2420RSPB19PGN
18150Harsh, Himanshu1744BIH50 - 15Sahoo, Utkal Ranjan2367ODI27PGN
1928GMLaxman, R.R.2349RSPB51 - 05Bharadia, Yash1997RAJ65PGN
2033IMKonguvel, Ponnuswamy2250PSPB5½ - ½5Lad, Mandar Pradip1954GOA75PGN


Standings after Round 8

Rk.SNoNamesexFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
13GMSethuraman, S.P.IND2591PSPB7,540,544,541,5007
25GMGhosh, DiptayanIND2568WB737,54135,2506
37IMAronyak, GhoshIND2538RSPB737,540,536,0006
49GMIniyan, PIND2502TN7364034,0007
516IMNeelash, SahaIND2435RSPB7353833,2506
610GMVignesh, N RIND2501RSPB6,53942,532,2506
721GMVishnu, Prasanna. VIND2411TN6,5374131,5006
822IMSrihari, L RIND2407TN6,536,540,530,2506
914GMAkash, GIND2456TN6,533,536,530,2506
10253Vedant, GargIND1529CHD6,532,536,529,7505
1112GMSengupta, DeepIND2474PSPB64245,531,0006
122GMPuranik, AbhimanyuIND2611AAI640,544,530,7505
134GMGanguly, Surya ShekharIND2583PSPB639,543,531,7504
148GMMitrabha, GuhaIND2505WB63942,529,0005
1515GMDeepan, Chakkravarthy J.IND2446RSPB6384230,7504
161GMGupta, AbhijeetIND2625PSPB6384128,0006
17161Kolla, BhaavanIND1727AP6384027,7505
1826CMSoham, KamotraIND2381J&K63741,529,5005
1927Sahoo, Utkal RanjanIND2367ODI6374128,5006
2048FMDhananjay, SIND2133CHAT63740,528,7505


Round 9 pairings

13GMSethuraman, S.P.2591PSPB7IMAronyak, Ghosh2538RSPB7
25GMGhosh, Diptayan2568WB77IMNeelash, Saha2435RSPB16
39GMIniyan, P2502TN7GMVignesh, N R2501RSPB10
414GMAkash, G2456TNIMSrihari, L R2407TN22
521GMVishnu, Prasanna. V2411TNVedant, Garg1529CHD253
61GMGupta, Abhijeet2625PSPB66CMSoham, Kamotra2381J&K26
719IMSidhant, Mohapatra2420RSPB66GMPuranik, Abhimanyu2611AAI2
827Sahoo, Utkal Ranjan2367ODI66GMGanguly, Surya Shekhar2583PSPB4
923IMKrishna, C R G2405RSPB66GMVisakh, N R2540RSPB6
1059WGMKiran, Manisha Mohanty2044LIC66GMMitrabha, Guha2505WB8
1111GMDas, Sayantan2489RSPB66GMLaxman, R.R.2349RSPB28
1212GMSengupta, Deep2474PSPB66Kolla, Bhaavan1727AP161
1315GMDeepan, Chakkravarthy J.2446RSPB66CMNayak, Rajesh2194ODI41
1418IMAnuj, Shrivatri2420MP66FMDhananjay, S2133CHAT48
1517GMVenkatesh, M.R.2434PSPB6Om, Nagnath Lamkane1786MAH133
1613IMShyaamnikhil, P2467RSPBVignesh, Advaith Vemula2018TEL62
1767Mahindrakar, Indrajeet1996MAHIMNitin, S.2386RSPB24
1875Lad, Mandar Pradip1954GOAIMMehar, Chinna Reddy C.H.2384RSPB25
1929GMKarthikeyan, P.2325RSPBAjay, Santhosh Parvathareddy2034UP60
20125Tadam, Dupit1792ARUIMUtsab, Chatterjee2322WB30



Tournament Details

Maharashtra Chess Association

Contact Us