chessbase india logo

13-year-olds Arjun Adireddy and Shubhi Gupta are National Junior 2023 Open and Girls Champions

by Shahid Ahmed - 30/09/2023

CM Arjun Adireddy (TEL) scored an unbeaten 10/11 to win 52nd National Junior Under-19 Open 2023. Shubhi Gupta (UP) had a 9.5/11 score to win 37th National Junior Girls event. While Arjun finished a full point ahead, Shubhi became champion by staying a half point of the field. IM Manish Anto Cristiano F (TN) and Dhanashree Khairmode (MAH) scored sole 9/11 to secure second place. Yash Bharadia (RAJ) and Sneha Halder (WB) were adjudged third scoring 8.5/11 each. The total prize fund combining Open and Girls section was ₹1000000. The top three prizes in both Open and Girls sections were ₹100000, ₹72000 and ₹60000 along with a trophy each respectively. Both of them are 13-year-olds born on 1st January 2010. Photos: FA FI Juily Kulkarni

Arjun and Shubhi become clear champions

The sole leader in the Open section - CM Arjun Adireddy (TEL) defeated Kartavya Anadkat (GUJ) to become the champion. Among the Girls, Shubhi Gupta (UP) got the better of WFM Bhagyashree Patil (MAH) to become the champion. 

Champion in Open - CM Arjun Adireddy (TEL) 10/11

Champion in Girls - Shubhi Gupta (UP) 9.5/11
13-year-old girl from Ghaziabad - Shubhi Gupta wins 37th National Juniors Under-19 Girls 2023 | Video: ChessBase India

52nd National Junior Open and 37th National Junior Girls 2023 champions - Arjun Adireddy (TEL) 10/11 and Shubhi Gupta (UP) 9.5/11

Fun fact: Both champions are 13-year-olds and born on 1st January 2010.

Open: Runner-up - IM Manish Anto Cristiano F (TN) 9/11

Girls: Runner-up - Dhanashree Khairmode (MAH) 9/11

Open: Second Runner-up - Yash Bharadia (RAJ) 8.5/11

Girls: Second Runner-up - Sneha Halder (WB) 8.5/11

Arjun - Kartavya

Position after 21.f4

Few moves ago, Kartavya Anadkat (GUJ, 2177) sacrificed an exchange to gain initiative. CM Arjun Adireddy (TEL, 2057) managed to equalize the position. After 21.f4 what Black needed to avoid is exchange a bunch of pieces. 21...Nxf4 22.Rxf4 Rxf4 23.Bxf4 Qxf4 24.Nxe4 Bxe4 25.Qxe4 and the resultant exchange down queen endgame is lost for Black. He soon landed in an unstoppable checkmate threat.

CM Arjun Adireddy (TEL) defeated Kartavya Anadkat (GUJ) to become the champion

CM Arjun Adireddy scored an unbeaten 10/11, finished a full point ahead of the field and gained 121.6 Elo rating points

IM Manish Anto Cristiano F (TN) won against Manas Gaikwad (MAH) to secure second place

Girls: Bhagyashree - Shubhi

Position after 20...Nde3

King's Gambit opening did not work for WFM Bhagyashree Patil (MAH, 1879). She got a worse position out of the opening. Her opponent, Shubhi Gupta (UP, 1761) got a substantial advantage as it can be seen after 20...Nde3 from the above position. Black won the game in another nine moves.

Shubhi Gupta (UP) scored a convincing victory over WFM Bhagyashree Patil (MAH) to become the champion

Shubhi Gupta scored 9.5/11, finished a half point ahead of others and increased her Elo rating by 141.2 points

Dhanashree Khairmode (MAH) drew against Kanishka S (TN) to finish second

Top five prize winners of Open and Girls category

The tournament hall at Karnavati Club in Ahmedabad, Gujarat

For more Prize distribution ceremony and Round 11 photos, please click here.


A total of 223 players including 2 IMs in the Open and 129 players including 2 WIMs in the Girls tournament took part. The tournaments were organized by Gujarat State Chess Association at Karnavati Club in Ahmedabad, Gujarat from 20th to 28th September 2023. The eleven-round Swiss league tournament had a time control of 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1

Replay Open Round 11 games

Replay Girls Round 11 games

Open Round 11 results

111CMAdireddy, Arjun2057TEL91 - 08Anadkat, Kartavya2177Gujarat8PGN
22IMManish, Anto Cristiano F2372TN81 - 0Gaikwad, Manas1866MAH26PGN
323Kartik, Kumar Singh1901MAH0 - 1Srihari, L2207PUD4PGN
45Apoorv, Kamble2201KAR1 - 0Vrandesh, Parekh1839Gujarat33PGN
512Bharadia, Yash2000RAJ1 - 0Sriram, Adarsh Uppala1883TEL24PGN
67Dhyey, Agarwal2178Gujarat0 - 17Nandish, V S1835TN35PGN
748Sathvik, Adiga1754KAR70 - 17Sanket, Chakravarty2381WB1PGN
83FMHarshad, S2236TN71 - 07Mukund, Hemant Agarwal1917Gujarat20PGN
910Alekhya, Mukhopadhyay2149WB71 - 07Sharnarthi, Viresh1764MAH44PGN
1015Lad, Mandar Pradip1959Goa70 - 17CMMrithyunjay, Mahadevan1818TN38PGN


Final standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
111CMAdireddy, ArjunIND2057TEL10758072,2509
22IMManish, Anto Cristiano FIND2372TN975,58164,2508
312Bharadia, YashIND2000RAJ8,5748060,5008
426Gaikwad, ManasIND1866MAH8,57378,558,5008
54Srihari, LIND2207PUD8,5707554,5008
65Apoorv, KambleIND2201KAR8,565,570,554,7508
710Alekhya, MukhopadhyayIND2149WB8747952,0008
88Anadkat, KartavyaIND2177Gujarat872,57853,5007
91Sanket, ChakravartyIND2381WB87176,553,0006
1038CMMrithyunjay, MahadevanIND1818TN8707550,0008
113FMHarshad, SIND2236TN86974,554,0005
1231Bhoir, Paras DilipIND1841MAH866,57151,0007
1335Nandish, V SIND1835TN86064,545,5008
147Dhyey, AgarwalIND2178Gujarat7,5737850,7507
1523Kartik, Kumar SinghIND1901MAH7,571,57646,7506
1624Sriram, Adarsh UppalaIND1883TEL7,570,57646,7507
1733Vrandesh, ParekhIND1839Gujarat7,5697446,7507
1821Dinesh, Rajan MIND1908TN7,56972,547,0006
1937Arshpreet, SinghIND1822HAR7,567,57246,7506
2032Daaevik, WadhawanIND1839Delhi7,5636844,2507


Girls Round 11 results

17WFMBhagyashree, Patil1879MAH80 - 1AFMShubhi, Gupta1761UP15PGN
227Khairmode, Dhanashree1616MAH½ - ½8Kanishka, S1716TN19PGN
310Sneha, Halder1835WB1 - 0Marium, Fatima1715Bihar20PGN
426Rajanya, Datta1654WB0 - 1Sachi, Jain1756Delhi16PGN
517Ishvi, Aggarwal1748HAR70 - 17Mrittika, Mallick2059WB3PGN
66Tejaswini, G1905TN70 - 17Dakshita, Kumawat1690RAJ21PGN
71WFMKheerthi, Ganta2148TEL1 - 0Drishtee, Ghosh1495KAR45PGN
811Rebecca, Jesumarian1811TN½ - ½Kale, Shruti1567MAH35PGN
931Arshiya, Das1596TRI1 - 0Anupam, M Sreekumar1721KER18PGN
1052Akshaya, Sathi1446KAR1 - 0Kashthuri, Bhai R1689AND22PGN


Final standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
115AFMShubhi, GuptawIND1761UP9,5747961,5009
227Khairmode, DhanashreewIND1616MAH9747861,5007
310Sneha, HalderwIND1835WB8,5758060,0008
419Kanishka, SwIND1716TN8,571,57756,2507
516Sachi, JainwIND1756Delhi8,569,574,555,0008
621Dakshita, KumawatwIND1690RAJ873,578,553,5008
73Mrittika, MallickwIND2059WB8727751,2507
87WFMBhagyashree, PatilwIND1879MAH86871,549,2507
91WFMKheerthi, GantawIND2148TEL7,573,57848,7506
1020Marium, FatimawIND1715Bihar7,57277,550,5006
1152Akshaya, SathiwIND1446KAR7,564,568,541,5007
1226Rajanya, DattawIND1654WB7,56366,542,2506
1331Arshiya, DaswIND1596TRI7,5626742,5006
1429Swara, Lakshmi S NairwIND1601KAR7,5606441,7507
1517Ishvi, AggarwalwIND1748HAR774,579,547,5007
166Tejaswini, GwIND1905TN773,57944,5007
172WIMMrudul, DehankarwIND2059MAH7707442,5006
188WCMBristy, MukherjeewIND1858WB7687243,7505
1935Kale, ShrutiwIND1567MAH767,57143,2505
2032Divyabharathi, MasanamwIND1596TN7677244,7504


Contact Us