chessbase india logo

49th National Women 2023 R8: Bhakti Kulkarni still in sole lead

by Shahid Ahmed - 08/07/2023

IM Bhakti Kulkarni (Goa) got a few good opportunities to extend her lead in the eighth round of 49th National Women Chess Championship 2023. It has been over a decade since Bhakti defeated WGM Mary Ann Gomes (PSPB) in a rated game. She had a few chances in the endgame, unfortunately for her, she could not seize them. The only other pursuer, WIM Mahalakshmi M (RSPB) held IM Soumya Swaminathan (PSPB) to a solid draw. It allowed WGM Srija Seshadri (TN), WIM Mrudul Dehankar (MAH) and IM Padmini Rout (PSPB) to reduce the gap with the leader 6.5/8. It will be Padmini vs Bhakti on the top board in Round 9 which starts today at 10 a.m. IST.

Five in pursuit

Sarayu Velpula (TEL), Sneha Halder (WB) and Kashthuri Bhai R (AND) held WIM Mounika Akshaya Bommini (AP), IM Eesha Karavade (PSPB) and WIM Vishwa Vasnawala (GUJ) to a draw each respectively.

IM Bhakti Kulkarni maintains her sole lead 7/8

Bhakti - Mary: 0.5-0.5

IM Bhakti Kulkarni (Goa, 2315) has defeated WGM Mary Ann Gomes (PSPB, 2315) only twice out of their 13 rated game encounters against each other. The former won only twice. 11 out of 13 games were played in National championships. The last time Bhakti defeated Mary in a tournament was February 2013. She got a very good opportunity to register her third win over Mary.

Position after 43.Rh7+

Black has to make a critical choice. Where should the king move - up or down? 43...Kd6?? is a mistake as 44.fxg4 hxg4 45.Rh6+ Kd5 46.Rxa6 and White is winning. White missed this and opted for 45.Rg7 Rc5 46.Rg6+ Ke7 47.Rxa6 Rxc3 48.b4? One last chance to push for a win was 48.Ra8. The game continued 48...Rc4 49.Ra8 Kd6 and Black managed to salvage a draw in another ten moves.

A total of 156 players including 6 IMs, 6 WGMs and 10 WIMs are taking part from various states and units across the country in this eleven-day eleven-round Swiss League National Women Rating tournament. The tournament is organized by Gujarat State Chess Association at Rajpath Club in Ahmedabad, Gujarat from 30th June to 10th July 2023. The time control of the event is 90 mins/40 moves + 30 mins/end + 30 seconds increment from move no. 1.

Replay Round 8 games

Round 8 results

13IMKulkarni, Bhakti2315GOA½ - ½6WGMGomes, Mary Ann2315PSPB4
29WIMMahalakshmi, M2242RSPB6½ - ½IMSoumya, Swaminathan2293PSPB6
32IMPadmini, Rout2353PSPB1 - 0WGMVarshini, V2120TN18
421WGMKiran, Manisha Mohanty2049LIC0 - 1WGMSrija, Seshadri2226TN10
523WIMMrudul, Dehankar2030MAH1 - 0WIMTejaswini, Sagar1931GUJ28
619WIMBommini, Mounika Akshaya2094AP5½ - ½Velpula, Sarayu1845TEL34
75IMKaravade, Eesha2293PSPB5½ - ½5Sneha, Halder1807WB36
87WIMSharma, Isha2267KAR51 - 05Mrittika, Mallick1948WB27
939Rindhiya, V1764TN50 - 15WGMPratyusha, Bodda2250AP8
1011WIMChitlange, Sakshi2225MAH51 - 05Rebecca, Jesumarian1750TN40


Standings after Round 8

Rk.SNoNameTypsexGrFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
13IMKulkarni, BhaktiwNIND2315GOA739,543,537,0006
210WGMSrija, SeshadriwNIND2226TN6,539,543,533,7506
34WGMGomes, Mary AnnwNIND2315PSPB6,539,54333,5005
49WIMMahalakshmi, MwNIND2242RSPB6,53841,532,5005
523WIMMrudul, DehankarU20wNIND2030MAH6,53740,531,2506
62IMPadmini, RoutwNIND2353PSPB6,5353931,0006
734Velpula, SarayuU18wSIND1845TEL63943,532,0004
86IMSoumya, SwaminathanwNIND2293PSPB6394331,0005
911WIMChitlange, SakshiwNIND2225MAH636,540,528,2505
108WGMPratyusha, BoddawNIND2250AP635,539,527,0006
117WIMSharma, IshawNIND2267KAR633,536,526,5005
1225WGMSwati, GhatewNIND2008LIC63033,526,0006
1319WIMBommini, Mounika AkshayaU20wNIND2094AP5,539,54327,5004
1418WGMVarshini, VwNIND2120TN5,539,542,526,5004
151WGMDivya, DeshmukhU18wNIND2389MAH5,537,541,526,7505
1628WIMTejaswini, SagarwNIND1931GUJ5,537,54023,7505
1715WIMArpita, MukherjeewNIND2160WB5,535,538,524,7505
1820WFMSaranya, JwNIND2050TN5,5353925,2505
1951Kalyani, SirinU14wNIND1660KER5,53538,525,0005
205IMKaravade, EeshawNIND2293PSPB5,534,538,525,5003


Round 9 pairings

12IMPadmini, Rout2353PSPB7IMKulkarni, Bhakti2315GOA3
24WGMGomes, Mary Ann2315PSPBWIMMrudul, Dehankar2030MAH23
310WGMSrija, Seshadri2226TNWIMMahalakshmi, M2242RSPB9
46IMSoumya, Swaminathan2293PSPB66WIMChitlange, Sakshi2225MAH11
58WGMPratyusha, Bodda2250AP66WIMSharma, Isha2267KAR7
634Velpula, Sarayu1845TEL66WGMSwati, Ghate2008LIC25
736Sneha, Halder1807WBWGMDivya, Deshmukh2389MAH1
828WIMTejaswini, Sagar1931GUJIMKaravade, Eesha2293PSPB5
937WFMPotluri, Supreetha1796APWIMArpita, Mukherjee2160WB15
1049Sachi, Jain1675DELWFMNimmy, A.G.2151KER17



Tournament Details

Gujarat State Chess Association: Official site

Contact Us