chessbase india logo

49th National Women 2023 is poised for an exciting finish

by Shahid Ahmed - 10/07/2023

WIM Mahalakshmi M (TN) held IM Bhakti Kulkarni (Goa) to a draw. It threw the 49th National Women Championship 2023 wide open. PSPB's IM Padmini Rout and WGM Mary Ann Gomes defeated WIM Mrudul Dehankar (MAH) and WGM Srija Seshadri (TN) to join Bhakti in a three-way lead to the finish 8/10 each. The defending champion, IM Divya Deshmukh (MAH) defeated Sarayu Velpula (TEL) to get herself back in the championship contention. Four players - Mahalakshmi, Divya, WIM Arpita Mukherjee (WB) and WIM Isha Sharma (KAR) are at 7.5/10 each. Divya has an outside chance to win the event for the third year in-a-row. However, Padmini can win it for herself too. Final Round 11 starts today at 10 a.m. IST. Photo: Parth Shah

Bhakti, Mary and Padmini at 8/10, Divya has an outside chance

IM Divya Deshmukh (MAH) scored a hat-trick of wins to get herself back at the top. She can still win this event. First she needs to beat IM Padmini Rout (PSPB) and hope a few results go in her favor. Similarly Padmini, Bhakti and Mary - all three can win this event too. In the penultimate round, WIM Isha Sharma (KAR) and WIM Arpita Mukherjee (WB) scored impressive wins over WGM Varshini V (TN) and WGM Swati Ghate (LIC) respectively.

49th National Women Chess Championship 2023 is definitely heading for an exciting finish | Photo: Parth Shah

Srija - Mary: 0-1

WGM Srija Seshadri (TN, 2226) and WGM Mary Ann Gomes (PSPB, 2315) had all three results in their three encounters. All of them took place at National Women championships. The last one occurred at the beginning of this year which was won by Mary with the black pieces. She repeated the same result.

Position after 16...h4

Black launched a devastating attack on the kingside 15...h5 followed by 16...h4 17. Kg2 hxg3 18.hxg3 g5. Mary's play was evident that she was playing for only one result. That is exactly what she got. White couldn't get out of the gate and the Asian Continental 2023 Women Silver medalist won the game.

WGM Mary Ann Gomes (PSPB) 8/10 | Photo: Kolhapur Chess Association

WIM Isha Sharma (KAR, pictured) - WGM Varshini V (TN): 1-0 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

WGM Swati Ghate (LIC) - WIM Arpita Mukherjee (WB, pictured): 0-1 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

A total of 156 players including 6 IMs, 6 WGMs and 10 WIMs are taking part from various states and units across the country in this eleven-day eleven-round Swiss League National Women Rating tournament. The tournament is organized by Gujarat State Chess Association at Rajpath Club in Ahmedabad, Gujarat from 30th June to 10th July 2023. The time control of the event is 90 mins/40 moves + 30 mins/end + 30 seconds increment from move no. 1.

Replay Round 10 games

Round 10 results

13IMKulkarni, Bhakti2315GOA½ - ½7WIMMahalakshmi, M2242RSPB9
223WIMMrudul, Dehankar2030MAH70 - 17IMPadmini, Rout2353PSPB2
310WGMSrija, Seshadri2226TN70 - 17WGMGomes, Mary Ann2315PSPB4
41WGMDivya, Deshmukh2389MAH1 - 0Velpula, Sarayu1845TEL34
517WFMNimmy, A.G.2151KER½ - ½IMSoumya, Swaminathan2293PSPB6
67WIMSharma, Isha2267KAR1 - 0WGMVarshini, V2120TN18
721WGMKiran, Manisha Mohanty2049LIC½ - ½WGMPratyusha, Bodda2250AP8
811WIMChitlange, Sakshi2225MAH½ - ½WFMSaranya, J2050TN20
925WGMSwati, Ghate2008LIC0 - 1WIMArpita, Mukherjee2160WB15
105IMKaravade, Eesha2293PSPB6½ - ½6WIMChandreyee, Hajra1845WB33


Standings after Round 10

Rk.SNoNameTypsexGrFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
13IMKulkarni, BhaktiwNIND2315GOA862,567,551,0006
24WGMGomes, Mary AnnwNIND2315PSPB86064,550,5006
32IMPadmini, RoutwNIND2353PSPB857,56349,2507
49WIMMahalakshmi, MwNIND2242RSPB7,5636748,5005
51WGMDivya, DeshmukhU18wNIND2389MAH7,5586345,5007
615WIMArpita, MukherjeewNIND2160WB7,556,56144,0007
77WIMSharma, IshawNIND2267KAR7,554,558,543,2506
810WGMSrija, SeshadriwNIND2226TN763,56844,5006
96IMSoumya, SwaminathanwNIND2293PSPB760,56645,5005
1019WIMBommini, Mounika AkshayaU20wNIND2094AP760,56441,7505
1123WIMMrudul, DehankarU20wNIND2030MAH7606542,7506
1228WIMTejaswini, SagarwNIND1931GUJ758,56341,5006
1311WIMChitlange, SakshiwNIND2225MAH75862,541,0005
1420WFMSaranya, JwNIND2050TN75761,541,2506
158WGMPratyusha, BoddawNIND2250AP75761,539,7506
1651Kalyani, SirinU14wNIND1660KER755,56040,0006
1713IMMohota, NishawNIND2185PSPB7545837,7506
1817WFMNimmy, A.G.wNIND2151KER75457,538,2505
1921WGMKiran, Manisha MohantywNIND2049LIC753,55838,0006
2034Velpula, SarayuU18wSIND1845TEL6,562,567,542,5004


Round 11 pairings

12IMPadmini, Rout2353PSPB8WGMDivya, Deshmukh2389MAH1
215WIMArpita, Mukherjee2160WB8IMKulkarni, Bhakti2315GOA3
34WGMGomes, Mary Ann2315PSPB8WIMSharma, Isha2267KAR7
49WIMMahalakshmi, M2242RSPB7WIMChitlange, Sakshi2225MAH11
56IMSoumya, Swaminathan2293PSPB77Kalyani, Sirin1660KER51
68WGMPratyusha, Bodda2250AP77WFMNimmy, A.G.2151KER17
728WIMTejaswini, Sagar1931GUJ77WGMSrija, Seshadri2226TN10
820WFMSaranya, J2050TN77IMMohota, Nisha2185PSPB13
919WIMBommini, Mounika Akshaya2094AP77WGMKiran, Manisha Mohanty2049LIC21
1033WIMChandreyee, Hajra1845WB7WIMMrudul, Dehankar2030MAH23



Tournament Details

Gujarat State Chess Association: Official site

Contact Us