chessbase india logo

Tripura Open 2019 begins

by Nongsha Angom - 28/03/2019

Tripura Open 2019 got underway today in the beautiful Shahid Bhagat Singh Youth Hostel, Khejurbagan, Agartala. The event is organized by Matrix Chess Academy. A total number of 209 players are taking part with five titled players in this 5-day event running from 26th March 2019 until 30th March 2019. 5 titled players are competing in the event. GM Saptarshi Roy Chowdhury is the top seed followed by IM Neeraj Kumar Mishra and IM Suvrajit Saha. There was no major upset in the first round of the event but a couple of players were able to create good results in the special simul exhibition by GM Vaibhav Suri and IM NK Mishra. You will find in this pictorial report, everything that happened on day one in Tripura.

Tripura is blessed with natural beautiful water bodies, palaces, forest, and wildlife. The state is very rich in culture and it gets reflected through its historical monuments and heritage sites. When it comes to sport then it is best known for Padma Shri and Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awardee Dipa Karmakar who is the first Indian female gymnast ever to compete in the Olympics. In recent time chess has bloomed in the state under the mentorship of FM Prasenjit Dutta who has the vision to make the state as the chess hub of Northeast and also to produce the first IM from this region. Tripura Open 2019 is special because it the first International Open rated tournament of the state where titled players and players from different federations are taking part. The chess family of Tripura has been feeling blessed from the last couple of days not just because of the event but also due to the presence of GM Vaibhav Suri, India no.12 (with an Elo of 2589) for a special chess workshop.

GM Vaibhav Suri and IM NK Mishra gave a 45 board simul exhibition | Photo: Prasenjit Dutta

The day started off with a simul exhibition by GM Vaibhav Suri and IM NK Mishra. 45 players took part and a couple of them were able to win their games. The best one being the win by 8-year-old Arshiya Das against IM NK Mishra.

Arunika Ghosh (Left) and Arshiya Das (Right) won their games against IM NK Mishra. | Photo: Prasenjit Dutta

Rajbeer Ahmed (left) and Diganta Roy( eight) drew their games against IM N.K Mishra. | Photo: Prasenjit Dutta

The Delhi boy Aditya Roy was the only player who drew against GM Vaibhav Suri. | Photo: Prasenjit Dutta

Director of Youth Affairs and Sports, Tripura Shri Udayan Sinha TCS (SSG) was the chief guest in the opening ceremony.

Shri Udayan Sinha Director of Youth Affairs and Sports, Tripura while addressing in the opening ceremony congratulated Matrix Academy founder FM Prasenjit Dutta for taking the initiative to revive chess in Tripura and also assured that the government will help him in all of the future activities related to chess. 

The brain behind the Tripura Open 2019, FM Prasenjit Dutta. 

Promising players who brought laurels to the state were felicitated with a glittering trophy.

Future stars with the dignitaries in one frame.

Shri Udayan Sinha making the first move of the event.

At 62 Sikha Das Gupta is one of the oldest women players of the event.

Sometimes it's about confidence in your position to go for a power nap while it's your turn to move.

Nothing less than 100%...All in.

A lot of young girls are participating in the event, which is very encouraging for our sport

Some glimpses from both the playing halls of the event.

At the time of publication of this report, three rounds had been completed and these are the standings:

Ranking after round 3

Rk.SNoNameFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
14Singh S. VikramjitIND22103,00,04,06,0
38Bapu DebbarmaIND14313,00,04,06,0
42Tanisha A R SomIND14173,00,04,06,0
4160Kinkar RoyIND03,00,04,05,5
55IMRamnathan BalasubramaniamIND21763,00,04,05,0
6Anustoop BiswasIND21613,00,04,05,0
8Nath RupankarIND20223,00,04,05,0
10Suvradeepta DasIND19973,00,04,05,0
12Nepal PrakashNEP19613,00,04,05,0
17Iftikar Alom MazumdarIND17483,00,04,05,0
21Alekhya MukhopadhyayIND16093,00,04,05,0
24Arijit GhoshIND15593,00,04,05,0
25Sawyan Baran DeIND15563,00,04,05,0
30Rahul YadavIND15263,00,04,05,0
1516Das MonajIND17683,00,04,04,0
1619Soumyajit Das (Jr)IND16283,00,03,54,5
22Sathyanarayanan S.IND16043,00,03,54,5
27Dutta UmashankarIND15413,00,03,54,5

Complete standings

Contact Us