chessbase india logo

Somak Palit wins Tata Steel Chess Festival 2019 Open Blitz

by Shahid Ahmed - 23/11/2019

IM Somak Palit scored 6.5/7 to win Tata Steel Chess Festival All Bengal Open Blitz 2019. He received a huge beautiful trophy and ₹10000 cash as a prize for his efforts. In the penultimate round, Somak had a narrow escape against Debankan Dhara which the eventual champion survived using stalemate trick. IM Mitrabha Guha also finished at 6.5/7 but due to a lower tie-break score, he had to settle for second place. IM Sayantan Das scored 6.0/7 and he was placed third according to his tie-break score. Total 118 players including 7 IMs participated from all across the state of West Bengal, in this seven-round Blitz tournament with a time control of 3 mins + 2 seconds each. Tata Steel Chess India 2019 Tournament Director Jeroen van den Berg inaugurated the event. Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Somak Palit becomes unbeaten champion

Second seeded IM Somak Palit scored 6.5/7 to win Tata Steel Chess Festival All Bengal Open Blitz tournament 2019. IM Mitrabha Guha also finished with the same score, however due to a lower tie-break score, he was placed second. IM Sayantan Das scored 6.0/7 to secure third position according to the tie-break score.

IM Somak Palit receives the huge beautiful champion's trophy and ₹10000 cash | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Somak's unbeaten championship run
Somak Palit made a miraculous escape in the penultimate round against Debankan Dhara | Video: Shahid Ahmed

When I reached out to Somak for his thoughts on winning the tournament, this is what he said, "I feel very happy. It was a thrilling experience, it prods and inspires me to perform better in future. The organizers should be thanked for conducting such an event besides the main 'Grand Chess Tour' tournament."

Runner-up IM Mitrabha Guha receives ₹6000 cash for his efforts | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

3rd IM Sayantan Das 6.0/7 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

4th Sarbojit Paul 6.0/7 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

5th Debankan Dhara 5.5/7 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

6th Debarshi Mukherjee 5.5/7 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

7th IM Arghyadip Das 5.5/7 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

'Moment of the day' definitely goes to top seed of the tournament IM Arghyadip Das as he quickly offered a draw immediately after noticing that he got flagged. His opponent accepted without taking a look at the clock.

Arghyadip saved a game with a perfectly timed 'draw offer' | Video: Shahid Ahmed

8th Arindam Mukherjee | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

9th Shahid Ahmed 5.5/7 | Photo: Pallabi Roy

10th Praloy Sahoo 5.5/7 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Best Woman Pallabi Roy 4.5/7 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Tata Steel Chess India 2019 Tournament Director Jeroen van den Berg inaugurated the tournament along with Dibyendu Barua | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

The spacious tournament hall | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Total 118 players participated from all across the state of West Bengal | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Final Standings

Rk.SNoNamesexFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
12IMPalit SomakIND23746,50,029,032,029,256
24IMMitrabha GuhaIND23346,50,025,528,026,506
33IMDas SayantanIND23706,00,030,532,026,506
49Sarbojit PaulIND20456,00,028,030,524,006
520Debankan DharaIND19485,50,030,533,523,755
66Debarshi MukherjeeIND22355,50,030,033,524,755
71IMDas ArghyadipIND23825,50,027,030,023,004
810Arindam MukherjeeIND20375,50,026,528,018,755
927AGMShahid Ahmed S.K.IND18155,50,025,527,019,255
1015Praloy SahooIND20075,50,023,525,519,505

Complete standings

Related news:
Aronyak Ghosh wins Tata Steel Chess Festival 2019 Open Rapid

@ 27/11/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us