chessbase india logo

Aronyak Ghosh wins Tata Steel Chess Festival 2019 Open Rapid

by Shahid Ahmed - 27/11/2019

IM Aronyak Ghosh scored an unbeaten 6.5/7 to win Tata Steel Chess Festival 2019 All Bengal Open Rapid tournament. Sayan Bose also scored 6.5/7, however he had to settle for second position according to the tie-break score. IM Sayantan Das scored 6.0/7 and he was placed third, bettering three other player who also finished the same score. Total 149 players including four IMs and a WIM participated from various parts across the state of West Bengal. This was the third and final tournament part of Tata Steel Chess Festival, where all participants were given free entry to spectate the world's best in action on the respective days. A pictorial report of the tournament. Photo: Shahid Ahmed 

IM Aronyak Ghosh becomes the unbeaten champion

Starting out as the sixth seed of the tournament, Aronyak scored an unbeaten 6.5/7 to win the tournament. He scored six consecutive victories along with Sayan Bose whom he faced in the final round. After a draw in the seventh and last round of the tournament, Aronyak clinched the championship.

Champion IM Aronyak Ghosh receives a beautiful trophy and ₹10000 cash for his efforts | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Aronyak's unbeaten championship run

This is what Aronyak had to say after winning the tournament, "Yeah well it definitely feels good to finish first ahead of players like Sayantan da Mitrabha and others. After the blitz tournament massacre, I am obviously very happy to play better chess at the rapid format. Last game against Sayan da, I had some advantage but agreed to a draw as the position was quite complicated and I had some time pressure."

Runner-up Sayan Bose 6.5/7 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Second Runner-up IM Sayantan Das 6.0/7 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

5th Suvradeepta Das 6.0/7 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

6th Sarbojit Paul 6.0/7 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

7th Niladri Shekhar Bhattacharyya 5.5/7 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

8th IM Mitrabha Guha 5.5/7 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

9th Praloy Sahoo 5.5/7 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

10th Shahid Ahmed | Photo: Sumit Roy

11th Sayantan Chandra 5.5/7 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

12th Debarshi Mukherjee 5.5/7 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

13th and Best Woman prize winner - WIM Arpita Mukherjee 5.5/7

14th Sumit Kumar 5.0/7 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

15th Sumit Roy 5.0/7 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

17th Anurag Jaiswal 5.0/7 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

19th Ambarish Sharma 5.0/7 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

21st Satya Sekhar Mitra 5.0/7 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Best Woman 2nd prize 4.5/7 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Photo Gallery

Tournament hall | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

The World Champion and World's top elite GMs signed autographs at the end of this hall, hours after the completion of this event | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

An interesting position | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

J'adoube | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

The 80 and 79-year-old veterans R K Sharma and Nirmal Kumar Bose respectively | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

While C N Pal won the Best Veteran prize, Nirmal Kumar Bose received the Best Veteran second prize. Both of them scored 4.0/7 each and they were placed according to their tie-break score.

Strongest visually challenged player of West Bengal - Yudhajeet De | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Total 149 players including four IMs and a WIM participated from various parts across the state of West Bengal.

Final Standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
16CMAronyak GhoshIND20466,50,530,033,027,756
214Bose SayanIND19126,50,527,530,027,256
31IMDas SayantanIND24136,00,029,033,528,506
432Utsab ChatterjeeIND16506,00,029,030,526,006
522Suvradeepta DasIND18276,00,024,026,523,505
624Sarbojit PaulIND17636,00,022,524,017,006
79Bhattacharya Niladri ShekharIND20155,50,030,533,524,755
83IMMitrabha GuhaIND21225,50,030,533,522,255
935Praloy SahooIND16335,50,028,030,522,255
1025AGMShahid Ahmed S.K.IND17515,50,024,527,021,005
1136Sayantan ChandraIND16235,50,024,527,018,504
127Debarshi MukherjeeIND20275,50,023,526,520,255
1321WIMArpita MukherjeewIND18375,50,022,525,020,755
1413Sumit KumarIND19165,00,029,032,018,505
1529Sumit RoyIND16855,00,028,532,018,005
1619Samrat GhoraiIND18755,00,028,031,520,254
1710Anurag JaiswalIND19625,00,028,031,019,005
1857Arghya SenIND14755,00,028,029,515,505
1938Ambarish SharmaIND15985,00,026,028,018,505
2018Subhayan KunduIND18825,00,025,028,019,005
2133Satya Sekhar MitraIND16345,00,025,028,016,005
2252Aditya Bikram PaulIND15085,00,024,527,015,005
2331Akash TiwariIND16775,00,023,526,519,005
2443AIMDebarghya SamantaIND15745,00,023,526,518,754
2520Haldar AjoyIND18665,00,023,526,018,505
2630Yudhajeet DeIND16835,00,022,024,016,754
2716Subhajit BhattacharyyaIND19015,00,021,524,014,754
2826Avijit GhoshIND17295,00,020,522,515,005
2958Shuvam RoyIND14694,50,030,531,016,754
3087Dhritabrata KunduIND12974,50,028,031,518,753

Complete standings

Related news:
Somak Palit wins Tata Steel Chess Festival 2019 Open Blitz

@ 23/11/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)