chessbase india logo

SAIF Sporting Club ends Bangladesh Police's dominant run at Bangladesh Premier League 2022

by Shahid Ahmed - 11/12/2022

SAIF Sporting Club ended Bangladesh Police's dominant run at Bangabandhu Premier Division Chess League 2022. Bangladesh Police has been winning the Bangladesh Premier League for the past three editions and remained unbeaten while doing so since 2019. SSC started their event by beating the defending champion Bangladesh Police convincingly 3.5-0.5 in the second round. SAIF SC scored an unbeaten 18/20 to become clear champion. Bangladesh Police and debutant in the Premier Division, Palli Sanchoy Bank scored 16/20 and 15/20 to secure second and third place respectively. Top three teams received Tk 125,000, 75000 and 50000 along with a trophy each respectively. Bangladesh Navy won the Sheikh Kamal First Division Chess League 2022. Photo: Bangladesh Chess Federation

S L Narayanan is the top Indian performer

GM S L Narayanan anchored his team SAIF Sporting Club to victory with a staggering 8.5/10. GM Harsha Bharathakoti (Bangladesh Police) and GM Mitrabha Guha (Bangladesh Biman) scored 8/10 each, followed by GM Diptayan Ghosh (Bangladesh Biman), GM Leon Luke Mendonca (Manha's Castle) and IM Nubairshah Shaikh (Titas Club) at 7.5/10 each. While Narayanan maintained his rating, Harsha, Diptayan and Mitrabha gained 5.6, 8.8 and 8.7 Elo rating points.

Champion - SAIF Sporting Club 18/20 | Photo: Bangladesh Chess Federation

Runner-up - Bangladesh Police 16/20 | Photo: Bangladesh Chess Federation

Second Runner-up - Palli Sanchoy Bank 15/20 | Photo: Bangladesh Chess Federation

Champion - SAIF Sporting Club 18/20

SAIF Sporting Club started the tournament with a thumping victory 3.5-0.5 over the defending champions Bangladesh Police in the second round. GM S L Narayanan (2673) and GM Pouya Idani (IRI, 2631) were the top performers for the team 8.5/10, followed by Bangladesh's very own GM Enamul Hossain (2392) scoring a valuable 7.5/10.

Nubairshah - Narayanan, Round 9

Position after 17...f3

IM Nubairshah Shaikh (2439) of Titas Club, needed to play 17.f3 himself to prevent Black from doing so. 17.Ra3 f3 18.gxf3 Bh3 and White can still fight, however it would take a computer-like precision to save the game which is no easy task for a human. Narayanan won the game in another eight moves. Titas Club lost to SAIF Sporting Club by 1-3 in the ninth round.

GM S L Narayanan (SSC) en route his victory against IM Harikrishnan A Ra (LCC) in the final round round | Photo: Bangladesh Chess Federation

GM S L Narayanan and GM Pouya Idani (IRI) are the top performers for SAIF Sporting Club

Runner-up: Bangladesh Police 16/20

The Asian Continental Championship 2022 runner-up, GM Harsha Bharathakoti (2582) powered the team Bangladesh Police with a stellar performance 8/10. He also won the individual board prize on reserve board. In the seventh round, he scored a fine victory against the Commonwealth 2022 Silver medalist, GM Mitrabha Guha (2474).

GM Harsha Bharathakoti is the top scorer 8/10 for the team, followed by GM Ziaur Rahman 6.5/9 and GM Sandipan Chanda 6.5/10

Board prize

Board no.1 - GM Enamul Hossain (SAIF Sporting Club) 2451, 7.5/9

Board no.2 - GM Leon Luke Mendonca (Manha's Castle) 2442, 7.5/10

Board no.3 - GM Diptayan Ghosh (Bangladesh Biman) 2553, 7.5/10

Board no.4 - GM Aleksandr Rakhmanov (Palli Sanchoy Bank) 2622, 8/10

Reserve Board 1 - GM Harsha Bharathakoti (Bangladesh Police) 2557, 8/10

Reserve Board 2 - Asif Mahmud (Leonine Chess Club) 2212, 2.5/6

Prize Distribution Ceremony | Video: Bangladesh Chess Federation

First division

Both Bangladesh Navy and Janata Bank Officer Welfare Society scored 16/18 each. The former won the Sheikh Kamal 1st Division Chess League 2022 due to better tie-breaks (Game Points), the latter had to settle for the second place. Janata Bank Officer Welfare Society defeated the eventual champion Bangladesh Navy in the final round. JBOWS suffered their sole loss of the event against Sangbadik Shahnoor Khan Smirity Sangsad in the third round. Khelagar Daba Sangah, Gopalganj secured sole third position scoring 12/18. The total prize fund was - Tk 100000. Top three prizes were - Tk 50000, 30000 and 20000 along with a trophy each. Individual Board prizes had a medal and Tk 5000 each.

Runner-up Janata Bank Officer Welfare Society defeated the eventual champion Bangladesh Navy 2.5-1.5 in the final round | Photo: Bangladesh Chess Federation

Kumar Gaurav (2041) is the top scorer of Janata Bank Officer Welfare Society - 7.5/9. He gained 34.4 Elo rating points. Suvradeepta Das (2062) is the second-highest scorer for the same 7/9. He increased his rating by 21.2 points.

3rd and 4th - Khelaghar Daba Sangha, Gopalganj (right) 12/18 and Hamid Sports Academy 10/18 | Photo: Bangladesh Chess Federation

Abhay Bandewar is the top scorer for second runner-up Khelaghar Daba Sangha, Gopalganj. He made an unbeaten 8/9 and gained 55 Elo rating points. Saurabh Choubey is the second-highest scorer 5.5/9. He added 24.8 Elo rating points. Samriddhaa Ghosh is the sole Indian female player to take part in this tournament. She scored 4.5/9 and gained 13.2 Elo rating points.

Replay Premier Division Round 1-11 games

A total of 14 GMs and 7 IMs in the Premier Division and one IM in the First Division took part from five countries across the world. The Premier Division was a eleven team Round-Robin event, while the First Division was a ten team Round-Robin tournament. The time control for both tournaments were 90min/40moves+30min/end+30sec increment per move starting from move 1. The tournament took place at Dhaka, Bangladesh from 30th November to 10th December 2022, First Division got over on 8th December due to having two less rounds.

Round 11 results

  Manha's Castle
  Palli Sanchoy Bank
  Sultana Kamal Smirity Pathagar
  Uttara Central Chess Club
  Titas Club
  Rupali Bank Krira Parisad
  Sheikh Russel Chess Club
  Bangladesh Police
  Leonine Chess Club
  SAIF Sporting Club
  Bangladesh Biman


Final standings after Round 11

Rk.SNoFED TeamTeamGroupGames  +   =   -  TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
SAIF Sporting ClubSAIF Sporting Club108201830,50162,377,5
Bangladesh PoliceBangladesh Police107211627,50138,571
Palli Sanchoy BankPalli Sanchoy Bank1071215280128,865,5
Manha's CastleManha's Castle106221426,5011171
Bangladesh BimanBangladesh Biman107031425,50108,563,5
Leonine Chess ClubLeonine Chess Club105051018,5063,545
Titas ClubTitas Club10415920,5070,845
Uttara Central Chess ClubUttara Central Chess Club1030761403532,5
Sheikh Russel Chess ClubSheikh Russel Chess Club10208414,5021,539,5
Rupali Bank Krira ParisadRupali Bank Krira Parisad1011837018,318
Sultana Kamal Smirity PathagarSultana Kamal Smirity Pat1001917,503,521,5


Replay 1st Division Round 1-9 games

Final standings of 1st Division

Rk.SNo TeamGames  +   =   -  TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
Bangladesh Navy98011627,50126,567,5
Janata Bank Officer Welfare Society980116260134,563,5
Khelagar Daba Sangah, Gopalganj95221223,5085,856
Hamid Sports Academy95041019,506650
Sangbadik Shahnoor Khan Smirity Sangsad9414919,5064,553
Esoft Arena Chess Club9414917056,844
Dhaka Chess Club9324817,5052,340
Sadharan Bima Corporation Sporting Club9324817052,547,5
Basir Memorial Chess Club910828,50418,5
Shofi Uddin Shah Sriti Sangsad9009040010



Bangladesh Chess Federation

Tournament Regulations - Premier and First Division

Contact Us