chessbase india logo

Rounak Pathak wins Elegant 36th Below 1850 Rating Tournament 2023

by Shahid Ahmed - 11/06/2023

Rounak Pathak scored a perfect 5/5 to win 36th Elegant Below 1850 Rating Tournament 2023. He finished a half point ahead of the field. Shuvam Roy and Subhabrata Roy scored 4.5/5 each. They were placed second and third respectively according to tie-breaks. The total prize fund of the tournament was Tk 35000. The top three prizes were Tk 6000, 4000 and 3000 each respectively. This was Rounak's first rating tournament triumph. The two-day five-round Swiss league rating tournament was organized by and at Elegant International Chess Academy on 12th and 13th May 2023. Anubhab Gupta scored 3/5 to secure a prize in rating category 1500-1599. Photos: Sarwar Sumon

Rounak's first rating tournament triumph

Rounak Pathak gained 30.8 Elo rating points, Shuvam Roy 63.6 and Subhabrata Roy 33.  

Champion - Rounak Pathak 5/5

Runner-up - Shuvam Roy 4.5/5

Second Runner-up - Subhabrata Roy 4.5/5

Rounak Pathak scored a perfect 5/5 and gained 30.8 Elo rating points

Players in action

A total of 49 players from Bangladesh and India took part in this two-day five-round Swiss league Rating tournament which was organized by and at Elegant International Chess Academy on 12th and 13th May 2023 in Dhaka, Bangladesh. The time control for the event was 60 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Final standings

Rk.SNo NameFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 nwwew-weKrtg+/-
Rounak, PathakIND16865013,514,5514,50553,461,542030,8
Shuvam, RoyIND15164,50,515,518415,7554,51,323,182063,6
AIMSubhabrata, RoyIND16124,50,514,515,5413,2543,51,851,652033
Md, Mesbah UddinBAN17644013,515,5411,00543,640,36207,2
Tanvir, JawadBAN1448401315410,00541,232,7740110,8
Mollah, MohiuddinBAN16754012,514,5410,00543,750,25205
Md. Moniruzzaman, MasudBAN17224012,514,5311,25543,500,502010
Md., HasanBAN169240111249,00543,660,34206,8
Md Mottakin, MondolBAN16073,50141437,5042,51,790,712014,2
Mohammad, ShakilBAN16963,50131437,5053,52,890,612012,2


Related news:
Abhay and Priyanshu spearhead team Little Brothers to win CJKS Premier Division League 2024

@ 17/06/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Bangladesh Police regains Bangabandhu Premier League 2024

@ 18/02/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Srija Seshadri and Varshini spearhead Bangladesh Police to clinch Walton 1st Division Women's Chess League

@ 12/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Saurabh Choubey wins 3rd Rangpur Rating Open 2023

@ 07/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Diya Chowdhury wins Moulvibazar Deputy Commissioner Rating Open 2023

@ 27/03/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
SAIF Sporting Club ends Bangladesh Police's dominant run at Bangladesh Premier League 2022

@ 11/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Bangladesh Police does a hat-trick of Premier League triumphs

@ 22/03/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Bangladesh Premier League 2022 R4: Aditya Mittal stuns Sankalp Gupta

@ 14/03/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Bangladesh Premier League 2022 R2: Gukesh's positional prowess

@ 12/03/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Bangladesh Premier League 2022 R1: Harsha Bharathakoti slays the infallible Arjun Erigaisi

@ 11/03/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Bangladesh Police retain their Bangladesh Premier League championship with a 100% score

@ 30/03/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Indian players will return to the board at Bangladesh Premier Chess League

@ 18/03/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Bangladesh's next hope: Fahad Rahman becomes the youngest IM of his country

@ 23/04/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Stuck on checkmate - the sad reality of chess in Bangladesh

@ 18/02/2019 by Anisur Rahman (en)

Contact Us